Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars77
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2015
Jamie Andrew is one incredible man. To have gone through what he did and go on to rebuild his life with such an astonishingly positive attitude is absolutely amazing. I found the book un-put-down-able. It is very well written and descriptive and moved me to tears on a couple of occasions. My only small criticism is the sections which describe what was happening in the background in the attempts, for example, to rescue him and his colleague. A third party narrative style may perhaps have worked better in those parts, rather than have Jamie narrate something first hand. But it's a small criticism of an amazing story> Despite his injuries and disabilities he has achieved more than most able bodied people ever will.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Brilliant book, well written and captivating.
Wonderfully brave author who takes the reader with him on his journey throughout the book.
Well done on every account.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
I found it very hard to put this book down, easy to read and very captivating to start with the reason for the four stars is I enjoyed the first half of the book more than the last.
the first half or just under jamie tells an excellent story in great detail in a way that you can just imagine what it was like being stranded up a mountain in not so perfect weather the second half however was just ok because although excellently written and explained was just about the day to day living of an active quad amputee not really much adventure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
A moving, inspirational story which is extremely well written. A compelling read even if you have no interest in climbing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
This is a very moving and inspirational book which is part adventure story and part a dramatic medical story which incorporates a massive rehabilitation theme. This is a must read for mountaineers and those interested in mountains and the second half of the book must be a comfort & inspiration to anyone who has lost a limb or limbs.

Give it a try - I would bet that once you start to read this book you will not be able to put it down
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I had the pleasure of meeting Jamie Andrew at an inspirational talk by him in Arbroath. I take my hat of to the fella to be able to get on with his life after the devastating and tragic events of Les Droites. The book itself is very emotional and inspirational, anyone to loose both hands and feet is a huge life shock! Reading through the rehabilitation you actually feel you are going through the whole experience with him. Great book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
A fantastic read. Very well written. I knew nothing much about mountaineering but the descriptions really evoked the scenes. I like the honesty of the writing and Jamie describes each event clearly but does not dwell too much on the darker aspects of the tragic events. This book helped me consider how anyone can experience massive life changing events but with tenacity overcome them. Deepest respect to Anna too. A page turner!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
What an inspirational character, unbelievable story of courage.I couldn't put this book down. I was gripped and nervous from the start and was in tears on many occasions. Never again will I complain of minor aches and pains. The only disappointment was the lack of photos, apart from the cover, I would love to have seen photos of Jamie and his friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
The story lulls you in. It's evocative, heart warming, jaw dropping, and poetic. Jamie is such a magnificent writer this book is a total delight to read. You have to remind yourself it's a true story, which makes it even more poignant and uplifting. I want the next installment.... There must be one in the pipeline??
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2005
A book I simply could not put down. This is one of the best books I have read in years. The story pulls you in from the very first page and does not let go to the very last page.
An amazing story very well told, if you only read one book this year make sure its this one !!!!!!!!
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse