Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I *LOVED* this book!
Nora Roberts is a legend of trilogies, and BLOOD BROTHERS is the start of another winning romantic paranormal trilogy. Cal, Fox, and Gage were only ten when they unleashed the demonic power trapped beneath the Pagan Stone. Every seven years, for seven days, a horrible and deadly power is unleashed in Hawkins Hollow. People commit horrible acts, and then can't remember...
Published on 15 Dec. 2007 by J. Waltrip

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not one of her better efforts
I found this book very formulaic, obviously a scene setter for the two books to come, and as such it was interesting and I wanted to discover more about the characters depicted.However, I found the ending such an anticlimax it was disappointing- the main characters go into the the woods to the Pagan Stone and precious little happens- certainly not on a par with the...
Published on 23 Mar. 2008 by Reading junkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I *LOVED* this book!, 15 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
Nora Roberts is a legend of trilogies, and BLOOD BROTHERS is the start of another winning romantic paranormal trilogy. Cal, Fox, and Gage were only ten when they unleashed the demonic power trapped beneath the Pagan Stone. Every seven years, for seven days, a horrible and deadly power is unleashed in Hawkins Hollow. People commit horrible acts, and then can't remember doing any of it.

For these three men, it's been twenty-one years since whatever entity resided in that glade was let loose. Now, it's up to them to stop it before it's too late. When Quinn comes to town, looking to research these strange events and turn them into a book, her presence seems to make the power of the three men even stronger -- but it also makes the "entity" stronger, as well. When Layla and Cybil are also drawn to Hawkins Hollow, the three men and three women band together to stop the horror that grips this town every seven years.

As I said, I really loved this book, and I can't wait for the next two books in the series. This is another winner!!! I would also like to recommend reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates--if you haven't yet...that is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts' return to form., 1 Jan. 2008
By 
jazzy pom "jazzypom" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
I can see why even Stephen King is in awe of Nora Roberts (he said so), and why he thinks she's 'cool'. Also, why she's named in Time magazine's top 100 people of 2007. When Ms. Roberts is on her A game, she is on, and the book is a return to form.

Three friends, brothers of the heart, decide to go camping at the Pagan Stone (which is expressly forbidden) to celebrate the night of them turning 10. Due to an innocent bonding ceremony, they unwittingly unleash a demon onto their town, and every seven years for seven days, evil possesses the town's residents, only to slumber for another seven years.

In the year that we meet these men, they are on the cusp of their 31st birthday, there is the notion of the quickening, the evil is coming thick and fast now, and Cal, Fox and Gage have to unite with their respective partners, and residual powers to turn the evil away. Cal is the first of the friends to go to bat, and the book is a doozy as a result.

It's similar to The Sister's Trilogy, where events of the past have warred with evil, but weren't strong enough to banish it, only to bound it. Unlike The Sister's Trilogy, the stakes in The Seven Trilogy are set that much higher, the evil is much more malevolent, and the atmosphere so very menacing. The characters seem to be that much sharper, and a bit more individual, with their little quirks that seem cute and real, like Cal and his boy scout compass.

The Blood Brothers is a good start to The Trilogy, very much in terms of atmosphere, with blood and death, and we meet all the main players in quick succession. It's book to be highly recommended, and a really quick read.

I can't wait for the third, when its Gage's time at bat. Fox (the star of the second), seems cool, but Gage has some issues with his dad, and I can't wait to see the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book and the trilogy, 4 May 2013
By 
J. Hodgkiss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
This book and the whole trilogy are among the better NR novels in my opinion.
The town is possessed every 7 years and a writer of ghost/spooky stories rolls in to town to do an expo. There is mild horror, romance and a nicely drawn small town community, flashbacks to the past and a nasty demon woven into the story. I found them very readable and had to sit up to finish each one!

My niggles are
1) the completely predictable 3 women + 3 men = 3 couples set up. In real life I think all 3 blokes would have tried to hit on the stacked blonde. (But who wants real life?)
2) The way she spells magic as magick. OK a small thing, but it bugs me. She still spells music, mystic and others without problems, so why do we need the cod-14th century spelling for magic, fairy, demon etc?

Apart from that, I recommend this book, and the whole trilogy. I though it was far better than the Morrigan and Keys trilogies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's A Whole Lot Of Hell Going On, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
This is a kid’s book for adults and I don’t mean that in a derogatory way – I thoroughly enjoyed it for just that reason. It has horror and adventure and some good, strong characters. It is Stephen King Lite, if you like. There is just enough horror and creeps, but not the full-blown stomach churning horrible detail.

The demon in this particular case is creepy; any demon appearing as a red-eyed child will give you the creeps, especially when it tries to bury your dog in snow. As for the scene in the gym: unseen monsters in the pitch dark get my vote for the frighteners every time.

Central to this first book of a trilogy are Cal, Gage and Fox, three boys who unwittingly release the demon from its three hundred year captivity. It turns out they are related to its gaoler, so it is their job to put it back where it came from – for good.

As the story progresses three women turn up who might just happen to be related to the demon itself. This is not as straightforward as you may think. Quinn, Layla and Cybil are a feisty bunch and not what you might expect of demon spawn.

This tale is especially Cal and Quinn’s so there are a few romantic shenanigans there, as you might expect.

Nora Roberts gives the story the usual daytime TV feel which works so well, enabling the reader to settle in comfortably to what they know will be a good story, well-told.

I’ve got the other two books lined up ready to read, not all at once (too much of a horror glut), but spaced out between other reads like good sequels should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
Penny Harvey "penhar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
Well I absolutely loved this book, it had me hooked from page one and I did not want it to finish!!

Nora Roberts was on form here and now we have to wait until about April for book 2 - no fair!!

Set in Hawkins Hollow it's the story of an 'evil' released by three boys cal, gage and fox on their 10th birthday. Every seven years there are a few weeks when the small town goes 'mad' and murder and meyhem happen. Cal, Gage and Fox are now men and know its related to what happened on their birthday, the feelings and happenings are earlier and stronger this year and they all feel the time has come for a fight to the death between good and evil.

Quinn is the main female introduced during this part of the trilogy, a reporter investigating paranormal happenings in rural America she arrives in Hawking Hollow. Though Cal is reluctant to tell her too much initially it becomes apparant that she has some connection both to Hawkins Hollow and to him.

Great book, everything you expect from the brilliant Nora Roberts when she is on form!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing... only Nora Roberts!!!!, 2 Jan. 2008
By 
Ms. Amanda Corbett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
Well, I thought I enjoyed the Irish, the Three Sisters and In The Garden trilogy's. But the first part of the Sign of Seven Trilogy, Blood Brothers has completely blown me away. This is by far the best book i've read in a long time. It has it all... in particular my favourite, chills and thrills... to the point where I thought i'd have to sleep with the lights on... and on Boxing day morning at 4am!!! Thats a compliment though as to how truly spectacular this book is.

Blood Brothers was a dream to read. And if you don't take my word for it and order this now you are depriving yourself!

Thank you Nora if you read this...can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great novel, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Catherine Mcdermott "darcy mcdermott" (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cannot wait for the next book in the trilogy I have not yet finished only a few chapters to go but had to tell you it is excellent I think Nora is a genius she has a great imagination.athie McDermott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not one of her better efforts, 23 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
I found this book very formulaic, obviously a scene setter for the two books to come, and as such it was interesting and I wanted to discover more about the characters depicted.However, I found the ending such an anticlimax it was disappointing- the main characters go into the the woods to the Pagan Stone and precious little happens- certainly not on a par with the endings of the "Three Sisters" or the "Key" trilogies which are a similar genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, 19 Dec. 2007
By 
Jackie. (Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
A great book. It was very reminicent of Three Sisters Island series which I absolutely adored.(ie. Three key people fighting evil and meeting their true loves in the process) If this first book in the Sign of seven series is anything to go by then I can't wait for the next two to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok book nora roberts blood brothers, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) (Paperback)
this book was good, but its on the same theme as her other series three sisters island trilogy, which I enjoyed more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy)
Blood Brothers: Number 1 in series (Sign of Seven Trilogy) by Nora Roberts (Paperback - 6 Dec. 2007)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews