Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "She thinks last of her child", 12 May 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
Nora Roberts, writing as J.D. Robb, has created a successful series based on a few basic principles. The first, and in my opinion, most important aspect is a fascinating heroine, who presents different layers that the author has been revealing in each installment and will certainly continue to do so. Lieutenant Eve Dallas is a tough cop, who is relentless in her pursue of justice and feels as if the victims were hers to save. On the other hand, she is the wife of the billionaire Roarke, and has to deal with parties and charity events in which she is expected to mingle and maintain polite chit-chat with the guests. She has been adjusting slowly to this area of her life and even though she does not like it, she has learned to accept it. The fact that Eve was abused by her father when she was a child and had to kill him in order to escape also plays an important role in the development of the story and in almost every case Eve faces. Her husband also has a complex past, involving an abusing father who killed Roarke's mother and then lied to him about who his real mother was. Only recently did the billionaire learned the truth about this and reunited with what was left of his family.
Besides the two main characters, Robb has created a supporting cast that adds appeal to the series and which I consider to be the second factor in its success. Peabody is Eve's former aide and current partner who has recently made detective and who usually adds a good part of humor to the narration with her witty comments. She is in love with McNabb, a policeman working in the Electronic Detectives Division, and they are in the process of moving together to a new apartment. There are other interesting characters: Feeney, Eve's trainer and mentor, Mavis, Eve's best friend, Nadine Furst, a reporter for Channel 75 who has become a close friend with Eve, Charles, a licensed companion who is now dating a doctor, and several others. One of the most appealing aspects of the series has to do with the development of the stories of each of these people, and that is why I recommend reading the series in order.
The third and final element that helps create a superb series is the cleverly crafted world in which the action takes place: New York in the year 2059. The setting presents several characteristics that make it very different from our world, like cars that fly, drones that take care of household chores, the ban on firearms, the anticancer vaccine, the legalization of prostitution, the difficulty for getting real coffee, etc. Also, the advances in terms of technology require criminals to be more clever and careful when committing their crimes, and we usually end up reading about complex mysteries. In this novel, Eve is summoned to the scene of a ghastly murder. The victim was raped and strangled using a red ribbon and before leaving, the killer took out her eyes as a memento. The poor woman had a four-year-old kid and worked as hired help for a wealthy couple, and there is nothing that indicates that someone would have wanted to hurt her.
Everything is business as normal until Celina Sanchez shows up wanting to talk to Eve and claiming she has information about the murder. Celina is a psychic and claims that she saw the killing in a vision. Even though Eve does not really believe in this stuff, she goes along with it following Peabody's advice and realizing that if it does not help at least it will not hurt either. This is not the first time Robb uses supernatural events in the series, but in her previous attempt she went too far making it hardly believable. In the present try the results were much better, and since the case Eve is facing is one of the best mysteries in the series so far, the overall quality of the novel benefits even more.
As usual, Robb creates a good balance between the police procedural and the development of the personal stories of the characters in the series. Of course, the romantic scenes are still present through the narration, but without overdoing it. I was very pleased with this installment, and I am looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars, 3 Jun 2009
By 
BookBliss (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
This book was far better than I'd expected. I've never read JD Robb before, although I have read Nora Roberts and I naively thought that an author would struggle with two completely different genres of writing. I was wrong.
The female characters in this are fantastic, the main character Eve Dallas is very well portrayed as strong and troubled yet still likeable.
The book can be read as a stand alone novel (which is how I read it) although I tihnk it would have probably been better if I'd worked my way through the novels in order to follow the character development more fully.
It is rare that a book has a twist at the end which I don't see coming at all, when revealed I had a 'obviously, why didn't I think of that' moment as the clues were subtly inserted in the lead up.
My reason for giving it 4 stars? The male characters are too nice, I know this sounds a bit contrite but none of the couples which make up Eve's circle of friends (as far as she has friends) have a bad word to say about each other, they all have perfect relationships. Maybe I'm just cynical but I just don't find that amount of niceness and understanding believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Books In This Series!!, 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
This book is one of my favourites in the series so far!! I mean...come on!! The story starts with a woman found strangled, raped and mutilated in a public park, and Dallas and her partner Peabody(who is now a detective!) are called in to investigate. From the start, you can see that the main...police part of the story is gonna be intense...but this case is different in the fact that whilst a murder investigation is going on, Eve realises that her friends are also her family. She realises that she's not the same Eve that she was when the series started, and that her circle has grown, not only to include Roarke, but one that includes characters from previous books like, Feeney, McNab, Peabody, Mavis, Leonardo, Nadine, Dr Mira Louise and Charles. This can be seen through the dinner scenes where Louise and Charles host a dinner with McNab, Peabody, Dallas and Roarke! At first, Dallas can't relax, but as the evening goes on she sees that everything is as it should be. She's also grown and come to feel so much that she decides that its time to have a serious talk with Peabody about her past. The way Roberts has penned their interactions, especially in that scene...had me tearing up on the train!! It showed how much that Peabody cared for Eve. The friendship theme is also an emotional string tugged on by Roberts when Peabody is attacked and left to die by the killer, and we can see that this really is a family...where everyone bands together when one of their own is down! Eve reciprocates Peabody's gesture when she tells Roarke that Peabody is her best friend next to Mavis. This makes is more heartfelt for Eve and for all of the characters when Peabody is seriously hurt. Roberts has a knack of being able to pull you into this futuristic world, and making you feel the emotions of her characters! There are also moments of levity(which are needed as this is a dramatic book!), like when Peabody is high on drugs and she finally gets a kiss from Roarke! But a twist that I certainly didn't see was that involving Celina Sanchez, the character that has the visions referred to in the title...a brilliant read, and I couldn't put it down! I'm looking forward to reading the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic book!, 10 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
I must say that I find each new book of series "Eve Dallas" better than the previous one. The police investigation side is really good but what I found the most interesting is to see how Eve is growing, changing. Her relationship with her husband, how they both react to the pregnancy of her best friend and they way she slowly opens to Peabody is most excellent. I could not put the book down and can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking the "in death" series one step further, 19 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
Nora Roberts' alter ego J.D. Robb has done it again: she's taken the "in death" series into a new phase... there's still plenty of Roarke and Dallas, who gradually become more human and they remain at the core of this series. It's Robb setting up Peabody and McNab for a more prominent role that is making me looking forward to the next few "in death" books with great anticipation. "Visions in death" is a corner stone book, providing Nora Roberts with many new possible plots to develop further. You'll love how Dallas and Peabody are compensating some of their lesser skills, how they enhance each others' good traits...
One thing that for me is getting a bit unbelievable is the continuing story of Dallas' youth, her life before becoming Dallas. Her relationship with Roarke doesn't need this vunerability for much longer I should hope, but then I trust that Nora indeed knows best!
If you're new to the series, I recommend that you start with "Naked in Death". All the characters and their relationships are being chronologically developed, so it makes sense to start from book one. Be prepared though to start reading when you've plenty of free days (and nights) ahead of you, you're in for a trully enjoyable "In death" Marathon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Sancho Mahle (Charlotte, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
Visions in Death is an amazing novel about the relationship between Eve and Roarke This novel is a gripping read from beginning to end. These two writers are awesome and I must add that I have never been disappointed reading their close to 20 books.

If you are a fan of the "In Death" series, then you certainly will enjoy this book as you have enjoyed the others. The characters were just amazing, especially in their relationships with one another over the stories.

In this book, there is a serial killer on the loose, and on her tracks is Eve who despite the hectic nature of the job, works herself to exhaustion, and nevertheless starts a new phase in her life by opening up to her friends about the abuses she underwent in her horrible childhood days. The mystery was good, Robb adds a psychic to the mix for something new. There end was sweet, especially the great twist at the end which was difficult for anyone to see coming. With wonderful characters, a superb setting and fast pace, this story stands as a classic.Also recommended: DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE, ORIGIN IN DEATH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough J D Robb, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again J D Robb's writing brings out every emotion. I feel I know Dallas.
Bring on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read as always, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this series of books, although similar always slightly different with the delightful development of the characters and their relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions In Death: 19 (Paperback)
What can one say about the IN DEATH series that hasn't been said so many times before> You must read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual J D Robb weaves a compelling tale. There is always something you least expect. That is what makes all her books five star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafe05d5c)

This product

Visions In Death: 19
Visions In Death: 19 by J. D. Robb (Paperback - 19 July 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews