Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2006
I have been a fan of Liz Carlyle`s books for a while now and I`m glad to say that her latest series of books continues to reach high standards of plot and characters.
The handsome, but flawed, Quin Hewitt was the most interesting character in the last book, One little Sin, and I wasn`t quite sure how he could be redeemed in this book, where he is the hero!Liz Carlyle brings it off brilliantly, however, and you will want to keep turning the pages to see where the relationship with the Countessa will go.
The Countessa reminds me a little of another of her brilliantly written characters, Jonet,in A Woman Scorned, as they both have secrets they cannot reveal to the men they love.
The first two books do overlap, but you can enjoy this book on its own. If you are not familiar with this author please take the time to discover some of her earlier books. They are all favourites of mine and you can re-read them over and over.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
'Two Little Lies' is not your average frothy Regency romance; it's more of a gritty passion-fest, but it still manages to inject a bit of romantic pulling of heart strings for both hero and heroine whilst delivering a more grounded journey on the proverbial road to love.

The story starts with hero, spoilt Quin Hewitt, in the arms of his love, the slighter older, dazzling Italian opera sensation Viviana, whose proud heart is broken when she believes there's no respectable future for them.
Fast forward to ten years later, and the two meet again, but now hard knocks, unrequited love, a dangerous secret and a decade of lies stand between them. That, and the woman Quin has just got himself betrothed to.

But the dangerous, passionate spark between them has never died, and from their first setting eyes on each other again, they are irresistably thrown in each other's paths and the spark soon becomes a raging inferno that they must either put out once and for all, or else find another solution to this undeniable link before it and the secrets that binds them destroys them both...

Quin and Viviana's story is a good all-round hot romance. The only slight downside is the change of tone toward the end of the story, from hot and fiery to very, very schmaltzy! But overall, a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
This is the second in a new series by this author, whose earlier books (My False Heart, The Devil You Know, etc.)contained intricate plots and excellent characters that were repeated in subsequent novels. I felt that the first in this series, One Little Sin, was not up to her usual depth but Two Little Lies had me reading nonstop over Christmas weekend. No silly virgin story here, but two mature adults who meet each other years after having a steamy affair. The heroine is now a widow with children and lots of emotional baggage to sort-out. The hero is still besotted with her but is engaged to another. This author does an excellent job of allowing the couple to work through their issues (and yes, there is a BIG secret)realistically while dealing with dilemmas of the era (women had few legal rights and thus had more to lose). Emotions run deep in this story, and Ms. Carlyle does not use her trademark humor here, but it works beautifully. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
this is the second book in the maclachlan brothers and while quin is not a maclachlan by blood is definitely in spirit. anyway quin needs to find a wife which we know from the first book one little sin and the whole story of esmee and quin's engagement is retold in the first 90 pages of this book but from his point of view. a woman from his past comes back into his life and he has to make some hard decisions about hs life. great fiery relationship between quin and his countessa but sometimes wanted to just smack their heads together!!!!! cant wait for the next o0ne, three little secrets!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
This book is great. The characters and storyline are wonderful. Bit of tear jearker (so keep the tissues handy).
One does not need to read the first trilogy "One Little Sin", the story is in its own.
Not much humour like her previous books but great love scenes and you can identify with the characters.
Well worth the wait and buy. Can't wait to read Three Little Lies
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
A great story which I could not stop reading. Liz Carlyle is a great story teller and this is one of her best. Her characters come alive and you suffer their sadness and happiness because of her wonderful way of drawing you into their lives. I have only one book of hers left to read then I have to await her next production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Review taken from my Blog Post (#64) in January 2011, after borrowing the book from the local library:

Quin Hewitt has lead a rakish and devil may care existence since he was released on London as a callow youth. At the age of 20 he fell in love with an Opera Singer, Viviana Alessandri. He refused to marry her, and she went back to Italy to become the Contessa Bergonzi di Vicenza very shortly afterwards.

Eventually he succeeds to an earldom, and is under pressure to find a wife. So engages himself to Esme Hamilton, and a small family dinner is arranged to celebrate the happy event.

Meanwhile, Viviana returns to England with Quin's uncle (to work on an opera with her Father's long time friend and Uncle to Quin). She inadvertently accepts an invitation to a small family dinner, not putting two and two together.

Both come face to face, and one thing leads to another, with Quin and Vivie and found in a very compromising position across his desk by Esme. She rightly calls off the engagement and goes home.

Will the old resentments held by both of them be resolved, and will they find love. Will Quin find out the reason by Vivie's sudden departure back home to marry the Conte?

A thoroughly enjoyable 4 star read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
I have only recently discovered Liz Carlyle and am enjoying reading my way through her 'oeuvre'; just my luck that she is now retired from writing. She writes exceptionally well - although there are occasional typos in the kindle versions. I've loved everyone of the books in this engaging series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I loved this book. The story of Viviana and Quin is highly believable and it makes you feel that you are right there with them. I didn't think I would like these characters after the

first book but I really warmed to them. I hope the third book in the series is as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
I really enjoyed this book. I especially liked the epilogue it was very sweet. I think I prefer One Little Sin but this was still great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.