Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in Morgan Kingsley series
I've very much enjoyed the first two books in Jenna Black's Morgan Kingsley series and this book continues in just as enjoyable a manner. Although the overall story of Morgan's life doesn't particularly move on (she is in the same overall position, with regard to Lugh, when we finish the book as when we start it), some of the side characters have lives that change...
Published on 2 Feb. 2009 by Helen Hancox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from The Word Fiend
**Warning: As this is the third book in a series this review may contain spoilers for those who have not read the first two books.**

A lot of Urban Fantasy novels involve werewolves, vampires, demons and magic. I was intrigued when I picked up The Devil's Due to see an exorcist as the main character. It's something different in a genre I love, but even so I...
Published on 2 May 2011 by Shelagh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morgan Kingsley Book 3, 15 April 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist) (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Morgan Kingsley series so there may be spoilers for the first 2 books included in this review. If you are new to the series then I recommend you check out the reviews for book one, The Devil Inside, rather than reading any further.

When Morgan is asked by Claudia to investigate the circumstances surrounding her son Tommy's decision to become a demon host she soon realises something isn't right. All of the paperwork is in order but something is very strange when someone is a member of an anti-demon society and then within a matter of days they have become a demon host. If Morgan exorcises a legal demon she'll be looking at a murder charge but that doesn't stop her wanting to investigate further. What she isn't expecting is the trouble she finds herself in when she begins her investigation - once again she is going to need the help of her friends is she wants to solve the mystery.

I really enjoyed this third installment of the Morgan Kingsley series - in fact I think I'd have to say that this was my favorite book so far. The series really does seem to be coming into it's own with each new book and I'm looking forward to reading the next installment. I like the fact that Morgan is becoming less self obsessed and more concerned with others than she was before. She is still the snarky, bad tempered character that I've grown to love but we are starting to see a more caring side to her which gives her more depth. I'm also enjoying the series more now that the S&M side has been toned down but that is down to my personal preference.

I'm happy that we're getting to see more of Lugh's personality as he is one of my favorite characters in the series. I was also pleased that we get to know Adam better - I'm finding him much easier to relate to now. If you liked the first 2 books in the series then I'm sure you'll enjoy this installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in Morgan Kingsley series, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist) (Paperback)
I've very much enjoyed the first two books in Jenna Black's Morgan Kingsley series and this book continues in just as enjoyable a manner. Although the overall story of Morgan's life doesn't particularly move on (she is in the same overall position, with regard to Lugh, when we finish the book as when we start it), some of the side characters have lives that change significantly and, perhaps more enjoyably, we learn more about these other characters.

Jenna Black is an excellent writer in terms of keeping the reader's interest. She somehow makes the paranormal aspects of these stories feel very real and, well, 'normal' for the characters. In this book Morgan is continuing with her role of keeping her demon Lugh safe from his brother Dougal, trying to learn to live with him, working out her relationship with her boyfriend Brian (a rather dull and unappealing character) and dealing with the ambivalent feelings she has toward Adam Smith. However Morgan is also hired to look into the demon possession of a man who was known to be utterly against demons and the more she looks into events, the less adds up. Might the possession of Tommy have more significance than just a straight illegal demon possession?

There's mention in this story again of the BDSM club but far less graphic description than in the previous books which perhaps makes this a more comfortable read. Morgan's own brash nature is also perhaps toned down a little as she learns to consider others as well as herself. However she's still a very appealing character who seems to bumble her way through very complex situations, trying to do the best with the hand she's been dealt. Those who enjoyed the previous books will certainly like this one!

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Due Respect, 29 Nov. 2008
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Jenna Black's series following the exploits of exorcist, Morgan Kingsley, reaches its third instalment and, after a slight dip in form with the previous book (The Devil You Know), the author is back on the money here: `The Devil's Due' is the best book of the three so far published. Opening with very little preamble, the story kicks in rapidly as our heroine, the feisty Morgan Kingsley, meets a woman who is worried that her son is unwillingly hosting a demon.

For those unfamiliar with this series, these books are set in the present day. There are occasional references to current popular culture helping to cement the idea that the world inhabited by the characters is not too different to real life. The fantasy element has the intriguing notion that demons, incorporeal outside the Demon Realm, can possess human hosts. However those who inhabit unwilling hosts, or who break the law, may be subject to exorcism. But this procedure often proves fatal to the human host. Those possessed willingly are able to be healed quickly when ill or stricken with physical injury. The downside for these people is loss of privacy, freedom and physical control over their bodies - demons are far stronger than humans.

Morgan is an exorcist with a dangerous secret: she is unwillingly hosting the King of the Demon Realm, Lugh. Unlike most human hosts, Morgan is blessed with the ability to keep her demon suppressed while she is conscious. All the while she is aware that her cargo is a potentially fatal one; there are demons who would seek to destroy Lugh. His presence must therefore remain a closely guarded secret.

After Morgan's somewhat claustrophobic self-absorption that, in my opinion, hindered the previous novel in this series, things open out very nicely in this third instalment. Lugh is now getting more of a look-in, becoming a more interesting character. However, Morgan's embarrassment at the homo-erotic innuendos spouted by the slimy Adam (Director of Special Forces, the police department charged with handling demon-related crime - he bends the rules but gets results) take her sassiness quotient down a little. The copious amounts of irrelevant sexual content that beset the previous novels is largely absent here. Unfortunately, there seems to be no escape from Morgan's tedious on-off relationship with her ex-boyfriend, Brian.

This is a fast-paced fantasy thriller. The prose style is snappy and colourful and makes for an exciting read. I'm usually in favour of reading a series in the correct sequence, but, if you really wanted to read this novel prior to the first two, you could do so without spoiling things too much for yourself; the author keeps new readers up to speed with previous happenings without detracting from the present story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review from The Word Fiend, 2 May 2011
By 
Shelagh (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist) (Paperback)
**Warning: As this is the third book in a series this review may contain spoilers for those who have not read the first two books.**

A lot of Urban Fantasy novels involve werewolves, vampires, demons and magic. I was intrigued when I picked up The Devil's Due to see an exorcist as the main character. It's something different in a genre I love, but even so I have mixed feelings about The Devil's Due.

The cover design doesn't do much for me. It's rather subdued and not visually exciting. I do, however, like the flash of a tattoo just visible above the line of the model's dress. It suggests that there may be another side to this woman in black. The title itself is what actually caught my eye and made me pick up this book. I like the reference to a common saying involving the demonic in the title of a book about an exorcist.

The Devil's Due is the third book in the Morgan Kingsley Exorcist series. I haven't read either of the previous books, so this review will reflect my experience as a new reader in this world. Although Jenna Black references events that have happened in earlier books I didn't feel lost and my understanding of the events in the book was not affected. This isn't easy for an author to accomplish, but Black has pulled it off. The Urban Fantasy world that Black has created for this series is well-developed and she drops the reader straight into it. She has obviously put a lot of thought and time into her world and as a result it is both rich and absorbing. The story and characters benefit from having this setting to support them.

In Jenna Black's world demons can legally possess willing human hosts and many live easily among the general population. But if any of them break the laws governing their behaviour they are exorcised from this realm. This is Morgan Kingsley's job and she's one of the best. There's just the little problem of the demon, Lugh, currently sharing her body. Because Lugh isn't just any demon - he's the exiled demon king and there are many enemies in both realms who would love to find and kill him.

Morgan isn't a nice person. She's controlling, acerbic, stubborn and just plain rude. I think that if that's all there was to her that I would have given up on the book, even with its interesting world. But Black gives the reader glimpses into Morgan's softer side - often through her interactions with Lugh, the demon sharing her body. A lot of Morgan's hardness comes from her experiences in life and her need to protect herself. Knowing this makes her easier to understand and made me more patient with her. I hope that Black lets more of Morgan's softer side show through as the series develops because otherwise she runs the risk of Morgan alienating some readers.

The investigation and main plot of The Devil's Due were interesting, but did falter at times when Morgan had to stop and deal with her issues. I would have liked these moments of self-reflection and character growth to have been woven into the story as opposed to seeming separate from it. Also Morgan's squeamishness about bondage and submission sex play got a bit tiring after a while. Black is never graphic or tawdry in her descriptions and it adds to the relationship between two of the secondary characters - so Morgan's continued references and prudish behaviour irritated me.

The Devil's Due was something different for me in the Urban Fantasy genre. I enjoyed the world that Black has created, but Morgan could irritate some readers. I think that the Morgan Kingsley Exorcist series is worth having a look at and I'm keen to see where the story leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book 3, 7 Aug. 2009
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist) (Paperback)
Morgan Kingsley, exorcist, does not want much. She only wants to control her own life. To make her own decisions and worry about no one except herself. And maybe, just maybe, have a romantic relationship with someone. Until recently that someone was Brian. But it looks as though none of it is possible. Lugh, the king of demons, dwells within Morgan. This was not done willingly by Morgan or Lugh, but the two are learning to deal with each other. That is, until Brian helped Lugh kill her father. Morgan is prickly by nature, but now she is royally pissed!

Morgan must try to put all that aside for at least a little while. (Morgan is an expert at procrastination.) Right now she needs to investigate the bizarre possession of twenty-one-year-old Tommy, the son of a wealthy Philadelphia couple. It becomes obvious that Tommy had been singled out by demons by age three, but managed to disappear from the demonic radar while in foster care. Morgan's investigation, with the help of an ally or two, soon proves that things are worse than anyone could have possibly imagined. The bad demons are trying to breed the perfect human hosts - and they are succeeding.

**** This is the third in the series, but not the last. A secondary character is introduced, a reporter, who is not all she seems to be. Her role is minor and I am sure she will turn up again in the next installment or two. This time around there is not as much danger but two things are accomplished. First there is the investigation of Tommy and the breeding project. Second is that Lugh has decided to form his new circle of advisors.

The author did an excellent job of refreshing readers' memories within the first few pages (or getting new readers up to date). Very smoothly done. None of it sounds forced, stiff, or boring. If you have not read the first two books, I highly suggest you do so. This series is best read in order. The backgrounds of the main characters are developed a bit more in this story. The secondary characters have important roles too and all of it will continue in the next installment. All-in-all, this is a pretty good adventure, giving new twists for readers to discover and solidifying the foundation even more for future books. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Due, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little boring sometimes but Rapheal is funny, Saul returns, Morgan visits the Seven Deadlies again to see Shae and they meet new characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist)
The Devil's Due: Number 3 in series (Morgan Kingsley Exorcist) by Jenna Black (Paperback - 15 Jan. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews