Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
The only regret I have about reading this book is that I no longer have it to look forward to. The same can be said of most of Kate Ellis's books actually. Anyone who has any interest in detective fiction, history, archaeology, a good story, strong characters and excellent writing should check it out. Even if you only like one of the descriptors in my list I think...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by CG

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur execution and editing lets it down.
The Jackal man is a mystery novel where the protagonist, DI Wesley Peterson is on the trail of a killer who is murdering young girls whilst dressed as the Egyptian God of death, "Anubis".

There is a great deal wrong with this novel and on reflection I find it hard to give it any praise. Kate Ellis has an annoying habit of correcting herself as she writes, in...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Sourmashontherocks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Mar 2011
By 
CG (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
The only regret I have about reading this book is that I no longer have it to look forward to. The same can be said of most of Kate Ellis's books actually. Anyone who has any interest in detective fiction, history, archaeology, a good story, strong characters and excellent writing should check it out. Even if you only like one of the descriptors in my list I think you'll get a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good Wesley Peterson mystery, 3 May 2011
By 
Kate Ellis' books are always cleverly written and follow a similar format. There is death, an archaeologist and something that happened in the past that does link with the modern day crimes but this link isn't clear. They are not predictable or repetitive but they are truly gripping stories.

In this book a girl is attacked and the best description she can give is that the attacker has the head of a dog. Later dead bodies are found wrapped up in sheets. The question is whether there is a connection between the cases and if so what is it?

The characters continue to be developed in this book and whilst I would recommend reading all the books in the series they can all be read pretty much as stand alone stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur execution and editing lets it down., 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
The Jackal man is a mystery novel where the protagonist, DI Wesley Peterson is on the trail of a killer who is murdering young girls whilst dressed as the Egyptian God of death, "Anubis".

There is a great deal wrong with this novel and on reflection I find it hard to give it any praise. Kate Ellis has an annoying habit of correcting herself as she writes, in the "oh I had better write something in that explains this as it doesn't make sense" mould. Similarly, she changes place names for no apparent reason even though we know where she is describing. "Dartmouth" becomes "Tradmouth" for example.

The novel is riddled with repetitive phrases (where the editor was, I don't know.) and I found myself constantly flipping back through the pages to find out where characters who seem to just pop up, had come from.

DI Wesley Peterson is supposed to be a Black man, but you only find this out when it is overtly stated about a third of the way in. Other than that he has no defined character and he could frankly be anyone.

The Police procedures described ignore any kind of forensics and rely instead on mundane questioning sessions in the police interview room. My personal favourite of all the errors the author makes, is when it is discussed that the killers first murder was sloppy and the second was smoother by far. If you read closely, when the killer is identified, the back story applied to the character explains that the murderer had in fact killed once before the current string of murders. Therefore, the first in the string shouldn't have been sloppy at all as its actually his second murder overall!

There is a split narrative where a story from the nineteenth century is married up to the present day. Its a pretty pointless exercise and serves only to expand the the size of the novel.

If this story had been tidied up properly it might have made for a good read, but its in dire need of a few more drafts and proper editing.

All in all, if you like a routine, not too taxing story and you can overlook the amateurish execution, then you'll be fine with "the Jackal man".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anubis, jackal-headed God of Death, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
Kate Ellis interweaves past and present with immense expertise. A gripping story and once again a very original plot. It has to gain 5* but as Gerry remarks at one point "It's a bit confusing". There seemed to be too many suspects and Wesley flip-flopped a bit midway. But it's so enjoyable and unputdownable that it's churlish to diminish it by subtracting stars. I do worry about the amount of pizza and other takeaway food these detectives consume and wonder if this is how national CID works. Worrying if it is. There's never a salad or fresh vegeatable in sight. If you enjoy this series try the Joe Plantagenet series. That's excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 22 May 2013
By 
Mrs. N. Richards "csi fan" (trowbridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
Every so often you read a book that is so good you really dont want to get to the end,this is one of those books.Great plot with lots of suspects and plot twists that keep you guessing.I loved it and would gladly recommend it to anyone who loves a really good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Tale, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
As with all this writer's books this is well written, imaginative and well thought out.
I did have one small niggle about the identity of the killer- and to keep it vague so as not to spoil the plot-something the killer is able to do which isn't really convincing.

But this is not of overwhelming importance, given the high quality of the book as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate Ellis The Jackal Man, 13 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
"The Jackal Man" is very well written & presented and keeps the reader gripped from beginning to end as with the previous books in the series.

Keep working hard,Wesley Peterson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent police procedural, but nothing special, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Bookwoman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
If you like a murder mystery of the police procedural type then you'll probably like this, but I didn't think it was anything special or original.
There are two narratives: a governess is writing a diary in 1903 when a series of murders takes place in rural Devon, and DI Wesley Peterson is investigating a serial killer in the same place 100 years later. All the deaths are brutal and mysterious, apparently inspired by the ancient Egyptian jackal god Anubis and the funeral rites he performed, so there must be a link.
The usual sort of police procedural narrative ensues. It's efficient and thorough: we slog through the killings, the clues, the dead ends and the suspects one by one, until the murderer is finally revealed. There are some familiar plot twists, including the false ending (just as you're breathing a sigh of relief as the culprit is behind bars, it turns out to be yet another red herring and there's a frantic dash to get the real killer), and the planting of doubt in the very last paragraph (it's all over - but maybe it's not ... ?)
A couple of things make this a bit different from the sort of thing you can watch on tv every week: there are the two parallel narratives (which she does in all these books), and our hero is a black DI. But apart from that there's nothing that stands out about him. These are supposed to be 'Wesley Peterson Murder Mysteries' but I don't feel I know Peterson like I do Morse or Rebus, for example. He could be anyone. We get the usual glimpses of the chaotic private life that comes with this sort of job, this time a neglected wife and kids, but it's all very perfunctory. We meet his friends and colleagues, but they're all just there to move the plot along and this book is all about plot, not character.
But the plot is a decent one, helped along by the spooky atmosphere - women are murdered in deserted country lanes at dead of night, and there's an old dark house full of Egyptian mummies - and you really have to finish it to find out whodunnit. (Although I wasn't totally convinced by the final revelation).
So, not a book to invest in and read again, but maybe I'll look out for more of this series in the library.
Just one final thing: why did she make it obvious where this was set and then just tweak some of the place names like that - Tradmouth, Neston, Morbay: is she trying to be funny? Because I found it really annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 15 July 2011
Kate Ellis always keeps you interested and waiting for more. Unfortunately she cannot write new novels at the speed with which I read them, as once started I am loathe to put the book down until I've reached the end!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JACKAL MAN, 22 Feb 2012
By 
A. Pollard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) (Paperback)
Yet another FAB book by Kate Ellis - so enjoyed it and would recommend it to any Kate Ellis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson)
The Jackal Man: Number 15 in series (Wesley Peterson) by Kate Ellis (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews