Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in series, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Mary Balogh's three stories focusing on the three Huxtable sisters finishes with 'At Last Comes Love', the story of the elder sister, Margaret. Each of these stories has looked at how people manage to make a success out of a marriage of convenience, approaching the topic slightly differently.

Margaret's story relies on a rather unlikely set of circumstances to work, although Mary Balogh is such a good writer that generally it is easy to go along with the plot. Margaret finds herself the subject of gossip after it is revealed she is betrothed to the Earl of Sheringford, Duncan Pennethorne, an infamous rake who ran off five years before with another man's wife, leaving his fiancée at the altar. Margaret's touch of obstinacy means that she doesn't immediately repudiate the rumours but instead begins to try to learn more about Duncan, whether he really is the amoral man he has been made out to be, and whether he in fact offers a chance for her to have a home and family as she had wished.

Duncan needs to marry, very quickly indeed. Margaret isn't the sort of lady he was planning to wed but she's possibly his only option. Can these two people, one with many secrets, possibly make a future together? Can a tendency to dislike each other turn to love?

This story focused more on the initial meetings and wooings of Margaret and Duncan rather than their life after marriage. In fact, the big event in the latter part of the book, up to which many events had been leading, felt rather abruptly handled to this reader. In some ways this story felt less polished and the characters less believable than Mary Balogh usually produces but I did still enjoy it and she is still able to write far more effectively than almost anyone else in this genre.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book Helen Hancox 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right back on track!, 4 May 2009
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delighted to say that after a slightly disappointing 2nd book this one is right back on track. Not quite a 5 star for me, more like 4 1/2. Better than the first and much better than the second one I really loved the hero, Duncan, and the way Ms Balogh revealed his secrets little by little was very well done. Although characters from the first books appeared they didn't interfere too much with the development of the principal relationship between Margaret/Meg/Maggie and the lovely Duncan. A well plotted story with a few unexpected twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 3rd Book from the Huxtable series, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables) (Paperback)
Margaret Huxtable, the eldest of the Huxtable family is dismayed to learn her first love, Crispin Dew has returned from war with a child, after marrying a Spanish woman who has died. After turning down a friend for years she likes but does not love, she believes she can show Crispin she has moved on and is happy. But she learns the man she hoped would propose again to her has already claimed a fiancee. Believing she is still single, Crispin makes a play for her at a ball, but not in the romantic sense she once had with him. She rebuffs him, and lies, claiming she is already bethrothed. Distraught, she tries to leave, but clashes, literally, into the arms of a dark stranger called Duncan Pennethorne, the Earl of Sheringford. He immediately asks her to marry him, but Margaret thinks he is joking. But Duncan is very serious. He has been given 3 weeks by his grandfather to find a bride or be penniless. Finding a wife would not be easy, when ladies hear of his past, including running off with his sister in law. Margaret is shocked, but agrees to marry him, and over the 21 days, they begin to genuinely fall for each other. Margaret then learns the truth about Duncan's past, and finds she understands why he did what he did.

At the beginning, Margaret claims Duncan is not handsome, and dark in appearance, but over time, her opinion changes and she then says he is handsome. I don't know if her original opinion was overshadowed by his dark past, or if she only now finds him attractive now she has fallen in love with him. Overall, it is an impressive read, much better than the first, but on the same level as the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last Comes Love in a Big Way, 22 Mar 2013
Review taken from my Blog Post (#37), after I borrowed this from the local library back in 2010, and wrote a long review for this one over a Love~Romance~Passion Blog, so I won't go into too much detail on here.

Margaret (Meg) Huxtable literally runs into Duncan Pennethorn (Earl of Sherringham) at a ball ........ oh what a tangled web we weave, when at first we at first we practice to deceive...... but, it does give you a good read!

All in all it was more a 4.5 star read than a 4 and very, very enjoyable - a great big hulking hero never gets tired.

The link to the actual review at LRP are on my Blog Post (#37).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables) (Paperback)
following on from the 2nd book margaret is still unmarried and as she is now 30 she is feeling lonely. her childhood sweetheart has returned from the war in spain with a dead wife and a daughter. she lies to him and says she is engaged. quickly she has to find one, luckily she bumps into a man in ballroom, who might be as desperate if not more to find a spouse. they enter into an agreement and eventhough they have many opportunities to get themselves out of it they dont. the sparks fly as they get to know each other, dark secrets and all and they find the partnership they deserve and want. great story, great chemistry and i cant wait for the next one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can only repeat my review of other Mary Balogh books.
She has the ability to relate a gentle tales of romance.
One inevitably feels the need to keep turning the page to discover what happens next.
Her use of the English language and grammar is admirable.
Far too many other Romance writers and their editors fail to follow her example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last comes Love, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables) (Paperback)
A Great read ! It is always pleasant to have a family to read about. How they interact with each other. To see how their lives progress as time goes on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite an interesting read!!, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought 'At last comes love' without reading the rest of the series first and I think it works as a standalone perfectly well, at least I didn't think I'd missed anything important.
The book itself is actually very interesting, it deals with gender issues and how in reality a woman was the property of her husband. I won't say too much and give anything away but it was easy enough to work out the storyline. Although the bit at the end caught me out! The two main characters interacted together brillantly and there are few really funny exchanges between them, especially in the beginning. I also liked that Meg didn't find him handsome etc. at all and it really does come across as a marriage of convenience, although the whole thing sounds absurd (marriage in 14 days and all that) it was pretty believable for me :) Their relationship grows and its all rather sweet. I loved the Marquess of Claverbrook as well, his grouchiness made the book haha. Would recommend this as a nice light read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfyingly Fresh Romance, 21 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables) (Paperback)
Margaret Huxtable is on the wrong side of 30, having dedicated most of her marriageable years to the raising of her brother and sisters. But now, the man she once loved and gave herself to who promptly took off abroad and married another after she wouldn't desert her siblings is back and expecting Margaret to fall back into his arms. She has her pride and a lot of backbone after 10 years. Also, an impetuous tongue. And it is this that leads her into trouble, by declaring she has a betrothed. Now she must finally take up Allington's offer if she's not to look a complete fool.
Meanwhile, the disgraced and social pariah, Duncan Earl of Sheringford, has returned to London, anxious to secure his inheritance for the sake of an innocent young boy. But his grandfather decrees that he must find himself a wife - from a respectable background, mind - before his eightieth birthday in a few weeks' time, or else the inherited land will be given to his cousin.
Fate, or luck, make lady and lord collide in a ballroom, and from then on, Duncan is certain that in Margaret, he has found his salvation. She, however, is no insipid miss, and though she appreciates him saving her face with her former beau and the man she thought to marry, she will make him work for her hand, take the risk that she may refuse him at the end of two weeks if she feels she cannot take the ignominy of being linked with such a man, or live 'unhappily' ever after.
But neither one is prepared for the fact that in the other, they have found someone they can talk frankly to, be physically attracted to, perhaps even come to trust above all others. And yet, this is no love match. So will they ever find that happy-ever-after?

'At Last Comes Love' is a satisfying read, with good characters and conflict and a nice romantic ending, too. Though a little long-winded plotwise toward the end, I still enjoyed it overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Three, Huxtable Family series, 18 May 2009
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Duncan Pennethorne, the infamous Earl of Sheringford, left London five years ago after jilting his fiancé on their wedding day and running off with a married woman, Mrs. Laura Turner. Now Laura has been dead several months. Duncan plans to move into Woodpine Park in Warwickshire. Duncan has no doubts that his son, Toby, will love growing up there as much as he did. However, Duncan is cut off from his grandfather, the Marquess of Claverbrook, and Duncan returns to London to discover why. It seems Duncan has forgotten that he had promised he would wed before his grandfather's eightieth birthday. Unless Duncan weds a respectable lady within fifteen days, Woodpine Park would go to his cousin instead.

Margaret Huxtable is the sister of the young Earl of Merton. Margaret had only been a girl herself when their father died and she promised to take over the care of two younger sisters and one younger brother. Now the sisters have grown and are happily married. The brother has grown too and will soon be searching for a bride. Thirty-year-old Margaret has fulfilled her promise, but is now considered a spinster. While at the Tindell's ball, Margaret meets up with Crispen Dew, the man who had betrayed her and wed another. Now a widow, Crispen believes Margaret will jump at the chance to still wed him. Unfortunately for him, Fate steps in. Margaret collides with Duncan in the doorway, where he asks her to dance and to marry him - all in one sentence. A lie to Crispen has Margaret accept Duncan's offers for the dance and the proposal, on one condition: Duncan must woo her.

**** This is the third story of the Huxtable Family series. It is terrific to finally see the responsible sister get her own story told. (The brother's story will be next.) Over half the book deals with the fifteen days between Duncan and Margaret. The rest of the story is set at Woodpine Park, where a subplot that is read about in London takes off to become the main focus. This deals with the newly wed couple settling in and with Toby. I cannot say anything about that without major spoilers though. However, in my opinion, it is even more interesting than the time spent in London. The main characters from the previous titles of the series appear as secondary characters in this one, so if you have read those stories you will get to see how they are doing. This makes the story even more believable. I look forward to the brother's story! ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables)
At Last Comes Love: Number 3 in series (Huxtables) by Mary Balogh (Paperback - 3 Jun 2010)
7.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews