Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherrilyn is back on top form - a must have to the collection!
A Reader - I applaud your review, it's very informative and I cannot really add much to it, except that as an avid fan of this series, this book was truly needed as I found the Dream Hunter and Dark Side of the Moon lacking in some aspects, and as a fan of Acheron, this book finally answers some serious questions!

I have always been fond of Katra, and was...
Published on 19 Aug 2007 by Kelly 'Perusing Princesses' Blog

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twelfth book in the Dark Hunter series - one for longtime fans only
Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series of books has been extremely successful and has now stretched to this, the twelfth instalment. However for me this wasn't a very satisfying story taken on its own and is probably one for long-time fans of the series rather than new readers.

The Dark Hunter series brings together various ancient gods (Greek gods and, in this...
Published on 18 Aug 2007 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fill my life with Sin..., 4 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that this book was....there are hardly words for how brilliant I believed this book was. I disagree with the previous review which says it's only for longtime fans - anyone who loves a strong yet sweet hero who still is rough, and an empowered, humourous female will LOVE this book. The characters have great chemistry and wonderful personalities which mesh well together. The secondary characters are ones Kenyon fans have seen before and are brilliant as they always are.

I am a longtime Kenyon fan, and did buy this book out of having read and loved all of her previous work. But when I started it I was instantly hooked, in fact burning the midnight oil nigh until 2 in the morning!

The reader will automatically side with Sin when reading of his past and will in turn shiver at his sensuality and laugh at his dry humour. Sin is a great hero - I have to say it again!

Katra, Kat, is a great heroine, one for the millenium. She has refreshing views about most everything, knows how to kick butt, when to make a moment light and knows how to bring a man to his knees - and not in a dirty way! Although come to think of it... ;)

This love story is created as only Kenyon can create and is fabulously funny, wickedly sensual and heartbreakingly wonderful. Read it and you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SK is back on top form with this book, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sin may be on the Dark-Hunter payroll but he certainly isn't part of the DH brotherhood. An ancient Sumerian God of fertility and the moon, his powers were drained and absorbed by everyone's favourite Goddess Artemis 3000 years ago and he has since spent countless centuries plotting his revenge against her.

Katra Agrotera, handmaiden to Artemis, has been "asked" by the goddess to kill Sin after he steals an artefact capable of draining a God's powers. Tracking him to Las Vegas, Kat is left disgusted when she finds him chopping off heads and burning bodies; unaware he battles the previously unheard of Gallu demons. Sin in turn believes Kat to be none other than Artemis herself and so knocks her unconscious and restrains her; determined to force her to return his powers as without them he stands little chance of averting an imminent Armageddon.

I did have reservations concerning this book after receiving its early previews and discovering Sin would be matched to Kat; an immortal who has appeared in several earlier DH books. I always assumed she would end up with the wonderful Acheron; however SK certainly clears up my completely incorrect interpretation of their relationship as well as expanding on those between Kat and Artemis and also the Destroyer herself; Apollymi. The new setting of Las Vegas is definitely Sin's City as he takes on new enemies the Gallu demons (very much like vampires who can infect humans with a single bite) and battles to avert the impending release of the seven demon sisters; the Dimme. It appears even the Pantheons will not survive let alone humankind if they break free of their eternal prison.

"Devil May Cry" is definitely on par with earlier books in this series such as "Night Embrace", "Seize the Night" and "Dance with the Devil". The dialogue is witty and the plot line incredibly fast paced; moving from one battle to another, with brief but passionate bedroom stops as Kat and Sin's relationship deepens. We are also introduced to further great characters including Xypher (a resurrected Skoti demon,) a fellow Skotos Kytara (a friend of Kats), Damien, (Sin's Apollite casino manager) and Khish (a somewhat immortal human). I now eagerly await the release of "Upon on Midnight Clear" (due for pub. Oct 07); a book to feature the first Dream Hunter heroine, and there will be two further DH novels released in 2008. The first is the story of Xypher, a Skoti demon who reminded me heavily of Zarek (before he met Astrid) and the second will be Acheron's story (finally!). I'm now going to have to reread (again) the previous DH books as SK introduces Acheron's destined match in one of them. Now who could she be......?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Dark Hunter Fans, 3 Sep 2007
By 
Sandra E. Johnson "lainy68" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great read, for all DK fans you will enjoy. All reviews for this book are spot on. But a word to the wise DO NOT read the review posted on 31st Aug, it gives the whole plot away and all the surprise`s instore!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars typical kenyon, 18 July 2008
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Dark-Hunter World) (Paperback)
as with the other gazillion books Kenyon has churned out in the last 5 years, this book has the brooding, tormented super-guy, and the "ordinary" passive doormat female. Sarcastic lines are given to the female in order to try and hide her complete wet-blanket dishrag personality.
As with all of Kenyon's other books, the book ends after the man reveals his tragic past, unleashes his warm, compassionate nature, the woman has cried for no reason whatsover,whatever bad guy that has been featured has had his come-uppance, and the scene has been set up for the next identical book in the series.

However, maybe I'm being too harsh. There are some differences to be found from book to book. The hero gets progressively taller, (as does the female for that matter,) and the range of powers the hero and villain get are expanding rapidly, to the point where Kenyon appears to be struggling finding even more powers for her next hero to have.

I liked Kenyon's first six/seven books in the dark-hunter/dreamer world, and i gave this two stars as it was better than her last, and the heroine didn't make me want to slap her like the others have. However, its just getting sily, how similar and forumlaic all these books are. This is the last one i plan on reading, and i was only reading it for the vague hope that Kenyon had decided to break the mould, massacre most of her useless characters, and shock us with a plot twist that we hadn't sussed out from the synopsis.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twelfth book in the Dark Hunter series - one for longtime fans only, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series of books has been extremely successful and has now stretched to this, the twelfth instalment. However for me this wasn't a very satisfying story taken on its own and is probably one for long-time fans of the series rather than new readers.

The Dark Hunter series brings together various ancient gods (Greek gods and, in this story, the gods of ancient Sumer too) who fight amongst themselves. There are also various demon and other creatures that cause mayhem and the Dark Hunters' role is to protect humanity.

This story focuses far more on the supernatural element. We meet Sin, one of the ancient Sumerian gods, who has been carrying out a one-man mission to prevent global annihilation for thousands of years. He holds a huge grudge against the goddess Artemis who stripped him of his powers. However when Artemis sends her daughter, Katra, to kill Sin she discovers the work that he is doing to save humanity and joins him in it. Of course Sin isn't aware of who she is initially and even when he finds out she's the daughter of Artemis there are more secrets that she holds from him, things that he might not be able to handle.

There are a lot of secrets in this story. The secret of Kat's existence, unknown to her father Acheron, is one; there are many other things revealed as the book progresses but the most notable thing about this book is the enormous cast of characters and different gods, demons, races. For someone who hasn't read all the other stories there was far too much going on in this story and the backstory was lamentably thin. As the story continued there were more and more supernatural beings added to the mix with their apparently limitless powers and it became extremely difficult to follow the underlying story, that of Kat and Sin. Our hero and heroine were slightly disappointing in that their characters didn't really develop beyond an attraction to each other and I didn't feel particularly sympathetic to them.

Of course when the big secret is unveiled, the one that could separate them forever... it was rather a damp squib. Their mission to save the world is important but they seemed to get sidetracked periodically - including by the bedroom - and the momentum of the plot was rather jerky. Fight scenes are over quickly, people are able to flash from place to place instantly and the gods powers seem to always encompass just what they need to get out of a particular situation. Overall this was a very disappointing book and the cast list was far too wide for someone who hasn't kept up with the series to understand what's going on.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, [...] Helen Hancox 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than her last two books..., 8 Aug 2007
By 
K. Ross "kliross" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Dream Hunter and The Dark Side of the Moon!!

After Sherrilyn Kenyon's last couple of books I thought that this one would be more of the same but I was pleasantly surprised.

But I think Katra and Sin's relationship took a backseat to her and Ash's which is finally explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Deborah Barnett (liverpool uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a fantastic book from start to end. The relationship between Sin and Katra sizzled. I also enjoyed her relationship with her mother Artemis (and we definitely see a different side to her but unfortunately after what is revealed about her and archeron,s relationship i could never like her).Katra was a great character that i liked from previous books so i enjoyed getting to know her. As previously said in other reviews it was a relief to actually find out about ash,s past and an eyepopper to find out Katra was his daughter.

It was a brilliant book that i couldn,t put down and introduced some new characters which i hope means more darkhunters. I think this is my favourite so far but to be honeat as soon as i finish each one i say that, i just think Sherrilyn Kennyon has that ability that makes you connect with her characters and not want to end the story as she drags you into their world completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb04eefe8)

This product

Devil May Cry (Dark-Hunter World)
Devil May Cry (Dark-Hunter World) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Paperback - 3 April 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews