Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy read, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
This is the sixth in the fast moving Elder Races books about creatures based on myths. This is surely the most eagerly anticipated by those following this series. Readers who have followed the snarky and frequently dangerous Aryal ,a sentinel who just happens to be a most cantankerous harpy will surely rejoice as it's her time for her to reveal her true self. Enter the sexy Quentin a fellow sentinel who happens to be the one man that she is determined to get her talons into. Aryal knows he's hiding something and not to be trusted, he's a criminal and she fully intends to expose him no matter the cost.From the outset these two protagonists set the pages on fire! Their violent interchanges are truly jaw dropping in intensity. Realising that Aryal won't give him a moments peace Quenton snaps and they have a dramatic encounter that results in them both being sent away by Dragos, Lord of the Wyr. Their mission? To remain together for the next few weeks to learn to either work in harmony or resign from their duties. Flying to Prague they begin their reconnaissance of Numenlaur -an abandoned Elven land - but the sexual tension between them continues to escalate and these two dominant characters scorch the page as they stop tip toeing around and go for the jugular! Each step they take challenges them and they will have to work together to survive unthinkable dangers.This was truly an amazing read right from the outset. These two people leap out of the page and into reality! It's almost impossible not to be aghast at their treatment of each other and as their story unfolds the reader is left stunned by the sheer animal magnetism that drives them both. This is not a comfortable easy read and at times almost threatened to become hard core erotica but Ms. Harrison managed comfortably to show warmth and passion in the two leads. Vulnerability has never been so sexy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinked, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Nancy "romance mad" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the Elder Race books, including the short stories, I wasn't sure I wanted to read this one. Aryal has been such a pain in the rear end at times I didn't actually like her, but Thea writes such amazing stories I couldn't miss it.
I am so glad I got it! I read it in an evening (worked really suffered the next day I can tell you! I was shattered from too little sleep!) The two main characters HATE each other, and the hatred has been building over the course of the last few books. Aryal has been investigating Quentin for more than two years, and everything in her knows he's dangerous. Quentin finds everything about Aryal needs to be met with violence and at every turn these two kick off. Until at his wits end Dragos sends them on a mission with one clear instruction "Learn to work together or don't come back."
The story that unfolds is wonderful, I was wrong, so wrong about Aryal; I loved them both. If you read and like the rest of the series you are going to love this! Go on treat yourself to some Thea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of thea`s best since Dragon bound! I never thought I'd like the harpy but you end up loving her - brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like every other book in the Elder Races series, this book is compelling. Great story line, lovable characters and everything I like in a good book. Thea Harrison is one of my favourite writers and this is one of my favourite series. The concept of having different types of shifters, Faes, Vampires and other supernatural characters takes this series in a class of its own.

The fact that I love Pia and Dragos is an added bonus. I will certainly read other books in this series and would fully recommend to those who like reading the paranormal genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Elder Races" series book 6, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's something about Aryal that will never be civilised; her Harpy nature as wild now as the day she was created. She's protective of those she loves, and although newcomer Quentin has won a place as a fellow Sentinel, she remains suspicious of him. Taking her investigation to extremes, she antagonises Quentin every time they meet; they actively hate each other and are quick to brawl. Tired of their increasingly volatile behaviour and yet another fight, their boss Dragos suspends them for a minimum of 2 weeks. He's sending Aryal and Quentin off on a mission together, and if they can't bond and end up getting along, there's going to be a serious problem. Aryal and Quentin are quick to obey (as if they have a choice in the matter), and each start to plot the 'accidental' death of the other. However their seemingly straight forward mission soon becomes far more dangerous than anticipated. These 2 strong individuals have moments of weakness, yet facing a common enemy they may have found that perfect person to protect their back.

Quentin and Aryal have an intense bond once they acknowledge their feelings for each other. Both are strong, extremely dominant personalities who fantasise about subjugating such a powerful opponent, and although there were aspects to their relationship I didn't particularly like (Quentin has no qualms punching Aryal in the face when he's angry, or inflicting pain to banish her mental anguish concerning a particular event), yet their relationship worked and they end up perfectly suited for each other. There are some heart breaking moments to the plot, both personal and concerning what they stumble across as they head into an Elven realm. There's a noticeable level of violence; starting with Quentin and Aryal (their courtship is definitely 'kinked') and escalating when they face an unexpected enemy who inflicts a lot of damage. Despite this tone of violence, there is still an appealing quirky humour sprinkled throughout an action packed story line that surrounds one of the craziest couples imaginable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.75 powerful stars, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
KINKED is the sixth full length novel in Thea Harrison's paranormal series-The Elder Races. This is Aryal (a Harpy) and Quentin's (Panther/Elven/Fae) story-both Wyr Sentinels and acidic enemies. For two years Aryal has been searching for something to use against Quentin-she knows he is dark and dangerous and it is her gut feeling that he is hiding an illegal past. Hoping to get proof, Aryal has stalked Quentin at every opportunity but on her lastest attempt, she goes too far and she and Quentin will find themselves banished from the Wyr and sent to Numenlaur-the oldest Elven land searching for signs or survivors in the now desolate Elven demesne.

As the leader of the Wyr, Dragos tires of Quentin and Aryal's animosity towards one another and gave them one opportunity to straighten up or be permanently banished from both the Sentinels and the Wyr community.

The storyline focuses on Quentin and Aryal's building relationship as they uncover what lies behind the ruined city and beautiful lands of Numenlaur. What started as bitter and abject enemies will quickly become one of friends to lovers but not before some damage is done to one another. Their relationship in the beginning can best be described as damaging and dangerous but in the end each will find their mate -but not before they encounter a strange new phenomenon that is directly linked to the Elven world and the castle where they will find themselves imprisoned and left to die.

The world building continues from the previous storylines including Lord's Fall (Elder Races #5) where the Elven Other World was decimated by its' own people. Thea brings together some of the Wyr Sentinels in secondary roles as well as Pia (Dragos' mate) having a significant impact on the life and death struggles of our leading couple.

Thea has proven that she has an amazing grasp of the fantastic as the reader is pulled into a world of her making. The descriptive nature of the Elven Other World is beautiful in comparison to the damage and death toll exacted by a cruel and power hungry being.

Kinked is a story of betrayal and loss; revenge and retribution; danger and deceit. But it is also about survival-not for the people of Numenlaur-but for two would be enemies who must join together in a fight for their lives or lose one another to an unseen enemy or themselves.

Copy supplied by the publisher through Netgalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
L. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the other review, I really didn't expect to get so involved and emotional over Aryal, but I actually had a few tears. Wonderful story, and the characters remained true to the previous books. So impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all these books, from beginning to end you won't be able to put it down. Prove me wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Linked thea harrison, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. Maureen Jones (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another really good book in the series, I think is one of the best you could not put the book down it was exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow wow wow could not put it down and can't wait for the next book :) love this author !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kinked: Number 6 in series (Elder Races)
Kinked: Number 6 in series (Elder Races) by Thea Harrison (Paperback - 5 Nov. 2013)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews