Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 October 2005
This is the 1st book I have read by P C Cast (read in the wrong
order-whoops!!) and this is about a bakery owner who finds herself in
some bad debt and decides she needs to expand her business if she is
going to survive . She goes to a bookstore and picks up a book called
The Italian Goddess and finds an Italian pizza recipe. This involves
chanting to the Goddess Demeter, Goddess of the Harvest. Lina gets
Demeter's attention and before she knows it she has swapped places with
Demeter's daughter Persephone. Demeter wanted Lina to swap places with
Persephone because the souls of the Underworld need some lightness and
Demeter thinks Persephone can do that but, thinks her daughter too young
and immature, so for 6 months Lina becomes Persephone and Persephone
becomes Lina and manages her bakery, and helps her ailing business.
However, things are not as straightforward as that and Lina finds
herself falling for the God of the Underworld, Hades. But, Lina is
worried because she thinks Hades has fallen for her in Persephone's body
but, she cannot tell him.
This is a brilliant book and is much more than just a paranormal romance
there's mythology too and even get to know a bit more about the Gods and
Goddesses in this story. I loved every minute and have all of P C Casts
books, a brilliant author!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2006
I have read all of P C Cast's books and have to say that this is the best of the bunch. You just can't help falling for Hades, he's such a great character, and it's no surprise that the heroine Lina does. It is a good read and if you like a great romantic read then this is it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is my favourite of all the goddess summoning books. Would recommend them to all adults to read who enjoy this style of book. Fantasy meets Romance in a brilliant blend. To think I only discovered P.C. Cast over Christmas 2009 by accident at the local Tesco's with her Divine trilogy, I have now ordered and read each of her books and can't wait for more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I cannot get enough of this lady's books!! If you like to laugh out loud, and cry with a book, then PC Cast and P C & Kristen Cast books are for you. This book is brilliant. ALL of her books are brilliant. She makes you laugh out loud, smile to yourself, then she has you crying like a baby! This is a MUST buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
A middle aged baker who's anything but boring. With a can do attitude that's both impressive and inspiring. After a painful divorce, Carolina puts all her time into work. But when her accountant messes up leaving Pani del Goddess in debt, Carolina decides to take action. No one walks over her!
Unaware of the power of a book, our baker takes the interest of a real, live goddess. One who makes deals. If she does the goddess a favour, then she will send her daughter to save the bakery, and yes, save her bread - literally! But deals with the gods are never simple things. And with some early hiccups, a few laughs and characters that you can really get behind, it's not long before your raring her on.
Romantic. Great for anyone stuck in a rut, and doesn't know what to do. You don't have to understand Greek mythology to keep up. Absolutely brilliant! Not suitable for young children! Go CAST!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
I found this book great. It was emotional, vivid and painted the inperfect guy of every womans dreams. You read about Hades and think 'I love him'. I know it sounds dramatic to say but he's so real, funny and charmingly shy. And as for Lina - I would personally like to meet her myself as she is funny and more importantly full of hope. It's a delightful combination to see Hades and Lina interact along with all the other characters (mainly Persephone and Demeter).

Anyone who loves a good paranormal romance and is ready to sacrifice many hours reading and rereading this book I would recommend buying it ASAP. The Goddess Summoning books are fantastic and like P.C. Casts other works draw you into the world and make you wish it were happening to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This is a fantastic book if you like fantasy, romance and a bit of magic in the modern day! I have read the house of night books and became addicted to that series last year - I don't know why it took me so long to start this goddess summoning series but now that I have I can't put them down. I have read two in the last couple of days and already started the third, goddess of light which I have high hopes for.
You must try these books and others by P.C. Cast - they are so easy to read and enjoyable. I had tears in my eyes towards the end of this book and I don't usually get so attached!
I hope there will be many more fantasy books by his author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Best one yet. Totally took my breath away. Fantastic read. Do not miss reading this book! I wish I could get my memory erased so that I could be enchanted by its pages again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The course of true love never runs smooth and with the wonderful addition of the tale of Persephone (although the original tale had the character as Kore) takes an everyday woman and thrusts her into the life of Hades as her own world crumbles around her. All in, it's a tale of romance, of happy endings and of course a tale with lust that will satisfy the reader. Add to this PC's usual great character depictions, backed up with decent prose and of course dialogue and the reader will have a blast as this ancient myth gets a workout for the modern audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
I love the whole Goddess collection, Cast is a remarkable author and I always feel content and happy after I've read one of them, they're so uplifting even when the characters are facing hardships, Cast still shows the beauty that is in all of us. I know this sounds soppy and sort of 'new age possitive thinking' and i guess it is in some ways but on a cold night, when you've had a crap day at work, its just nice to snuggle on the sofa and read somthing that doesnt depress me xxx Oh...and ther's always abit of erotica to give it abit of a kick ;) xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse