Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An example of true Motherhood
I think it is hard to understand the feelings that you get once you have given birth to a baby, and you always hope that they will stay safe, happy and succesfull all of their life. In reality this is not always the case, and Elizabeth has built up the courage to lay bare her feelings of what must have been a harrowing time of her life.

Elizabeth is a great...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by A. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
A good but tragic story with some real insight as to the horrors of how heroin addiction affects families.Too many references to the help groups \attended and shared stories from other people, I felt towards the end and particularly last couple of chapters were a bit 'maudlin'. Worth a read though, a cautionary tale and your heart goes out to all of those close to the...
Published 5 months ago by nicola wilson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An example of true Motherhood, 3 Aug 2007
By 
A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family (Hardcover)
I think it is hard to understand the feelings that you get once you have given birth to a baby, and you always hope that they will stay safe, happy and succesfull all of their life. In reality this is not always the case, and Elizabeth has built up the courage to lay bare her feelings of what must have been a harrowing time of her life.

Elizabeth is a great example to all mothers, and proves that love really does conquer all. No matter what, she stuck by her family and always wanted the best for them. I feel that this was also her main motivator for wanting a succesfull career, to be a good role model to her kids.

This book should be in every parents starter pack, as it is a great reminder that the drug world is on everyones doorstep, and to not to think that because you live a privileged life or have lots of money that your kids will be safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that everyone should read, 8 Mar 2009
This book is a real eye opener about drug abuse. Even if you have not been personally affected by drugs I would highly recommend that you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and complete story of addiction and recovery, 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family (Hardcover)
I actually watched Elizabeth Burton-Phillips and her son being interviewed about the book when it was launched, but didn't hear the complete discussion to know the full story behind what happened to one of her twins.

That meant that when I sat down to read it in one sitting today it was a shock and surprise to reach the end. It's incredibly powerful and departs from many memoirs in recording the views of everyone concerned as time went on, not just the main author.

Two copies of this book need to be sat in every single secondary school library and it should be a set book in English classes, it would do more for drugs education in school than any programme out there at the moment.

So if you have kids, particularly nearing their teenage years, read this for the perfect grace-of-god cautionary tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and touching, 9 Jan 2010
Having watched my mum battle with her sister's heroin addicition throughout my childhood but then giving up and accepting her choices, this book really helped me to understand what she has been through. Lots of books talk from the perspective of the drug user and having read from both angles it seems that the family go through so much more than the addicts themselves. This book made me cry, it was very sad and upsetting and the writer doesn't hold back any of the grim realities of heroin addition.

A compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Life, 21 April 2010
By 
Denise Drew (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a great read. Honest and heart felt gave a real insight into what happens when drugs become an inportant part of a family showing what happens to the addict and the effect it has on close family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 22 Mar 2010
the title says it all. this book is easy to read and keeps the reader engrossed. its a very sad story of addiction and families, and highlighted that drug addiction can affect anybody indiscriminately. the author should be proud, i think her and her son did a very brave thing telling their story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing story told with great bravery, 7 Nov 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'm writing a book with a recovering heroin addict, and I read this book as background. It's a sad and moving account of a mother's struggle to deal with her twin sons descent into drug addiction and crime. The story is further complicated by the dependent relationship between the twins. One can't seem to climb out of the addiction, without being dragged back in by the other. It opened my eyes to the complexity of family and adult relationships. How far should we help one another? At what point do you apply 'tough love'? Questions that the author hasn't got any definitive answers to, but which she lays out in horrifying detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty quid, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family (Hardcover)
I started to read this book one afternoon and could not put it down. It is a compelling account of what drugs - in this case heroin - can do to "ordinary" families and the hold it takes on victims.

This is a story written with great honesty and without blame. I would urge any parent to read - uncomfortable as it is to realise it could happen to any one of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book - a must read for everyone!, 26 Oct 2009
By 
I brought this book as the subject is something that is very close to my heart. It gives an exact account of how heroin addiction affects people and their family. i totally admire Elizabeth for being so honest and frank about the experiences in her life. This book brought me tears, and i can honestly say this is the most moving book i have ever read. The main thing that i got from this book is the realisation that our family is not the only family affected by heroin addiction. A must read for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mum can you lend me twenty quid, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family (Hardcover)
What drugs will do to you and the whole of your circle of friends and family.A must read to any parent that is in the same position as this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family
Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What Drugs Did to My Family by Elizabeth Burton-Phillips (Hardcover - 17 May 2007)
13.89
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews