Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Arcane Society Novel
Jayne Ann Krentz strikes again! This book was excellent very well written and difficult to put down. In this book our heroine awakens to find herself with a dead body on her hands and locked in a mirrored room. She is then rescued by our hero and they go on to find out what she was doing there and who had locked the door. The nature of both of their talents is again...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by A. Kinsella

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'It was okay' pretty much sums it up.
Some things that you can guarantee with recent 'Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Amanda Quick' -
There will be lots of gaslights and even more fog.
Carriages will play a big role when it comes to sex.
The heroine will strip down to a chemise and the hero will tell her that she's 'beautiful'
There will be a JAK patented lecture on the importance of 'family'...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Katie Howe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'It was okay' pretty much sums it up., 7 May 2011
By 
Katie Howe (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Some things that you can guarantee with recent 'Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Amanda Quick' -
There will be lots of gaslights and even more fog.
Carriages will play a big role when it comes to sex.
The heroine will strip down to a chemise and the hero will tell her that she's 'beautiful'
There will be a JAK patented lecture on the importance of 'family' and the 'family unit'
Despite being set in Victorian England, America (or an American) will be mentioned and shown to be a much better place (or person)than England (or English people)
The 'Baddie' will be given a few paragraphs of his own so that you know that he's there but not who he is.
It will be glaringly obvious who the baddie is anyway.
There'll probably be another lecture on the importance of family around about this point.
There's a fifty per cent chance that feet will be described in a sexual way (her's not his)
At least one prostitute will be rescued from a life on the streets and sent to learn a different trade which probably doesn't pay as well.
The housekeeper is a great source of gossip but no one works that out until further into the book.
More sex will be followed by yet another discussion of the importance of family (occassionally it's the other way around)
The hero and heroine will take an entire book to decide that they fell in love the first time they met.
The hero and heroine will agree solidly on the importance of family.

Ms Krentz! I AM BORED!!!! I long for the days of books like 'Dangerous' and 'With This Ring'. I can't handle much more of Victorian England. I want humour and lightness and frivolity and all the things I loved Amanda Quick for even if there was the occassional corpse thrown in. I don't want an emphasis on families and feet. I have both family and feet, I don't need to read about them in my escapist romance. I'd really like more on the 'escapist romance' side of things.
This is, of course, a personal plea and probably won't be read by Ms Krentz anyway. If you're a fan of the recent Amanda Quick books, you'll probably like this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Arcane Society Novel, 4 Jan 2012
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jayne Ann Krentz strikes again! This book was excellent very well written and difficult to put down. In this book our heroine awakens to find herself with a dead body on her hands and locked in a mirrored room. She is then rescued by our hero and they go on to find out what she was doing there and who had locked the door. The nature of both of their talents is again central to the book as is the love story that unfolds. The book is filled with mystery and brings in items and references to previous novels however could be read as a stand alone novel either. I for one am looking forward to reading the next installment of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Organic and romantic, 28 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The latest title in the Arcane Society and one that will more than satisfy the readers. The characters are believable, they have a freshness about them that will appeal and above all else the overall arc is one that will entertain as well as keep the reader glued as the story unfurls. Its cleverly done, the prose is delightful and above all else it's the dialogue that really sells this story. All in a great piece of escapism fiction with a good dollop of romance for readers who prefer a more organic experience rather than twee that is so often substituted. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arcane Society, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Ange (york England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have enjoyed all books in the arcane series. Waiting for more.
Would recommend to everyone.
Arcane is a brilliant series. Looking forward to more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quicksilver, 26 Nov 2011
Should you be a follower of the Arcane Society, this book is a must. Another interesting and stimulating read.Jane Anne Krenta as usual provides a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quicksilver: Number 11 in series (Arcane Society)
Quicksilver: Number 11 in series (Arcane Society) by Amanda Quick (Paperback - 27 Mar 2012)
6.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews