Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genre-busting zombie triumph
With S.G. Browne's phenomenally fantastic debut novel, zombies have finally broken through the glass ceiling that kept them bumbling around as mindless idiots for far too long. Life still goes on, even for those unlucky enough to die and then suddenly reanimate a couple of days later. It's not easy being a zombie, you know. You never know when some piece of you might...
Published on 17 April 2009 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting New Take On Zombies
"Breathers" is a black comedy combined with horror and a little romance and lots of icky moments. We follow Andy, a newly risen zombie and the other members of his support group.

Zombies in "Breathers" are a little different, in fact the concept is quite original to me and was fun to read. Not all people who die become zombies, but when the selected few do rise...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Book Chick City


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genre-busting zombie triumph, 17 April 2009
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With S.G. Browne's phenomenally fantastic debut novel, zombies have finally broken through the glass ceiling that kept them bumbling around as mindless idiots for far too long. Life still goes on, even for those unlucky enough to die and then suddenly reanimate a couple of days later. It's not easy being a zombie, you know. You never know when some piece of you might accidentally fall off (quite the social faux pas), you don't smell very good and you know it, children tend to run away screaming at the very sight of you, you're constantly pelted with garbage and curses by the living (or "breathers" in zombie parlance), you have to maintain a decent supply of formaldehyde in your system through various means to keep yourself from melting away, you can't get a job to help support your undead self, and the list just goes on and on. What bothers newly undead Andy Warner, though, is the fact that he and his fellow zombies are treated even worse than second-class citizens. Break curfew or try to go where you don't belong, and you soon find yourself stuck in a cage at the SPCA - and if you don't have a Breather family member willing to bail you out, you can find yourself stuck in a zombie zoo or tied to a slab and dissected by a group of young medical students. Perhaps worst of all, Andy is forbidden from ever seeing his young living child again.

Consigned to the wine cellar of his parents' house, would have been the loneliest, most miserable zombie in the world (especially since the car accident that killed him left him with an almost-useless left leg and damaged his vocal cords to the point that he can't actually speak) were it not for his local Undead Anonymous chapter. There, he is able to connect with other zombies like himself, develop friendships, and even rediscover romance with a pretty young suicide victim. Then he and his zombie friends meet Ray, a zombie who basically lives by his own rules and isn't about to let the Breathers push him around. When some dumb frat boy ambushes you and steals your arm, Ray's the kind of guy who will lead the raid to reclaim it. With the influence of Ray - and his incredibly delicious "venison" jerky - Andy's self-confidence begins to grow, and he and his undead compatriots start to take control of their undead lives.

Don't get too caught up in the "zombie comedy romance" tag pinned on this novel, and don't look upon this book as a dark comedy and nothing more. While the story is overflowing with crazy zombie (mis)adventures and serves up more laughs than you're likely to find outside of a Terry Pratchett fantasy novel, it also has a few genuinely tragic moments and features several sub layers of a serious nature. For example, one can easily draw a number of parallels between the treatment of zombies in the novel and the extent of prejudice and second class treatment shown to certain minorities in the real world.

If there has ever been a zombie novel that those with no interest in the zombie genre can appreciate and enjoy, it is this one. That being said, though, zombies will be zombies - and some readers will undoubtedly be turned off by some of the things zombies do (no matter how stylishly Browne describes them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Comedy, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Ursula K. Raphael "AstraDaemon of The Zombiep... (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've said this elsewhere, but I don't think Browne's work should be compared to Brooks. They have two completely different styles of writing, even if they are both writing "humor."

Browne is a great author, without needing any comparisons. Breathers is a comedy novel featuring zombies, and their POV, particularly Andy. They're just trying to be a part of society, but they face a moral dilemna when they realize that eating "breathers" helps them regenerate. The story held my interest, even though I was hesitant at the beginning.

I usually prefer a more serious zombie novel, but this was so original that I couldn't put it down. I think if you like this humor, you may also like Zombie Haiku: Good Poetry for Your Brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on Zombies, 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not normally a fan of zombie books, in fact I gave up on the last one I tried to read and gave it to the boy next door, but this one sounded different and I bought it.I loved it, its totally different, the zombies in this book have feelings, can talk, make friends, in a world where they are not wanted and abused, its hard not to feel sympathy for them.I like the writing style and humour as well, its a very original tale, and an excellent read.It reminded me of Joe Hills book "Horns" when I read that I thought wow, thats different, and both these guys are writing books the like of which I've not read before, both highly original writers, with a wicked sense of humour, I'm not saying they are alike but I think any fans of Joe Hill will love SG Browne as well.I look forward to reading his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow stater..., 26 May 2011
As per the title this book started off a bit slowly but gradually got going. I'm more of a 'traditionalist' when it comes to zombie novels however I fancied a change and gave this a go. I am glad I did.

Some of the descriptions are a bit ropey but you can't help but feel geninually sorry for Andy and his fellow undead as they are treated so badly. I didn't find myself laughing out loud considering this was meant to be a comedy but it wasn't that dull!

The ending is not how I would have wanted it, but I'm not sure how else it could have played out, but overall a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 10 May 2011
By 
David Gee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathers: A Zombie's Lament (Paperback)
A good story about a new zombie who is coming to terms with zombiedom in a society that hates zombies. Part equal rights struggle, part zombie gore-fest. I found this book entertaining and easy to read. There is some good depth to the zombie characters, they don't just shuffle around moaning 'brains'. There is love, tragedy, a dark secret, death, undeath and a few laughs to be had in this book. Recommended for zombie fans or anyone who likes something a bit different in their reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different and Funny, 28 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (oxfordshire, england) - See all my reviews
A humerous take on the zombie genre. Written from Andy's perspective as a zombie. Picked on by breathers discriminated against by the government and treated like animals Andy just wants a normal life and to let people know that zombies are harmless and the brain eating monsters are just hollywood fiction, that is until he and his friends discover that breather tastes noce and helps them heal! a fantastic read fro start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good munching undead fun., 21 Feb 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I love a novel that strikes out on its own and if you're fed up of the typical zombie bumbling cannon fodder affair that's out there, then you really have to get yourself a copy of this book. It has misadventure, it has some twisted events and is a title that demonstrates that whilst you may be deceased you're still human and need interaction. It's very clever, it has some great authorly slight of hand and above all else it's a book that the reader can really get their hooks into. Add to that an author with an understanding as well as a love of the Zombie and you know it's a book that's going to impress which made this hard to put down and a real joy to read. The only real warning to come out of this book is if anyone however offers you venison jerky you might want to pass. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie romance and so much more., 12 Jun 2010
I'd just finished a book from the zombie point of view when someone recommended this one and now I've finished it and I dare say I loved it. This book stands firm on the darkly comedic side, with a group called Undead Anonymous and the main character, Andy, a zombie living in his parent's cellar. Zombies are treated poorly by living people aptly called "Breathers", often being bothered and even caged, but Andy soldiers on.

I think this book is very clever and a wonderful read. In fact I couldn't put it down. It's a different take on zombies and that in itself is fresh. Not that I don't enjoy the usual fare, but this one stands out as unique and original.

For another book from a zombie's point of view, and a horror-filled one at that, you may want to have a look at Het Madden, A Zombie Perspective: Book One: Wrath 2012 (Volume 1).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, easy read, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Breathers: A Zombie's Lament (Paperback)
If you like sarcasm and humour this book is the perfect merge of those and zombies. The setup with introducing most characters at a zombie self help group reminded me a bit of Ugly Americans series. The pace was good but I felt the ending was rushed compared to the pace of the rest of the book and a tad predictable.Still don't let it stop you from giving it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on zombies., 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathers: A Zombie's Lament (Paperback)
This is a dark, humerous story told from the perspective of a recently reanimated zombie called Andy who is forced to come to terms with the fact he is now completely alienated from society, considered a burden by his parents and forced to live in their basement out of the way.

The story is a clever mix of equality-struggle allegory, social commentary and of zombie cliche but wrapped in a witty and often sardonic humour which makes it incredibly easy to read. The characters are all easy to connect with and have a good depth which really helps with the flow of the story.

The only criticism I have is I wasn't a massive fan of the ending as it seemed a little bit out of character with the rest of the story and pacing. But other than that the book was thoroughly enjoyable.

Breathers is a unique read and a definite for fans of zombies fiction and a refreshing change to what you normally find when looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breathers: A Zombie's Lament
Breathers: A Zombie's Lament by S. G. Browne (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
£6.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews