Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh take on standard tale
You might have heard the basics before - caught in a book after being cursed by a god, Julian, Macedonian warrior general, emerges from his literary prison to act as a 'love slave' for his conjuror for one month, before he is forced to return to his imprisonment. Grace Alexander is the disbeliever that actually summons him, and now must keep him for the next month...
Published on 4 Mar 2003 by K. Newman

versus
55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a great idea!
Pretty Bizarre this romance by Sherrilyne Kenyon; it opens with the recounting of the ancient Greek legend of Julian of Macedon, brother of Cupid and beautiful Son of the Goddess Aphrodite. Priapus, his half brother, jealous of his prowess manages to have him cursed for all eternity to a fate worse than death - sex. He is trapped in the dark pages of an ancient book...
Published on 24 July 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh take on standard tale, 4 Mar 2003
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You might have heard the basics before - caught in a book after being cursed by a god, Julian, Macedonian warrior general, emerges from his literary prison to act as a 'love slave' for his conjuror for one month, before he is forced to return to his imprisonment. Grace Alexander is the disbeliever that actually summons him, and now must keep him for the next month.
After this point, however, Kenyon has added a new element. Grace has been very much hurt in the past, and has a thing about being used as a sex object, or indeed doing the same to anyone else. To Julian's stunned amazement (part of his 'gift' is supposed to be that he is irresistible to women) Grace will not have sex with him. After the first night, they find out that there is a way to break the curse. One that will cost the both of them. Julian his sanity, and Grace her heart. Another compelling element about the book is Kenyon's obviously substantial research into Spartica / Greece history and myths. There are also genuinely comic moments such as Julian's brother Eros and Grace's rather eccentric best friend. These touches lift the book from the ordinary and bring emotional depth to the tale. Julian has been badly damaged by his human past as much as the curse.
How the two make a connection, and the necessarily slow burn of the sexual side of their relationship, combine to lift this book from the ranks of the ordinary and give it that something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great characters, sexy story. What more could you want?, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
The best read I've had in a while. Julian is from ancient Macedonian. Who has been trapped in the pages of a book for the last two thousand years. His only release is to be used as a sex slave for a month and then sent back between the pages. Grace is the modern miss who aims to rescue him. This book is a keeper. I can't wait for the next book by Sherrilyn Kenyon. If you like something different in a romance give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a great idea!, 24 July 2002
By A Customer
Pretty Bizarre this romance by Sherrilyne Kenyon; it opens with the recounting of the ancient Greek legend of Julian of Macedon, brother of Cupid and beautiful Son of the Goddess Aphrodite. Priapus, his half brother, jealous of his prowess manages to have him cursed for all eternity to a fate worse than death - sex. He is trapped in the dark pages of an ancient book unable to move or speak until summoned by whoever happens to possesses the magical literature and utters his name three times under a full moon. When summoned he is driven by an irresistible force make mad passionate love to his temporary mistress for one lunar month at the end of which, his is recaptured in the dark pages immobile, for perhaps centuries until called again. Yes, you guessed it, love god became sex slave.
Kenyon keeps her tongue firmly in her cheek as we watch thoroughly modern, hopelessly cynical Grace Alexander, stumble through said procedure to please her superstitious friend and accidentally find a naked Spartan demi god in her living room. Of course from their on in we have every woman's fantasy unfurling before our very eyes. Julian is incredibly attractive and sensitive, firm and of course is... how shall I put this delicately? Constantly ..ehem ... at the ready to fulfil his obligations as a sex god. The story lies in Graces desire not only to have his body but free him from the pages of the book that denies him his liberty.
Kenyon certainly can rival Johanna Lindsey for coming up with ideas that make her storytelling refreshingly unusual. I can't say she has as much talent, though the humour is there, the situations and responses are a tad too predictable to surprise a genuine laugh out of you, but you certainly smile. The plot gets a bit tangled as greek god and goddesses pop in and out of thin air but it does make you want to brush up on your greek literature. The sex or rather the foreplay (you'll see what I mean when you read the book..) is pretty darn hot but lacks perhaps the sensuality of say Karen Robard or Julie Garwood (historical). Nevertheless, this book is entertaining and sexy and certainly pricks your imagination (no pun intended)... sex god in my living room, humm ... what a great idea, the possibilities are endless!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, and a lot more to it than I'd expected, 1 Sep 2003
By 
Dr W. Richards "wmr-uk" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Grace is given a present of an ancient Greek book by a friend; the book contains a picture of a *very* handsome man - a Greek god in appearance. Her friend insists that if Grace performs a very strange ritual, the Greek god, who is apparently a love-slave, will come to life and be Grace's personal love-slave for a month. Drunk and disbelieving, Grace performs the ritual... and Julian appears in front of her. As large as life, and very, very naked. And ready for action, in whatever way Grace wants him!
Grace, however, isn't a believer in casual sex; her only previous experience was with a man who hurt her very much and then made fun of her publicly afterwards. She's not, therefore, about to jump into bed with a perfect stranger, no matter how attractive he is or how sexily he talks to her. Julian, on the other hand, is compelled to want her as a result of the curse which put him inside the book, and he also recognises that she needs someone to teach her to enjoy sex. And he's determined to do just that!
I thought at this point that the book was going to be a pure romp. But in fact it ended up being very much deeper. Julian is a tortured soul; he had a loveless life before being cursed, and ever since he's been treated abusively by the women who summoned him, in some cases chained to their beds, never allowed anywhere except their bedrooms, and frequently having to plead for food as a reward for sex. To them, he was a body, not a man.
Grace is determined to treat him better than that; he is determined to help her overcome her distrust of men. But even if both manage to achieve their objectives, there is still the hard fact that at the next full moon Julian will disappear back into the book, to be trapped there until the next time someone summons him. Can they treat this as a short-lived relationship? Or is there a way to break the curse?
The book's poignant as well as funny, and I thoroughly enjoyed it - enough to keep an eye out for the second in the series.
wmr-uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Lover, a book for every woman disappointed with love, 1 May 2003
By A Customer
Have you ever wished for a man who instinctively knew how to please you.Who only live to fulfil your every wish?
In that case let me introduce you to Julian of Macedon, a former general, trapped in a book, forever cursed to serve whoever summon him. He can only stay for a month.A larger than life character in every sense of the word.
He is summoned by Grace Alexander, a sextherapist in need of a bit of her own medicine. Julian decide that it is his mission to "save" Grace from herself and to show her love and sex need not be a dissappointment.
I enjoyed Fantasy Lover enourmously.If you ever find a book with a loveslave trapped in it please, please send it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Discovery!, 29 July 2003
Searching through Amazon for new writers to read from, I came across Sherrilyn Kenyon who had received raving reviews for Fantasy Lover. Intrigued, I decided to disregard my usual reticence with plots that make such a fantastic leap from reality and give this book a try.
This book is a definite keeper!
Apart from the bombastic love scenes, one can actually see Grace and Julian falling in love with each other. Grace overcoming her inhibitions, Julian's one-minded devotion; Grace's good-heartedness and Julian's emotional vulnerability despite his physical perfection. The romance through it all makes my breath short.
Still, all in all, this is a brilliant read. I finally understood why so many readers have been reading this story in the steamy seclusion of their bath-tubs....the scenes that take place in Grace's bathroom are simply, for lack of a better word, explosive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 28 July 2010
I am quite a fan of JR Ward and enjoy a lot of paranormal/fantasy romance, so I kept hearing Kenyon recommended or seeing her books flooding bookshelves. I finally got around to reading Fantasy Lover and did so quickly (it's a short, easy read). I did want to like it, especially because of the Ancient Greek angle which is something I'm especially interested in. Honestly, though, this book is just bad. The hero just comes across as a big muscly child, despite his being alive for many a thousand year. The way he adapts to life in this century America is laughable and there were too many flaws in his adjustments to name.
The author tries to give the heroine some kind of personality by making her a psychologist but this was thinly planted onto her character and when it plays a part in the action of the book, just feels utterly contrived and predictable (not to mention disconnected from any other plot).
I'm also sure that Kenyon couldn't have read very deeply anything to do with Ancient Greek mythology. One part springs to mind, when the hero says something about not wanting to read the Iliad because he doesn't want to read stories with happy endings and all that...OK, anyone who's read even a couple of books of the Iliad would know that this is about as far from the epic poem as you can get. The Iliad is tragic, often amoral and in its depiction of war, savage.
The sex scenes and some of the romance aren't all that bad. Sometimes it is even sweet but it's just too shallowly executed and implausible, even for a book with the word 'fantasy' in the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having a hot sex god at your desposal for a month, 8 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grace Alexander is a sex therepist who isn't very experienced sexually. As a joke her friend Selina gives her a book, which supposedly contains a 'sex god' who will be available for one month to satisfy her every sensual whim. Of course Grace doesn't take it seriously and she performs the incantation and nothing happens. Then after her friend has gone home, a gorgeous naked man appears in her living room and wants to have sex!
But unlike the all the other woman who have met Julian, the son of Aphrodite, she wants to know the man in every way except the biblical sense. Will she be the one to break the curse that binds him to the book as an eternal sex slave. What do you think? Sound like a great fantasy? It is. And Sherrilyn Kenyon really knows how to write great fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yay, great fun, 29 Sep 2007
By 
This was my first Sherylyn Kenyon book, and the reviews had me intrigued. It seemed to cheesy to be true. Ancient Spartan Demi God trapped in a book only to appear when summoned to perform sex acts on his summoner for eternity.

Sounds like the plot of a second rate backstreet porno!

But I put aside my snobbery and went for it, and wasn't dissapointed. Its not the most intellectually challenging work of literature ever written, but its a "ripping yarn" which had me vegged out on the sofa for 2 blissful days.

I loved the characters, loved the fact that Grace wasn't some supermodel with tiny waist massive knockers and endless legs. She's a normal girl who has a loony tarrot card weilding friend who, for a laugh on her friends birthday, gets her to summon Julian of Macedon from an ancient book as her love slave.

Never for a minute thinking it would work Grace goes along with it, only to find a 6ft naked warrior standing in her kitchen fully expecting to spend the next month pleasuring her in every room in the house.

Grace has been hurt by her vile ex and has no intention of letting Julian fullfill his duties, at least until she has got to know him. Anyway, things get interesting with Eros Athena and several other Gods getting involved in a great tale that, frankly, I found charming witty and great fun.

I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this to anyone who wants something lighthearted and romantic... with a gorgeous naked god thrown in for good measure. mmmmmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unable to put down, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first I was unsure but then I found it hard to put down, I found myself smiling throughout , loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter World)
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter World) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews