Customer Reviews


892 Reviews
5 star:
 (679)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1,202 of 1,235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective techniques to fight depression
I've suffered from depression most of my adult life and in that time have been fighting it on numerous fronts: Antidepressants, exercise, dietary changes, CBT and of course enough self help books to start a small shop on the subject. But all of these have only helped with some of the symptoms, none have really cured my depression and none have gone to the heart of it and...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Pete

versus
57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Link To mp3 audio downloads should be made crystal clear from the start?
I've purchased two versions of this book for Kindle having read some very promising reviews of the contents, only to stumble across a few reviews which complained of the thing being pointless without the C.D.

As usual, contacting Amazon came up with a very quick refund for the basic edition and I downloaded the "enhanced," edition, not fully understanding that...
Published on 4 Mar. 2012 by Wildheart


‹ Previous | 153 54 5590 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
This not just a book but an eight week course designed to alter the way you live your life. The course is all about teaching us how to remain relaxed and aware. Some Oxford professor has written this book as a gift, not to get rich. Thanks. Some of the best minds in the world have got together and tried to bring us their years of research. They have used western science to study how meditation practices and mindful activites can most efficiently get rid of the time wasting/runminating/multitasking habits of our minds. The course involves listening to mediations, which is just a voice asking you to think about eg what you are feeling right now, in a guided way, and some other activites designed to ground you in the present moment. Obviously very useful to people with depression and anxiety but there are alot of other stressed people out there who would benefit, and as a mother of young kids I include myself. I have a load of self help or philosophy books (and a degree in medicine) and this is head and shoulders above the rest. I would rate its value at about £250 so for a tenner I couldn't recommend it more. Very powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
I have found this book very easy to follow and well researched and balanced. I would fully recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gp recommendation, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
very useful/ an alternative to drugs--can help you to relax if you can find time to follow it in your frantic world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting just what is needed, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
I thought the advice in the book was great. Mindfulness everyone needs to get away from the mind and it's madness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An attitude changing work, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
A real aid to calming yourself and your worries without burying your head in the sand - a very valuable purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slowing the world down and staying alive., 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
I am in the early study stages and am enjoying the c.d. of guided meditations The whole world should slow down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding self help book "which does what it says on the tin"., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
An excellent book to help get through a frantic and fast pace world; changed my life for the better. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Janet Ward (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
Excellent book - all I now need to do is take note of everything in it! CD of guided meditation is also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world (Paperback)
Very, very helpful book and CD. Use it often.
Have found it very useful and would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely excellent, wanted to get back into Buddist meditation with limited time available, this was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 153 54 5590 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world
Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world by Dr Danny Penman (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
£8.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews