Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading
This book is really easy to read, not too scientific but very factual. It is a must for any parent with a child on the autism spectrum, but would also be useful for other family members, teachers, medical students etc. to get a much better understanding of how to improve the life of a child with autism. The book is divided into manageable sections enabling you to 'delve...
Published on 22 April 2011 by Jack's Mum

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TRULY AWFUL-IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THE FACTS ABOUT AUTISM, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!
This book is simply the worst book about autism ever written! If I could I would give this zero stars. As an adult with Asperger Syndrome and with two children with diagnosed Autistic Spectrum Disorders and as a professional working with adults with ASDs, I have some considerable experience in the field of autism. This book talks about tso many autism myths and presents...
Published on 26 July 2012 by Mr. D. P. Crisp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
This book is really easy to read, not too scientific but very factual. It is a must for any parent with a child on the autism spectrum, but would also be useful for other family members, teachers, medical students etc. to get a much better understanding of how to improve the life of a child with autism. The book is divided into manageable sections enabling you to 'delve in and out' as you wish. I could really relate to so much of what Polly had written and found the book to be both helpful and reassuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
I would recommend this book for any parent who has a child on the autistic spectrum.Jon and Polly Tommey have dedicated there life towards helping there son Billy and have had wonderful results, they have over the last few years used there expertise to help other children ( mine included) . The ratio of children on the autistic spectrum is 1:59 , and no doubt will increase , the government need to listen to people like Jon & Polly , they may even save some money!?!
The Autism File magazine is also a very useful read, there are many therapies and interventions that can help children with A.S.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
this is a very informative book, its taking me some time to read as some of it is very heavy reading and some medical background would be helpful! The personal story that goes with the book is lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any parent who has a child on the autistic spectrum or who is concerned about the possibility of having a child with autism. My son is 26 now and has been on a similar diet to those in the book since he was 7. It cured his chronic pain and bowel problems. There was no information years ago but now there is so much information to help autistic children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, pity about the description, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
I am still reading the book, which is easy to read - and gives a timely warning to parents of new born children. Beware of using excessive courses of antibiotics.......

My biggest gripe is the fact that only Hardback books were available - at an extra cost over paperback. I paid the extra, but what arrived - the paperback version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TRULY AWFUL-IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THE FACTS ABOUT AUTISM, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!, 26 July 2012
By 
Mr. D. P. Crisp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life (Paperback)
This book is simply the worst book about autism ever written! If I could I would give this zero stars. As an adult with Asperger Syndrome and with two children with diagnosed Autistic Spectrum Disorders and as a professional working with adults with ASDs, I have some considerable experience in the field of autism. This book talks about tso many autism myths and presents them as facts, that I find this book to be a very disturbing read! The fact that this book's "resources" section fails to include ANY respectable people in the fields of autism in its bibliography and omits to provide information on any major charity or research organisation from within the UK speaks volumes. There are no references within the book in any detail to the world's leading experts on autism such as Dr Lorna Wing, Dr Judith Gould, Dr Tony Atwood, Ula Frith, Gilberg, Hans Asperger, Kanner, Dr Temple Grandin,Prof Simon Baron-Cohen, Donna Williams etc. In contrast this book attempts to give respectability to the discredited Andrew Wakefield and his MMR and autism link and dubious programmes which claim to "cure" or improve the condition.
Very small section on the works of Carole Gray in her "social stories" work or any links to the work of Professor Gary Mesibov other than a passing reference to TEACCH and references to their literature are noticeably absent from the bibliography.
This book goes against the grain of the vast majority of literature on autism in seeking to justify an alternative and very unreliable series of approaches to autism care.
A truly dangerous and self gratifying piece of literature that will only raise false hopes for families and undermine all the good being done in autism care and research.
IF YOU WANT TO KNOW HOW TO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF A CHILD'S LIFE WITH AUTISM, DO NOT BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autism: A practical guide to improving your child's quality of life
12.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews