Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars improvement on previous efforts
betsy is getting married and is turned into bridezilla, things get a bit strange when everybody in her life starts diappearing. so planning a wedding, caring for her baby brother who she is legal guardian for and searching for her fiance sinclair she is very busy. been a while since i have read the previous books so took a while to reaquaint myself with the back story...
Published on 23 April 2008 by Lindymck

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short and a little sweet !!
In my opinion this book was least enjoyable of the Undead series.

I love the Undead series and couldnt wait for its arrival. When i finally got it from Amazon there seemed to be very few words to a page and they were in very large print.
I think MJ didnt put enough effort into this book like she did to the others that were released when Undead and Uneasy...
Published on 27 July 2007 by Mrs. Jennifer Daniels


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars improvement on previous efforts, 23 April 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undead and Uneasy (Paperback)
betsy is getting married and is turned into bridezilla, things get a bit strange when everybody in her life starts diappearing. so planning a wedding, caring for her baby brother who she is legal guardian for and searching for her fiance sinclair she is very busy. been a while since i have read the previous books so took a while to reaquaint myself with the back story etc.

felt the reviews were a bit harsh as i though it was a great story as i didnt really figure the ending out at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite, 17 Jan 2009
By 
Zee (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead and Uneasy (Paperback)
I disagree with the last review. This one is my favourite of the series so far becuase for the first time you see Betsy really step up to being Queen.

In this book, she has no one else to turn to to fight her battles for her. She's not nearly as annoying as she has been in other books. She fights the bad guy by herself and defeats it without the help of Sinclair or Laura or anyone else.

I think this book was superbly written and was a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short and a little sweet !!, 27 July 2007
By 
Mrs. Jennifer Daniels "Seismile" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead and Uneasy (Paperback)
In my opinion this book was least enjoyable of the Undead series.

I love the Undead series and couldnt wait for its arrival. When i finally got it from Amazon there seemed to be very few words to a page and they were in very large print.
I think MJ didnt put enough effort into this book like she did to the others that were released when Undead and Uneasy was published. I am currenty reading the latest Jennifer Scales book (which was released around the same time) and it is a very in-depth and entertaining book. It is the length i would expect it to be, unlike Undaead and Uneasy which is very short and has no depth to it.

I just feel i was waiting to get into the story and it ended before i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 27 Dec 2009
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
This Betsy book is a big improvement on the previous two (which I still enjoyed!) because for one thing, it's a bit longer. 272 pages feels a bit more like a book than a short story which is what the last two felt like.

The storyline is meatier. Betsy finds herself suddenly alone- Sinclair has gone off in a mood about all the wedding preparations, Tina's in Europe placating the older vampires, Jess is sick, Marc, Garret and Antonia are nowhere to be found. Add to that a family tragedy and some angry werewolves and Betsy starts to wonder if all this is more than just a coincidence.

I enjoyed the book and I'm looking forward to the next one. I hope it will be longer again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another by MJD, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Ross P. Gidman "Vampire fiction fan" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
Betsy has to become a little more savvy in this book. People are dying, disappearing, and arguing with her, and she doesn't know why.

Finding out why these events are occurring, and who is behind them, takes ALL of Betsys' ingenuity, (she doesn't have much), and the denouement exposes a character seen before, but in a more pleasant mode. How Betsy deals with the problem show why she's the real deal as the Queen.

Lightweight, about a three hour read, and leaves some unanswered questions, (as all books should). Too short, that's why no 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Betsy Six: Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sex in the City, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
This is the sixth instalment in the "Queen Betsy" comedy series which combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller, and this book pulls together and concludes the storylines in the first part of the series. The author writes in a "letter to my readers" which serves as a foreword to "Undead and Uneasy" that "Everything in the Undead universe has been leading up to this book."

The first book in this series, "Undead and Unwed," told in the first person by Elizabeth Taylor who prefers to be known as Betsy, began with the words "The day I died started out bad and got worse in a hurry." That was the heroine's disastrous thirtieth birthday. It was a surprise when after being killed she woke up again in the morgue as a most unusual vampire. It was an even bigger surprise when through the strange series of events narrated in this book, she became Queen of the Vampires.

But becoming a Vampire Queen has not affected Betsy's interests or her attitudes: she can (and does) listen to or even repeat herself the Lord's prayer without being harmed, visit churches and touch a crucifix or holy water and not be harmed. And Betsy most certainly has not gone over to the side of evil, though she still has a great weakness for designer clothes in general and designer shoes in particular ...

Over the first five books of the series Betsy has gradually built up a support network of friends both human and supernatural, come to terms with her powers, and survived a number of challenges from mortals and rival vampires alike. But in this sixth book that support network falls away and she has to face her biggest challenge on her own ...

(BTW, that isn't a spoiler, because Mary Janice Davidson gives this information in the "letter to readers" at the start of the book.)

As with the first five books, this contains lots of supernatural plotting, parodies of vampire thriller stories, and ridiculous situations, particularly the incongruities caused by the combination of two rather different genres. The wacky sense of humour and new twists in the incongruous way the story mixes up "Sex in the City" with "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" is often amusing. However, the tone of this one is a little darker.

The first six books of the series form a consistent and reasonably complete story. The seventh, "Undead and Unworthy," kicked off what Mary Janice Davidson calls a new "story arc."

Here is a list of the Queen Betsy stories to date (December 2013). The original six part comic series comprises:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) This book, "Undead and Uneasy"

There is a "Queen Betsy" novella, set at about the same time as book six, in Davidson's collection "Dead Over Heels," one of the three paranormal romance stories in that volume, and another in the similar collection "Undead and Underwater."

Then there is the follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels". This consists to date of

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)".
10) "Undead and Undermined"
11) "Undead and Unstable"
12) "Undead and Unsure"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there.

Most of the "Queen Betsy" books are told in the first person by Betsy Taylor/Sinclair. Her style of narration is very "sex in the city" which may grate slightly on some readers, but I soon managed to get used to it. Mary Davidson has great fun by mixing up the vampire genre as in "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or Laurell Hamilton's "Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter" series and Chick-Lit romantic comedy as in "Sex and the City." This series is way over the top, fairly sexy, and often very funny.

An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this book gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza wrote two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("Mclendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes this book is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed any of those books you will probably like this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature, and it is fairly raunchy, so not suitable for children. However, if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is good fun. If you enjoyed the rest of the series, and can face staying with it after the kick in the teeth at the end of "Undead and Unfinished," you will probably like "Undead and Uneasy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another to add in my collection, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
Superficial and supernatural, hilarious chick lit novel. Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's book in the 'Undead' series. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel.

Betsy is a former model and is still a fashion fanatic. At the start of the series, on the morning of her disastrous 30th birthday, she is working as a secretary. Her main interests are designer shoes, designer clothes, and her cat. In quick succession she gets fired, loses her cat, and is killed in a car accident. It is a great surprise to her when she rises again as a most unusual vampire. It is even more of a surprise when, through a sequence of bizarre events, she becomes queen of the vampires.

Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind interfere with her life, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.

Still laugh-out-loud funny. I raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.

For those who are not aware of the series, here the list of Queen Betsy stories I read to date:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"
7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)"
9) "Undead and Unfinished"
10) "Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there. Know there are more recent book but have not read them yet.

It is not a great literature and it does not pretend to be (I think that was clearly established from the first book) so I find the negative reviews a bit petulant to be honest, you can't start moaning about short chapters, bad writing and unlike-able characters after 9 books into a 10 book series.

If you want an easy read novel a decent story and have some laugh then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book in the series, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead and Uneasy (Kindle Edition)
I love these books, ever since I came across them!

So pleased with the flow of the story and loved the surprising end :)

Fabulous writing all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars undead and uneasy, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Riley "jackie riley keenreader" (s yorks england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
these books are a little funny a little sad and again about vampires. if you can imagine a shoe fanatic shopaholic and a vampire all rolled into one thats a good start.they are just a couple of hours of pleasure am now waiting for a new one coming out. worth trying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
Poor Betsy. She's planning her wedding and all her friends and fiance desert her. Where have they gone?? Her best friend is sick in hospital and being supported by a cop, you met in book one who Betsy had one date with. As she wakes up this morning after a fight with Sinclair and can't find anyone, she's a bit miffed. So find she can cope without them and do the one million things for this wedding. But as the days pass and Betsy doesn't here from Sinclair and his right hand woman is not in US to help her find him, but in Europe of on other business, however she keeps in contact with Betsy whenever her mobile has a signal. Betsy begins to worry. Where is Eric? You do realise Eric would not willing leave Betsy so something bad must have happened....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy)
Undead And Uneasy: Number 6 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) by MaryJanice Davidson (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
£6.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews