Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Seris, 2 Mar 2007
I have thoroughly enjoyed this seris of books by Christine Feehan. With Ken's story is one of my favorites so far, it gives you an insigth into how people feel when faced with killing people for a living and the emotional backlash that get tortured holds. It's nice to see Christine showing that even the big tough men sometimes get hurt and they can't always be stoicly heroic about the experience. The way she portrayed the depth of pain and insecurity Ken felt was fantastic and the explosive relationship between him and Mari kept me up late finishing the book.

Overall a fantastic view into the life of another GhostWalker, although i will say at points in the book i felt as though i had missed a book somewhere as things that had happened had not been explained in previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECOND TWINS, 20 Mar 2007
By 
First, I read the book about Jack and Briony, and I loved it. There, Crhistine pictured Ken and Marigold (the second twins), and I was waiting anxiously for the sequel. This is it, and I like even better than the first one.

Even thou Ken and Jack face a similar childhood and some of their inner demons, Briony and Mari are different. One was raised by a family and the other by a megalomanic Psychic doctor. One knew the outside world and the other only the military compound where she was raised (she only leaved it to go on missions).

It is a funny book, pleanty of action and with some of the other Ghostwalkers in it. It seems like a huge conspiracy (like the first one) but you understand better was going on among the different groups. Are they with the bad guys or not???. It is a question that keeps rising while you read the book.

Ken is a tormented character but no more than Jack. The guys always feel, like in all Christina's plots, like their lovers are the most precious things on earth. It is funny.

I should said that I intended to work this week-end but I could not put the book down until I read it. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deadly Game, 1 Mar 2007
By 
Fans will know this is Ken Norton's story, the disfigured twin of Super hottie Jack Norton and it does live up to the eagally awaited hype. The action is absolutely well written,non stop and breathtaking, we get to see Dr.Witney's other secret base and see what life is like for those on the inside of it. Unfortunately I just can't love Ken or Mari in the same way I do Jack and Briony. They just seem "less" as people, and I'm trying to understand them as characters. Ken is a very tortured individual but the reasons are more about what's in his own head than on his skin. This is one of the reasons that I find him less likeable than Jack. Jack,despite his feelings, walked away from Briony but then threw himself wholeheartedly into making things right, He wasn't afraid to be who he thought he was, and try and change what he didn't like. Ken tries his hardest not to hook up with Mari in the first place.
Marigold has very perceived ideas about what a "wife" is and because she hasn't spent time in a home cooking and putting flowers in vases believes that she's not a proper woman and can't ever be anything other than the soldier she's been raised as. This prompts her to run away from Ken and the Sister she's fantasised about for years, rather than face a future that that's a million times better than the one she expected to have.
Jack and Briony's relationship whilst fraught with problems seems far more real and you could see how much they really cared deep down and were determined to make their future work. I just didn't get that sense from Ken and Mari.
That said it's an exciting action story with some very heart wrenching emotional parts too, I'm certainly not disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GhostWalkers book 5, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) (Paperback)
Ken and his twin brother Jack are on a mission to protect a politician when they come under attack from what is clearly another group of GhostWalkers. Determined to carry out their job Ken shoots the sniper from the other team but is surprised to find he didn't make a successful kill. When they discover the sniper is Mari (the twin sister of Jack's wife Briony) they capture her and take them with her. While Ken and Jack try to discover if Mari is working for the enemy Mari is desperately trying to escape to get back to the compound she was raised in and protect the rest of her team.

Deadly Game is the 5th book in the GhostWalker series and I would strongly recommend reading the series in order to get the full enjoyment of the back story of the GhostWalkers. I'm really enjoying this series and I would highly recommend it to paranormal romance fans - especially if you like an action packed story full of conspiracy theories.

I have loved each of the GhostWalkers in the series and have been looking forward to reading Ken's story since I learnt more about him in Conspiracy Game (the book about his twin Jack). Jack had become my favorite hero of the series and I wasn't expecting to like Ken even more but I just couldn't resist him. We already know from previous books that Ken was badly tortured when he was captured in the Congo and he is still suffering from severe physical and emotional scarring. Although he has always been known as the most friendly of the twins things are very different underneath the surface, Ken may put on a good front but that's all it is. He struggles against the same demons as Jack and this has only become worse since he was captured.

Mari has had a very different upbringing from her sister Briony. She was raised in a compound along with other GhostWalkers and only allowed to leave when she was on a mission. Things have become a lot harder for her and the others she was brought up with recently but I can't say any more about why without giving spoilers. I really liked the strength and loyalty we see from Mari, she cares so much about her sister and the people she was raised with and has suffered a great deal to try and keep them safe. Although she has strong feelings for Ken she is scared to act on them because of the circumstances. The heat between them is fantastic though and I loved watching the two of them together.

If you've read other books in the series you'll be expecting a fast paced story line and Deadly Game won't disappoint. It is somewhat darker than the previous books and does include some quite detailed descriptions of the torture that Ken suffered but I felt that this was needed to show how Ken ended up in the place he's at now emotionally. I enjoyed getting to see Jack and Briony again and we also get to see a little of the other GhostWalkers which is one of the things I enjoy most about an ongoing series. Things are really hotting up when it comes to the ongoing plot with the GhostWalkers trying to uncover what Dr Whitney has been up to and I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next.

If you're new to this series then I'd highly recommend you give it a try but make sure you start with book 1 Shadow Game. If you're already reading the series and you enjoyed Jack's book then I'm sure you're going to love Ken just as much if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action and romance all in one with the addition of danger. Brilliant series of books, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. S. J. Hodgson (N Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing straight forward in the book. Plenty of different emotions showing some of the darker side of life which is not just fiction, but heart warming at the same time. Would recommend to those that require a deeper action packed romance to the likes of Mills and Boon or Danielle Steele
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) (Paperback)
A good read but not the best book in the series, however Christine Feehan makes her world of super soldiers come alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my review, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) (Paperback)
yet again another great book from Christine feehan that deserves the 5 star rating and again I couldn't put the book down till I had finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, poignant and well written, 4 May 2013
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) (Paperback)
Christine Feehan's Ghostwalkers are an elite group of men and women, psychically enhanced by the maleficent Dr. Whitney. 4 teams of specially trained soldiers, who are fiercely protective of those they love and the men and women who cover their backs. Deadly Game is the 5th installment in the Ghostwalker series by Christine Feehan.

Ken Norton, a gifted sniper, with powers equaled only by his twin Jack, returns from a tortuous rescue mission in the Congo, to realize, not only his physical appearance has change. While on assignment to protect the senator who turned tail and ran in the Congo, Ken finds Mari, another enhanced soldier, who was also sent to guard the nefarious politician. Thinking Mari was a trained assassin, aiming her sights on the senator, Ken takes down Mari, in the first step on their trek of betrayal and love.

Ken soon realizes that Mari is the woman who has been paired with him through hormone recognition and attraction, but refuses to accept that there is any woman capable of loving a man, so brutally tortured and maimed. His all-consuming attraction to and need for Mari, only reinforces what Ken already believes-that he is more like his abusive and sadistic father than anyone could know. His sexual aggression towards the woman, who would be his mate, is anything but normal for a man once known to make a woman weak in the knees.

Marigold Smith is determined to return to the compound where she and several other enhanced women have been raised and trained as soldiers, but Ken will never let her go. On a rescue mission of hope, Mari is captured and returned to the isolated compound where her `sisters' in life, must suffer through the indignities and abuse by the men who claim to be their protectors. But a humiliating physical exam for Mari and a fight to the death between Shaun and Brett, for the `rights' to impregnate his mate, shake Ken's resolve. He is falling in the love with the woman created especially for him.

Deadly Game is filled with passion and sorrow. The story brought me to tears, when Ken believed Mari chose the sister's with whom she was raised over the life he was offering. But love does conquer all, when Mari returns to start a new life of love with the man who was made ...especially for her.

Christine has researched the background information required to detail the military lifestyle and adventures of the men and women who battle along side those who fight for freedom. The Ghostwalker's series is a salute to the rescue missions and lives saved from the rebels and dictators, whose only goal is domination over others. Deadly Game and its' hero Ken Norton, is a departure from the normal HEA. The torture and abuses suffered by Ken, by both his father and an evil dictator, left me feeling anxious and mourning for a character so maimed, that I wanted to wrap myself in a blanket and cry. I was emotionally drawn into the storyline and experienced all the sorrow and anger. And to me, that is a sign of a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderfully written, really enjoyed reading this book.

So glad there was the flow to the story that you always come to expect with a good writer :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) (Paperback)
as always christine feehan kept me reading far into the early hours i could not put it down and will probably read it again soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel)
Deadly Game: Number 5 in series (Ghostwalker Novel) by Christine Feehan (Paperback - 3 April 2008)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews