Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!
I couldnt put this down - a recommendation in itself - my house is littered with the corpses of books which didnt get finished.
Leila's re-telling of her childhood in France - being brought up in a western culture but having to live by a very strict code of rules imposed by her family, not being able to have friends, never being able to even go out and have the...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by T. Willson

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel.
I was going to give up reading at around the 4th chapter but persevered thinking it surely must get better. It didn't, this book bored me to tears. It's the story of a stroppy rebellious teenager who ended up in a loveless marriage, had a baby, got divorced. Big deal. Glad I got it from the library and didn't pay for it!
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by C. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 1 Feb 2008
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
I couldnt put this down - a recommendation in itself - my house is littered with the corpses of books which didnt get finished.
Leila's re-telling of her childhood in France - being brought up in a western culture but having to live by a very strict code of rules imposed by her family, not being able to have friends, never being able to even go out and have the freedoms that most western children take for granted- realy made me feel suffocated and uncomfortable. The treatments meted out to her for her so-called rebellion were harsh and yet they never quite broke her spirit. I was horrified when she was forced into marriage by her parents who were more concerned about the honour of the family rather than their daughters happiness. I am sure they loved her in their own way, but it is clear that through their actions, she cannot have felt loved at all, but desperately unhappy and misunderstood. It is a testament to her strong spirit that she finally overcame it all.

I would recommend this book to anyone:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant & thought provoking, 19 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
I found this captivating biography of a French born Moroccan girl and her constant struggle to survive the culture gap very difficult to put down. The book really helped me to understand the difficulties facing second generation Muslim immigrants whose parents stubbornly enforce their traditional customs at no matter what cost to their children. Leila explains her feelings very clearly throughout the book and you can't help but empathise with her for the problems she faces, and also the millions of other girls like her throughout the world who are facing the same difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 24 Nov 2006
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book for it's honesty, for being able to reach into the heart of very deep rooted cultural differences. It is the brave telling of a matter that has been unspoken about for too long. It leaves one wishing to know the author and more about her but due to the heart rendering account of what she suffered, she has remained anonymous.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tale of a Survivor, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
I purchased this book as recommended during my Domestic Violence training and I must say it is an excellent read about a young lady who was born to survive. Leila takes you through the journey of her young life and what you read is sometimes just unimaginable but! knowing your reading about a real life opens your eyes to what happens in other cultures and religions.A great read for anyone although....dont be surprised if you are unable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book..., 29 July 2009
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
This was an excellent book written by Leila. I have given it 4 starts because I felt the beginning of the book was not written very well. At times it felt like I was reading a story written by a young child and I sort of lost interest about a third of the way through.
The story picks up when Leila runs away to go and live with a female friend she met on holiday.
I would still recommend this book to everyone and I think it was money worth spending :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Married by Force Leila, 18 May 2011
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
Absolutely brillant.Could,nt put the book down.fully recommend to all and similar books of this culture.Amazingly good read .Read it in 2days !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
Love this book. These stories are actually taking place today but its a shame that not many people are aware or see these things. Really sad. I felt helpless and want to help girls and woman that are forced into marriage. Those that think its part of religion....seriously go back to school or read this book LOL!! Read this book so many times and still don't get bored of it. =o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars married by force, 4 Jun 2010
By 
N. J. Hinton (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
A very informative book. It made me very angry to think that women can be treated like this in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-rending read, 24 Mar 2007
By 
J. Kisseih (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
This book made me so grateful to have been born and brought up in the west! I feel so sorry for muslim women who have to live their lives like Leila and be forced into marriages with men who really have no real love for them whatsoever. Fortunately Leila was strong enough to get out of her situation, of being humiliated and abused by a wicked man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel., 19 Mar 2011
By 
C. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Married By Force (Paperback)
I was going to give up reading at around the 4th chapter but persevered thinking it surely must get better. It didn't, this book bored me to tears. It's the story of a stroppy rebellious teenager who ended up in a loveless marriage, had a baby, got divorced. Big deal. Glad I got it from the library and didn't pay for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Married By Force
Married By Force by Leila (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews