Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siger's 'Murder': a modern readable Greek 'tragedy'!
Is there anything but murder in the Greek Isles? Of course there is, as many readers well know, but when politically incorrect, mouthy, cocky (somehow likeable) detective Andreas Kaldis is promoted out of Athens to serve as police chief for Mykonos, he's certain his big city homicide days are over. Murders shouldn't happen in tourist heaven, but soon he is staring at the...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Billy J. Hobbs

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Greek"? pageturner
As a previous reviewer has already said this is a page turner and it is a good light read and I will probably read the next book in the series.

Unfortunately,despite the portrayal of disproportionately powerful local politicians and bureaucrats, the book just didn't feel very greek to me - I have recently read crime novels by Petros Markaris and Anne Zouroudi...
Published on 18 July 2011 by J. Gadd


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Greek"? pageturner, 18 July 2011
By 
J. Gadd (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
As a previous reviewer has already said this is a page turner and it is a good light read and I will probably read the next book in the series.

Unfortunately,despite the portrayal of disproportionately powerful local politicians and bureaucrats, the book just didn't feel very greek to me - I have recently read crime novels by Petros Markaris and Anne Zouroudi which both deliver more greek "je ne sais quoi" (den xero ti?). However as this book is a bestseller in Greece perhaps I'm missing something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siger's 'Murder': a modern readable Greek 'tragedy'!, 16 May 2012
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
Is there anything but murder in the Greek Isles? Of course there is, as many readers well know, but when politically incorrect, mouthy, cocky (somehow likeable) detective Andreas Kaldis is promoted out of Athens to serve as police chief for Mykonos, he's certain his big city homicide days are over. Murders shouldn't happen in tourist heaven, but soon he is staring at the remains of a young woman found ritually bound and buried on a pile of human bones inside a remote mountain church.

Thus Jeffrey Siger's first novel Murder in Mykonos begins with, well, a struggle!

Teamed with the canny, nearly-retired local homicide chief, Andreas tries to find the killer before the media destroys the island's treasured tourist reputation with a barrage of world-wide attention. And just when it seems things can't get any worse, another young woman disappears. With the investigation now a rescue operation, Andreas plunges into ancient myths and forgotten places, racing against a killer intent on claiming a new victim.

The last thing Kaldis wants is to run afoul of local politicos in his new job as Mykonos police chief, of course, and his feisty personality doesn't help. That's what got him transferred from Athens in the first place--plus, his investigation got too close to people in power. Here on Mykonos, he knows he's facing a serial kidnapper-killer and that has to be his priority, politics be damned.

Suspense builds nicely as the story alternates between the perspectives of the captive woman, the twisted kidnapper, and Kaldis on whose shoulders the investigation falls. In the end, Andreas finds more than he bargained for, and readers will be well pleased.

The island's "brass," ignoring missing tourists for economic reasons, reminds us of Benchley's Jaws or Ibsen's Enemy of the People while the rounding up of the usual suspects is amusing to follow in this rather superb "whondunit"! And who says you can't like ouzo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 12 July 2012
By 
Tim62 "history buff" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
I was hoping to like this, as I took it as a holiday read to Greece, but sadly I didn't. I found it exasperating, and the characters and plot frankly unbelievable.

And here there are some plot spoilers....

My jaw dropped as Siger unveiled his potential suspects

The only good guys in the whole book appeared to be the illegal Albanian immigrants. The police were thuggish and in one case one policeman himself was a smuggler and murderer (but not THE murderer, so we were expected just to mentally shrug our shoulders and accept it). All the inhabitants of Mykonos featured in the book were either former child molesters, serial rapists (father and son here) drunks, abuse victims, voyeurs, thugs in police uniform who beat up suspects as a normal part of the investigation process, corrupt businessman, bullying politicans or plain old flashers and public exhbitionists. And these were the good guys?
Frankly if I were a Mykoniot I would be up in arms about the description of the people of my island.

It goes without saying that this ludicrous cast of minor and support characters soon began to leach the novel of any semblance of realism. This was even allowing for the fact that the plot revolved around a mass-murderer who has gone on killing undisturbed for years on a tiny island, and that nobody had ever missed any one of his victims.

The trouble was the central conceit of the novel - the undiscovered mass-murderer - simply does not convince. The murderer's final target, we are meant to sympathise with. But Siger makes her impossible to like. She is supposed to be just an ordinary American student in Europe. But her father is the US ambassador to the UK, and her mother is the sister of the Greek interior minister (another absurd pantomine character) so when she goes missing he flies into action.

I can't say I would be tempted to buy another in the series. I'd need to be convinced that Siger had improved his character writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product of a Cycladic mind, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
This really isn't bad at all - the opening pages are not well written, and the heart sinks, but having stayed with it, I found the pages turning freely, if not un-put-down-ably: the tension is built effectively, and there is an interesting development of the relationship between the police chief on Mykonos and his boss who oversees the Cycladic islands in general. The author introduces a good variety of suspects (perhaps he even overeggs this particular pudding), and the crimes are nicely gruesome, although there is some tastelessness in their description. Towards the end, my interest did begin to fade a little - there is a rather tedious chase sequence, and the mischievous ending doesn't wholly convince (though full marks for effort); it's more frustrating than amusing. Having said all that, though, I'll definitely try the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beach Fodder, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite liked this book. It's a page turner and nothing heavy. I go to Mykonos every summer so a friend bought it for me as a joke. Probably would not have bought it myself- but you know it was okay. That being said, I didn't really recognise Mykonos at all apart from a couple of geographical references, but it would be fun to read it whilst on the beach there. I might even buy the other books in the series - strictly as a holiday read you understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the feel of the island setting, 22 Aug. 2014
The island of Mykonos draws you in with it's beautifully drawn landscape, the heat, smells and culture that Siger captures so well. It is however a double sided coin, the holiday makers haven and the residents normality and political backstory.

Chief of police Andreas Kaldis is there not of his own volition but his moral compass and sense of fun at the expense of his unsuspecting subordinates when he first arrives on the island automatically endears us to him and this lasts for the length of the novel.

The story is told from the view point of Kaldis and a young blonde tourist Annika and though the greek men on the island have shown her little in the way of respect, she is portrayed as a strong woman determined to survive a terrible ordeal as Kaldis must keep his wits to save her.

I loved the feel of the island setting and the two characters discussed, the pace of the ending had you turning the pages, but an unsightly turn in events didn't quite ring true for me right at the end, but it won't stop me picking up the next Kaldis novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Murder in Mykonos, 3 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
Written by an American, this novel shows both its pulp fiction and classic English whodunnit influences. Both the pretty-girl-victim scenario and the dialogue are pretty crass but the narrative is strong with a classic short, closed list of potential suspects for the tourist murders. The novel's strength is its cynical awareness of how Greek Island culture and politics work; its weakness is the denouement. The disclosure of the murderer's identity seemed rather random and, frankly, unrelated to any evidence the author had previously chosen to present. It is, however, a good holiday read - particularly if you are holidaying on a Greek island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kaldis v Montalbano..no decision possible,both brilliant, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well I have to say I only chose this because I had exhausted my reading of Andrea Camelleri's Inspector Montalbano books having read all the series. Having said that I am delighted to say that Inspector Kaldis is a very good read and I am already on the third book in the series.I had never heard of Jeffrey Siger as an author so took a chance and have been well rewarded with imaginative and thoughtful writing with the right amount of out of work information on the chief detective.Would definitely recommend this to readers of this genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A page turning read, 1 July 2012
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
I greatly enjoyed this novel. From Mr. Siger's acurate descriptions of the island itself to the complex characters he created, I felt as if this was a very well thought out "who done it" mystery that had me turning pages from the get go. To be honest, at times after putting down the book I actually believed that I was going to turn on the tv and see a news report on the case! I definitely want to read the other books in the series and shall be recommending this one to friends. Actually... I already have :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thinly veiled old man's wet dream, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery) (Paperback)
Cardboard characters and stilted dialogue are the least of this laughable novel's problems. The plot is cringingly pretentious and monumentally improbable but worst of all is the creeping sense that this novel is being written by a very dirty old man in a very dirty raincoat. The cherry on top is the one dimensional comic book character of the tall blonde Dutch (wink wink) kidnap victim which should gladden the hearts of 12 year old boys everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder In Mykonos: Number 1 in series (Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews