Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After a night of celebrating Lucien Asford is finally free
His family has been in finacial straights for years and now a deal has come in and he is wealthy again. As he is coming home Amelia Cynster is waiting for him she tells him she knows that he needs money and she knows it's time to get married and if he marries her he'll get her trust and she'll have some freedom. After some thought Lucien realizes that Amelia is the kind...
Published on 21 Dec 2007 by Eric Sanchez

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 really, but not up to par of previous books
2 1/2-3 really. 1st to the good:

It was a nice change to see the woman propose to her man in the beginning, that she knows (or in this case thinks) that it will only be because of her very large dowery. It was also nice to see Devil confess out loud his love for his Duchess Honoria (which he never has done in the years since Devil's Bride). The little Ashfords...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by Snowy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After a night of celebrating Lucien Asford is finally free, 21 Dec 2007
By 
Eric Sanchez (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
His family has been in finacial straights for years and now a deal has come in and he is wealthy again. As he is coming home Amelia Cynster is waiting for him she tells him she knows that he needs money and she knows it's time to get married and if he marries her he'll get her trust and she'll have some freedom. After some thought Lucien realizes that Amelia is the kind of wife he wants for reasons he can't explain.
Four years of searching through the ton Amelia Knows for sure who she wants Luicien Asford. She's always known he was the one she wants to share her life with now she's found the perfect way to get him. She wants a marriage that has it all Love, and respect and she won't settle for less! A battle of the wills insues.

There relationship has it all plenty of s3xuality and the slow easy slide into love. With a bit of mystery and plenty of Cynsters it's great book to read and reread! I can't wait for Simons story Stephanie Laurens is at the top of her game! I would also like to recommend Tino Georgiou's masterpiece ... The Fates ... if you were one of the few who missed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book Ms Laurens has written to date, 17 May 2002
By A Customer
Ms Laurens simply gets better and better. Her latest instalment of the Cynster clan will not disappoint her fans. The relationship between Luc and Amelia simmers with sexual tension all the way through the book and the way their relationship develops in and out of the bedroom is a joy to read. Amelia is headstrong, intelligent and no simpering female whilst Luc is a sexy, intelligent and complex male. The chemistry between the two is described brilliantly. This book is more about the relationship between two characters you really care about rather than the plot. I simply couldn't put the book down and stayed up all night just to finish it!! Fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 really, but not up to par of previous books, 28 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
2 1/2-3 really. 1st to the good:

It was a nice change to see the woman propose to her man in the beginning, that she knows (or in this case thinks) that it will only be because of her very large dowery. It was also nice to see Devil confess out loud his love for his Duchess Honoria (which he never has done in the years since Devil's Bride). The little Ashfords were cute and I glad at least one family member isn't being kept on the shelf until her 20s.

The things that Bugged:

Amelia, whilst thankfully less 21st C type wild than twin Amanda come of as something of a cypher in her own book, you almost get more of her personality in the previous book. She's perfect at everything, everyone adores her, she knows immediately how to run a large country estate, her mother in law adores her and her younger sisters in law immediately go to her over their own mother for everything. Now this would be all very well if the rest of the plot were more than 10 page sex scenes interspersed with 2 pages of dialogue planning the next sex.

The main angle is 2 people madly in love who for a not exactly convincing (IMO) can't tell each other for 400 pages because of the "power" each would gain over the other. They are convinced each married the other only for convience and money, which is fine except for the passionate sex 5 times a day.

Laurens regular mystery plot is weaker than usual, the plot itself never became interesting to me (petty theft from various aristocrats homes) and the villain was even more transparent then usual and is case closed in a couple of pages at the end. And the whole sub plot about it being for Edward (the previous villain) doesn't really get resolved too well.

The book is also too long by at least 100 pages and feels drawn out for the sake of it. I love a good sex scene as much as the next reader but tehy happen so often and are so techincal that they become boring and redundant, especially with a thin plot to begin with. I enjoy Laurens writing style but it does start to become *too* wordy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to the other Bar Cynster novels, 15 May 2002
It's essential to read 'On a Wild Night' (Amanda's story) before reading this one(her twin Amelia's story)as the hero Luc Ashford first appears there, and that's the best introduction to his character you get. Although this is still a good read I felt it was the worst of the Bar Cynster group of books so far. The sex scenes seem to be the dominant part of the book, without the usual repartee and battle of wits. Somehow I felt that it was the usual 'get him to say "I love you" on the last page formula without the same originality of plot that makes me award the other books five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, *yawns*, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
My first book by the author and I am not planning on reading any of her other books, surviving this one is enough- thank you very much.
The book is far longer than it should have been, the author just kept on blabbering. It'd have been an excellent book if it was shorter and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On a wicked dawn, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual a brilliant story like all stephanie,s others . I love the excitement of the romantic chase so to speak, the sparky heroines and ultra manly heroes. It,s sad we have only a minute amount of these males in real life,so carry on writing stephanie so we can at least have our dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Laurens, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
the book arrived brfore time and well protcted during posting, it was very well priced and i will order more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars only worth reading if you want a sex manual, 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
Sorry, have enjoyed previous books by this author, but this is tedious. a weak plot, unbelievable characters, and far far too much graphic sex. very disappointing. I have skipped huge chunks to get to the end, and only finished it because it was snowing and I couldn't get out to get something better to read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 50/50, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
this is the 9th book iv read of stephanie laurens now (iv read them in order) and to be honest, i was a little disappointed. the story was dragged out far too much and could do with being at LEAST 100 pages shorter, the sex scenes are quite frankly ridiculous and can be up to 12 pages long, making them dull, boring and predicable - this doesnt just aply to this book - and what Laurens takes 10 words to say could be said in one, but having said this, i did still enjoy the book and found the characters very charming (as in all her books), as long as you can get passed how long winded Laurens style is, her books can be very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
And finally one of the Cynster girls get a look in in the love department! I really enjoyed the humour and warmth that came off the page. Again familiar faces are on hand to link this book firmly in the world of the Cynster ton. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster)
On A Wicked Dawn: Number 10 in series (Bar Cynster) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 6 Dec 2007)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews