Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader from GRE
Liz Carlyle has done it again!Another winner.One little sin surprises you until the end!Just couldnt put it down.

Alasdair Maclachlan is a loveable scoundral who has never really had to take responsibility for his actions until he meets Esmee Hamilton the heroine.Young innocent Esmee with a lot of spunk and a Scottish temper is exactly what Alasdair needs to...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by Persephone

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I personally found this book to be boring. Same old same old,the heroine I found irritating. It had no real story but maybe another reader might enjoy it.
Published 15 months ago by Jangler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader from GRE, 4 Jun 2006
By 
Persephone (Athens/sydney) - See all my reviews
Liz Carlyle has done it again!Another winner.One little sin surprises you until the end!Just couldnt put it down.

Alasdair Maclachlan is a loveable scoundral who has never really had to take responsibility for his actions until he meets Esmee Hamilton the heroine.Young innocent Esmee with a lot of spunk and a Scottish temper is exactly what Alasdair needs to become a caring thoughtful individual.He takes on the resposibility of becoming guardian and father to baby Sorcha when Esmee turns up with her baby sister on his doorstep.

Intrigued? How is this possible?

To complicate matters he falls in love with Esmme passionately and yet for the first time in his life he executes control as he feels he must do the right thing by his "daughter" and Esmee herself-thus we see the progressive transformation of a man who was extremely selfish and debauched becoming sensitive ,conscious of others and responsible.

Esmee with all her innocence is extremely attracted to her mothers -ex lover and sister's "father" and just cant contol her passion for him. confused?

Dont be ,because Liz Carlyle handles such scandalous issues so well and we see the truth unfolding with such sensitivity and emotion from the progression of events and characters that its conclusion is most satisfying,the lovers are together Sorcha is not Alasdairs daughter and we are intrigued and curious about the other secondary characters-mean brother Merrick MacLachlan and his friend Quin Wynwood-who end up being the hero's of the remaining two stories in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sin to love this one, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: One Little Sin: Number 1 in series (MacLachlan Family) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post (#48) in December 2010, after borrowing the book from the local library.

This is the story of Merrick MacLachlan's elder brother, Sir Alasdair MacLachlan and Esmee Hamilton.

Upon her Mother's death Esmee is thrown out of her Step-Father's house along with her Sister, Sorcha. Sorcha is the product of a love affair that her Mother apparently had with Alasdair MacLachlan, who is a notorious rake and scoundrel.

Esmee journeys to London to track down the hapless Earl and insist that he stands up to his actions, and takes on Sorcha. Without any idea how to deal with children, he persuades Esmee to stay as well - despite the consequences on her reputation - to act as Sorcha's Governess.

The only family apart from Sorcha Esmee has is her Aunt who is away on an overseas trip, and despite writing many times there is no way of knowing how long she will be away.

Eventually the Aunt returns, and Sir Alasdair is astounded to find out that it is the formidable Lady Tatton.

Lady Tatton is horrified and scandalised that Esmee has been under the roof of an un-married man - especially one with the reputation that Alasdair has gained - and whisks off Eseme determined to hush up an scandal and find the girl a husband.

Fate however decides that Esmee and Alasdair should be together.

A fabulously enjoyable and spellbind story, which I had great difficulty to put down.

5 ***** Stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On and on with Liz Carlyle!!, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another winner for Liz Carlyle. Reading her books is such a pleasure as she never fails to deliver.

I won't go into the story as it has already been done but just believe that you will not be disappointed if you continue with the series. I have the next two books just waiting to be devoured.

Buy it, and them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 9 Jun 2013
I personally found this book to be boring. Same old same old,the heroine I found irritating. It had no real story but maybe another reader might enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another winner, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
esmee hamilton turns up on alasdair's doorstep with her sister sorcha in tow. believing him to be the baby's father she has travelled to london after being thrown out by her mother's husband. as in all good romance stories the sparks fly but many road blocks to their happiness. great read, great chemistry and some laughs also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Little Sin: Number 1 in series (MacLachlan Family)
One Little Sin: Number 1 in series (MacLachlan Family) by Liz Carlyle (Paperback - 2 Sep 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews