Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Singh Returns
As a pillar of Singapore law enforcement, Inspector Singh has no hesitation in travelling to Beijing in China. This enables him respite from his nagging wife but also the opportunity to show the Chinese what a fine detective he is. The son of a Singapore Embassy official is found bludgeoned to death in a bloody back alley. The Chinese police have closed the case stating...
Published 6 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
I have enjoyed all this author' other books but I have to confess to struggling a bit with this one. Maybe because I was reading it over Xmas....somehow it lacked the charm of her others and I felt that she was getting bored with her hero. If you have read her others I would still give it a read but, if you are new to her, do read her earlier books first, which are far...
Published 6 months ago by Pandorapus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Singh Returns, 26 Jan 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As a pillar of Singapore law enforcement, Inspector Singh has no hesitation in travelling to Beijing in China. This enables him respite from his nagging wife but also the opportunity to show the Chinese what a fine detective he is. The son of a Singapore Embassy official is found bludgeoned to death in a bloody back alley. The Chinese police have closed the case stating that it was the result of a bungled attempted robbery. The boy's mother is not buying this story. She is convinced there is an official cover up by Chinese Officials.

Singh is straight into investigative mode. He prods and probes at the evidence available and the circumstances leading to the murder, digging up clues, despite cultural and linguistic difficulties. What he uncovers is a sinister operation amongst the powers of Chinese hierarchy and politics. Corruption is rife with high stakes being played for and huge profits to be made. Greed and competition lead to gang warfare. Singh's unorthodox methods, his short rotund appearance, and modesty are useful camouflage behind which a formidable intellect hides allied to supreme detective skills.

Shamini Flint has written another entertaining addition to the Inspector Singh series. She keeps the reader's attention throughout adding some delicate twists on the journey to Singh's solution to the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A calamitous Chinese killing, 12 July 2014
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Singapore is a clean modern country with high-rise cities, but in this story a Sikh police inspector gets sent to China to investigate the death of the son of a Singaporean family in Beijing. The smog, smells and squalor are an uneasy match with lavish lifestyles and tourists seen by locals as waiting to be fleeced.

There seem to be a lot of characters but their disparate stories of life in the modern China - a farm girl come to work in factories, a land developer, a corrupt official - or two - an aged woman who remembers the famine days, a policeman forced to retire because he arrested someone important, a sad intellectual who knows he fights a losing battle and dares to practise the exercises falun gong in public - are all tied together and form the meat, vegetables and noodles in this intricate and spicy chop suey.

This is a fine read and I will be checking out more books by this author.

Those interested in the smog-choked industrial prosperity of the People's Republic will find more details in another book I've just finished reading, 'The People's Republic of Chemicals' by Chip Jacobs and William J. Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a read that keeps you interested and slightly amused, 10 Jan 2014
like the multi culture aspect of these books . Always like a crime as substance but these take you to far off places and cultures, which I find very interesting. The main character , Mr Singh , very good at solving the case but does not have the respect of his peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Singh, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing: Number 6 in series (Paperback)
Great fun. Inspector Singh is an unlikely hero but you soon warm to his sense of humour and quest for justice. The setting is China and having visited this country, it brought back a realistic sense of the place and people. The characters are well rounded and believable, though I would have preferred less of the politics and more of an every day mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing: Number 6 in series (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all this author' other books but I have to confess to struggling a bit with this one. Maybe because I was reading it over Xmas....somehow it lacked the charm of her others and I felt that she was getting bored with her hero. If you have read her others I would still give it a read but, if you are new to her, do read her earlier books first, which are far more interesting. I didn't care who killed whom in this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gentle different crime novel, 11 Dec 2013
By 
G. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting - insight into how crime somewhere other than uk or usa might work. lots of descriptive parts - not really a page turner till the very end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight to China and a good story, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always an intriguing 'who dunnit' with fascinating background to life in China. Shamini Flint paints wonderful pictures with words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEW AUTHOR, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following a good review in the Daily Mail I decided to try this book. Very good read enjoyed the Chinese setting and will read others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little beauty !, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I understand that I've come very late to this series, but am I glad I've found it ! I loved the character > the gentle humour came across well - I'm off to get more in the series !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Inspector Singh, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing: Number 6 in series (Paperback)
Yet another great book from Shamini. I just love the way she writes and draws you in. I have now read all her Inspector Singh novels and loved everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing: Number 6 in series
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews