Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
This book was amazing - i read it within one day!
the action in it never stops and it is truly thrilling!
I suggest that anyone who loves books about supernatural beings buy this, even if you aren't a reader of supernatural type books - this book will probably make you one!
Published on 11 Dec 2007 by L. Monkam

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Murder and Mayhem Bookclub review
It's always hard for a werewolf to back away from a fight. Riley Jenson isn't just your garden variety werewolf either; the vampire part of her is asserting itself more as she ages. It is already too late for her twin brother Rhoan to reproduce. Rhoan's vampire characteristics have always been more evident than her own, and he is now as infertile as those in the ranks...
Published on 17 May 2007 by A. J Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Murder and Mayhem Bookclub review, 17 May 2007
By 
A. J Thompson "voyagersaus" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's always hard for a werewolf to back away from a fight. Riley Jenson isn't just your garden variety werewolf either; the vampire part of her is asserting itself more as she ages. It is already too late for her twin brother Rhoan to reproduce. Rhoan's vampire characteristics have always been more evident than her own, and he is now as infertile as those in the ranks of the undead. Hoping it is not too late for herself, Riley has been making some discreet inquiries into fulfilling her own private fantasy, that of having a child.

Working for the Directorate of Other Races, Riley fears for her twin Rhoan every time he is called out to run interference between the "beasts" and humans. Rhoan is a Guardian, able to walk the streets in the daylight hours, doing his part to keep the uneasy peace of beings that are only loosely governed by the same rules as the rest of the citizens of Melbourne. When one night Riley wakes up to a scene of horror in a dark alley, she isn't sure whether she was running away for her life or trying to get back into the compound behind her. With scant memory of the last few weeks Riley is afraid, and for more reasons other than the fact that she is naked and covered in someone else's blood. Her strength and unusual qualities have not gone unnoticed by those who have previously wanted to mess with her genetically. Escaping the compound with the assistance of a gorgeous male shape-shifter named Kade, Riley runs back into the arms of those know her best: her brother, her boss and her ex-lover, the gorgeous and enigmatic vampire Quinn. They all agree; whoever is trying to create a super-race of paranormal beings is not doing it for any higher purpose. The clones that have attacked them in the past were not perfect, and they all had deadly intent.

Australian author Keri Arthur has written an atmospheric book of the night world, populated with wraiths, shape-shifters and bloodsuckers, all at war with each other and with their own unnatural agendas. As with the first book in the series (FULL MOON RISING (2006), the "rules" of this fantasy world are largely her own, whilst observing inviolate agreements about vampires frying in the sun and such like. It's refreshing that Arthur has created a character that isn't constantly beating herself up over what she is and moralizing about the depravities of her kind; Riley Jenson gets on with her life and does not apologize for whatever means and methods have been required. Tagging these novels as "paranormal romances" puts too rosy a light on them as there isn't a scrap of romance to be seen to detract from the seething sense of hidden menace. Good attention to detail with the hand to paw (or claw, or fangs) fight scenes rackets up the action component in the read.

As with all novels in this booming genre of urban fantasy, KISSING SIN is another of those guilty little pleasures. A bit of sauce is good, sauce is all part of the fictional vampire and werewolf scene, but the amount of gratuitous sex indulged in by Riley Jenson here is very off-putting. Not for its content, graphic or otherwise but more for its frequency and irrelevance. Another trap; too many hot and willing male characters popping up all over the place with whom Riley supposedly has a true connection. Less is going to more here, as with the reader's attention being dragged about all over the place (too many future plot threads perhaps); the emphasis is taken away from the developing storyline. All the ingredients for success are here and were laid out well with the first novel of the series, but the freer hand given with KISSING SIN detracts greatly from the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 11 Dec 2007
By 
L. Monkam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was amazing - i read it within one day!
the action in it never stops and it is truly thrilling!
I suggest that anyone who loves books about supernatural beings buy this, even if you aren't a reader of supernatural type books - this book will probably make you one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hybrid wolf/vamp with a biological clock that ticks like any human female, 11 Sep 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Every womans nightmare happens to Riley when she wakes up tied up and naked, after being kidnapped by someone who wants to impregnate her.This leads into a story of clones and genetic reproduction, which has the feeing of a mad scientist , but on a larger much more repugnant scale. I like her feistyness and her inability to not destroy every car she drives. Her love/sex life is more than a little on the free side, which she expects any boyfriend to just accept, because it is part of her and her wolf. It is interesting to see the writer introduce Rileys very human female type of clock ticking baby wanting frame of mind, which is something other supernatural heroines tend not to think about. I really enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SLOW, 11 Nov 2010
By 
Riley Jensen is a half-werewolf, half-vampire dhampir with a love of her wolf heritage and overall contempt for most vampires. She's a liaison for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races - an aussie equivalent of the FBI for supernaturals. Or she was. Now she's being pulled closer and closer to the one job she's never wanted - being a guardian. Kissing Sin begins with Riley waking up next to a dead body, and her life takes another horrified spin when she realizes she's been caught and experimented on in the continuing conspiracy to get her pregnant.
The plot of Kissing Sin is a continuation of the one begun in Full Moon Rising (Riley Jensen, Guardian, Book 1), so I'd recommend you start there if you're so inclined. Unfortunately, I'm afraid I'm not feeling remarkably charitable about recommending this series so far. It's not bad, really, it's just...while I'm by no means prudish, Riley's sexual promiscuity in Kissing Sin crossed a line for me - going from a species-centric celebration to something pathetically gratuitous for the sake of titillation. I understood the reason behind having so much sex in Full Moon Rising - we were told over and over and over that the full moon almost completely commands a werewolf's sexual needs for that night and the seven days preceding it. I didn't particularly like that mythos, as it always seemed like sort of a flimsy excuse for a week long orgy (these people do have to work and a week of mindless sex isn't something I would get leave time for) and I personally believe the survival need supersedes sexual ones, but at least there was a reason given for it. That reason was no longer relevant in Kissing Sin and yet I couldn't see any difference at all between Riley's sexual behavior in this book versus the previous one (other than the names of the partners) - and that is a failing. I'm sorry, but when the sexuality of a heroine of a book doesn't just become the plot, but completely obliterates the plot (like LKH's Anita Blake series) there's something wrong.
Not to mention the vampire mogul Quinn is back and in a complete about-face, is now clamoring for an exclusive relationship with the werewolf who just last book he had made no bones about leaving behind. There's a very flimsy and unbelievable reason given for that abrupt change of heart that never quite works. That's a shame, actually, because I like Quinn. More so than Riley. Unfortunately, Kissing Sin suffers from some of the same issues that Full Moon Rising does. Both are at times muddy and plodding, and other times frenetic and confused. Both are flawed.
Still, not all is bad. Riley is a competent, intelligent protagonist who stands on her own two feet (or four paws) and doesn't walk around waiting for a male to save her. She's a bit saucy and a bit wicked and she tends to get into trouble...I sure wouldn't let her drive my car...but when she isn't "celebrating" her sexuality with every interested male, she's a solid heroine. Quinn, the ubersexy and ultrarich vamp, is less layered and complex in this one, but still a favorite character, and I sincerely hope to see more of him in future books. Riley is still supported by a solid group of secondary characters - Riley's vampire boss (Jack) and one of Rhoan's mates (Liander) in particular - who are interesting and sympathetic with a lot of development potential, and the bad guys are still really repugnant.
I think I'll be giving Riley one more try, but unless the sex in the next book is either toned down or given a more believable connection to the plot, I doubt I'll stick around for more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but room for improvement, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Tali (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the first in the series, this was enjoyable, but not quite as good as I had hoped. I'm not going to go into a full breakdown of the book, i'm no fan of spoilers myself. suffice to say, Riley is back, and the start of the book is rather titillating, but things soon settle back into a normal pattern (normally for Riley that is). We see Quinn again, have a new shifter named Kade on the scene as well as the other usual suspects. I'll admit I liked this book better than the first, there's more substance to it, and the sex scenes though still present, are not quite as dominant. Overall its enjoyable, better than the first book and hopefully the series will continue to improve as I'm beginning to really like Riley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great Riley Jenson book. Kade is one of my favourite characters. Different to the first book but in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good condition. fast delivery. love this series so much there are so many twist and so much action in these books i cant put them down untill ive finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dhampires, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the first in the series, will definitely have you wanting to read the rest of the books! Thoroughly enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kissing sin, 17 Dec 2012
The second instalment of this book didn't disappoint, from the first chapter you are thrust right back in to the world Keri Arthur had created in this series.
Riley has awoken in a deserted alley with a dead body and the only clue she has is a fear for her life. After all she has already been through Riley must now gather together her strength and wits to face a new threat, while trying not to become the one thing she fears most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sigh, 5 Jun 2012
Riley Jensen's life has taken a turn for the worst yet again when she awakens naked and abused in an illegal breeding compound, memory of the past days absent. Banding together with a fellow captive, a horse-shifter that is big in more ways than one, she makes her escape and delves into the continued investigation of clones and cross-breeds. Her only wish is for the troubles in her life to end, for things to return to normal, but everything has its complications, including her very eventful and bountiful love life. Will Riley be able to find all the answers while fending off the constant attacks of the unnatural and bizarre creatures that stalk her?

The second instalment of this series left a lot to be desired, though certainly not for Riley however. I was hopeful this one would be an improvement from the last, perhaps building up into a strong series, but unfortunately it was slightly worse, though still held those good story elements. The cross-breeding and cloning is interesting, but at times I felt the overall plot was a bit of a mess and left behind too much for the lead gal's inability to keep her legs closed.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the whole celebration of sex and the moon fever in the previous, but this was silly even for my tastes. Riley really surrendered to complete stupidity, mostly in the first fifty pages or so, while running for her life deciding to screw a complete stranger. Twice. The introduction of Kade was a generous one, the size of his manhood mentioned several times. Yes, he has a big ****, I get it!

Obviously STI's are not an issue for Riley and the werewolf population. Selected mates I can get behind, such as the arrangement she had with Talon and Misha, but Riley has a problem with attractive men. Not only does she have sex with every sexy male she meets, they basically worship her from the get-go.

Had the story took a different turn, such as Riley getting what she wanted the most - to get pregnant, I would probably have enjoyed it more, as it may have opened up a lot of character growth and progression, but sadly that didn't happen.

Another thing that bothers me is the complete lack of female characters. New men were brought in, their purpose to add their delicious bodies to Riley's love pile. Perhaps another lady would add a bit of spice - oh wait, apologies, but that would mean competition for Riley and we can't have that. Riley may moan all she wants about her life, but she is pretty darn lucky.

I didn't feel anything for any of the characters. In the first I did like Riley and Quinn, but that crumbled away. Quinn was depressing, Kade didn't push any buttons at all, Rhoan was just blah and Misha was an idiot. He was also amused a lot. Seriously, things repeated over and over in books is something I very much dislike.

As I've mentioned, the story is what shines through, or tries to at least. I did like the freak creatures that kept turning up, the spiders undoubtedly my favourite. In a world of shifters and vampires, I'd say such scientific experiments would surely be carried out to try and create the ultimate weapon.

I am going to struggle on with this series, my fingers tightly crossed that it will get better and I will eventually care for the characters.

Catherine Forbes 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kissing Sin: Number 2 in series (Riley Jenson Guardian)
Kissing Sin: Number 2 in series (Riley Jenson Guardian) by Keri Arthur (Paperback - 2 Dec 2010)
5.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews