Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For me one of the best...
The reason why i love this book so much, and probably the reason why others will hate it, is because it is so different from what Feehan usually writes. I have found that Feehan's writing and how she writes her books have caused them to become more of a chore to read but Dark Storm seemed like it had been written by another writer and Dax seemed to be different from any...
Published 21 months ago by Sherb

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as lacklustre as some have described...
Having read the review entitled 'lacklustre' I was not quite sure what to expect when I read this book, however, while I agree that this book is not as pacey or action packed as some of the other Carpathian books and the main characters' personal histories are not as well developed, it deserves more than two stars. The main female character in the book, Riley, is a...
Published 21 months ago by fiona43


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as lacklustre as some have described..., 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the review entitled 'lacklustre' I was not quite sure what to expect when I read this book, however, while I agree that this book is not as pacey or action packed as some of the other Carpathian books and the main characters' personal histories are not as well developed, it deserves more than two stars. The main female character in the book, Riley, is a linguistics professor and is travelling in the Amazon jungle with her mother to complete a ritual which will keep 'a great evil' contained within the local volcano. Riley and her mother Annabel are descendants of a Carpathian woman and a now extinct aboriginal people called the 'Cloud People' and this ritual has been completed by them and their ancestors roughly 100 times in the last 500 years. Gary Jansen and Jubal Sanders (Joie's brother) also play major roles in this book and their characters help to establish the timeline. The other main characters are Dax, a Carpathian hunter, and Mitro Daratrazanoff, the vampire. Both of them have been trapped in the volcano, Dax willingly, by Riley's ancestor for about 500 years. Obviously Mitro manages to escape and there are the usual vampire tricks and battles etc., with a few new twists thrown in for good measure. Riley's powers are a bit different and Dax is not as dominating as some of the other male Carpathian's have been. All in all it doesn't move the Carpathian race's story on a lot further, but it's not the first time Chrisitne Feehan has decided to write a mostly stand alone story in the series. Personally, I think that if you are a regular Christine Feehan Carpathian reader you will enjoy it as a lighter Carpathian read. If you have never read her before, definitely start at the beginning of the series with Dark Prince as this is one of the best books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For me one of the best..., 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reason why i love this book so much, and probably the reason why others will hate it, is because it is so different from what Feehan usually writes. I have found that Feehan's writing and how she writes her books have caused them to become more of a chore to read but Dark Storm seemed like it had been written by another writer and Dax seemed to be different from any hunter we have previously come across but he was so likable to me, not so forceful but more sweet and understanding.

I will admit this book takes some time to get into with Riley and Dax not meeting until about 40% in but the story is still interesting and engaging and when they do meet it is so sweet and i love the Old One, Riley was also a suprise with her being human but having powers that rival a Carpathians. I also like how we see a lot of old characters and i really hope Jubal and Jasmine could get together, they were really sweet with eachother.

I would say if you love Feehan's previous novel you will probably not like this one as it is so different, but it is still a must read for the series as we are given more insight into finding out why it is so hard for Carpathians can have babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Story !!!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shocked to read a couple of very negative reviews before starting Dark Storm, after reading the book I wonder did these folks actually read This book. As a fan of Christine Feehans work I wasn't put off, I would like to say to anyone looking at the Dark series for the first time, go for it you won't regret it.

Dark Storm was gripping from the first page to the very last, an actioned packed, fast paced story line. We meet Dax the Carpathian Hunter, trapped in a valcano with the evil monster vampire Mitro, what a surprise to learn of Mitro's linage, explained why he was so hard to kill. Riley a powerfull women in her own right, although she didn't know it at first. Riley's ancesters had handed down through the generations special gifts, what Riley went through to receive those gifts showed how strong she was. Riley, Dax and another battled to rid the world of Mitro and his minions. Dax never thought he would meet his Lifemate, but one look at Riley and he knew, so lovely to see their love blossom between them as they snatched moments among all the meyhem, they were as hot as the valcano itself. A fantastic story by Ms Feehan with some unexpected twists, enjoy I am sure you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christine Feehan does it again, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just when you think that you have learnt everything about the carpathians Christine writes a book that adds even more to the series. I have read all the books, and this one was a superb storyline it was everything you had come to expect fromthis writer and more. A must read for Dark Carpathian fans you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Book, Must Read !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must read for all Carpathian fans. Christine Feehan at her best. One of my fav Dark books cant wait for the next one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would of been better as a short story. It was boring. The series did not progress at all with this book, and the romance was dull. This series was better when the female characters were'nt such pushovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book a lot but the ending went fast. Can't wait for the next book. The Carpathian series are great now, it's like a big family were everyone knows each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Storm, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the story a brilliant book once again by Feehan loved it each story is exciting from beginning to end·
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant new novel for the dark series.new vampires and a new sexy carpathian.cant wait for the next new book from christine feehan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and beautiful, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book that is a new turn for the Carpathian people.
The new twists make a interesting read, and brings deeper into the Carpathian world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Storm: Number 23 in series ('Dark' Carpathian)
Dark Storm: Number 23 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) by Christine Feehan (Paperback - 27 Aug 2013)
£5.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews