Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling
Rowan Tripp loves being a smoke jumper and fighting fire with her fellow jumpers. But this year things are different. Last season her jump partner died in a fire and his death is not so easy to deal with. And then there's Gull Curry, a rookie smoke jumper, who seems to be seriously interested in Rowan. Normally she doesn't mix work and play but Gull is not that easy to...
Published on 10 April 2011 by S.K.K.

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!
I've been a great fan of Nora Roberts for many years and never thought she could write a bad book - until this one. The heroinne is so tough she makes Rambo look like a wimp. I'm all for women being strong, but this one has no softness in her. I can't understand why the hero is attracted to her as she is more butch than him. If you have not read any of Nora's books...
Published on 5 July 2011 by S. Danby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 10 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Hardcover)
Rowan Tripp loves being a smoke jumper and fighting fire with her fellow jumpers. But this year things are different. Last season her jump partner died in a fire and his death is not so easy to deal with. And then there's Gull Curry, a rookie smoke jumper, who seems to be seriously interested in Rowan. Normally she doesn't mix work and play but Gull is not that easy to discourage and pretty tempting. When a murder happens and Rowan is in danger, she realizes that maybe leaning on Gull and letting him into her life might be not such a bad idea.
Will Rowan and Gull's relationship make it through the fire season and will they be able to stop the murderer before he kills one of them?

When I get a new book by Nora Roberts I always feel a bit like a kid in a candy store. She is my favourite author and once again created an amazing novel. "Chasing Fire" is about a group of smoke jumpers and after reading the book I think that what they do is amazingly brave and absolutly crazy.

At first I needed some pages to get into the language used between the smoke jumpers because it's a bit different from Nora Robert's usual style. But after the first ten pages I appreciated the way the book is written because I felt that it fit to the smoke jumpers and the constant danger they are in.

I loved reading about the main characters Rowan and Gull. Rowan is strong woman, she is hard but also fair. She is a good trainer and team leader. I loved the scenes in which she trained the new smoke jumpers. The way she supported them and joked with them was admirable.
Gull is a hero after my own heart. He's intelligent, interested in a lot of different things and seems to live his life exactly the way he wants to. Together he and Rowan make a wonderful pair. Their banters were very entertaining and I loved the scenes in which Rowan let him into her heart.
I also liked that there is a second, smaller love story between Rowan's father and a woman he meets. Their relationship is so sweet and shows that you are never too old to find love.

Besides the two main characters I especially loved reading about the camaraderie of the smoke jumpers and about their missions. The smoke jumpers are like a small family, they love to rib each other and there are a lot of funny scenes between them. To read about them fighting the fire was thrilling and made this book a fast read. I was always interested in reading about their operations and I was impressed that with every jump into the flames they risked their lifes.

The suspense part of the book fits to the fire theme. The first murder is like a spark that sets the murderer on fire and makes him unpredictable and dangerous for everyone. I had a suspicion about who the killer might but was never sure about it.

covers
I like both the UK and US cover, they fit to the fire them and look interesting.

final appraisal
"Chasing Fire" has everything a great romantic suspence novel needs. The story is thrilling and fascinating, there are two wonderful love stories in the book, the camaraderie between the smoke jumpers is amazing and their fight against the fire is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 5 July 2011
By 
S. Danby (SOMERSET, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Paperback)
I've been a great fan of Nora Roberts for many years and never thought she could write a bad book - until this one. The heroinne is so tough she makes Rambo look like a wimp. I'm all for women being strong, but this one has no softness in her. I can't understand why the hero is attracted to her as she is more butch than him. If you have not read any of Nora's books before, don't start with this.
Sorry Nora, but this is the first,and I hope only, book of yours that isn't worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping but weirdly different, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Paperback)
I am still reading this novel (nearly finished) but although a good story and well told, it it just so different from the Roberts style I am used to that I find it hard to believe it was written by Nora - really, REALLY hard to believe. It's well researched, as you would expect from a Roberts; the characters are interesting but there isn't the depth of character development I've come to expect. There are two main male/female pairings but the rest of the cast are pretty much interchangeable. They all act the same; they all talk the same. That's not normal for Nora - her books are usually rich with a variety of likeable people and complex relationships. They may not differ much from book to book but they are what Nora does, and does exceptionally well. The language used is unusual too - more sparse, less descriptive.

Sorry Nora, either this isn't your best work or someone else wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars chasing fire, 1 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Paperback)
I can honestly say that this is the first Nora Roberts book which I am struggling to like. It reads like a documentary and whilst the facts are very interesting, the story suffers rather than benefits from her new approach.

Prolific as Roberts is (and as Robb), she is seldom, if ever, one to bang on and on about the minutae of the heroine's profession. It is also highly repititive, another rarity in a book crafted by Roberts.
Her phrasing and terminology are also markedly different from usual. Is there the ghost of a ghost writer at work?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 April 2011
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Paperback)
I loved this book Ms Roberts is on fire pardon the pun! It is a gripping read and with many twists it keeps you guessing til the end. In this book Rowan is type of paratrooper/firefighter who lost her partner before we join her. She meets a new Rookie Gull who she works with to find out who is trying to harm her and the others in her unit to get revenge on her partner's death. Steamy romance abounds as there is also a nice side story with a romance between Rowan's father and a principal. I would recommend this book as a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 April 2011
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Kindle Edition)
Once again Nora Roberts writes a fantastic book, this is the best one she has written in some time, I have been a fan for a LARGE number of years and while recentley I have enjoyed her books, that wee something has been missing, but with Chasing Fire, the danger fairly crackled off the page, not to mention the chuckle out loud humour, I loved the secondary characters as well as Ro and Gull, they were well developed and several could have their own stories, so 10/10, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chasing Fire., 7 April 2014
By 
P. Penn-Low (Kinross, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book 'by mistake' but found it a good 'light' read. Lots of rip roaring adventures amongst the forest fire fighters. I could see this as a Hollywood movies along the lines of The Towering Inferno. Not a classic but I have read far less appealing paperbacks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i enjoyed this book as well which l also passed it onto my friend but asked her to give it back so that l can read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Kindle Edition)
and story that holds onto you from beginning to end the depth of the characters and story will have you not able to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real fire-cracker, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Fire (Kindle Edition)
Another great read from Ms Roberts. Full of drama, action, lust and ultimately romance! Moved at a cracking pace. Really interesting reading about the smoke jumpers and what a dangerous and courageous job they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Chasing Fire
Chasing Fire by Nora Roberts (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews