Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern writing with a historical twist
A very well written page turner. If you like Julia Quinn then you'll like this book. I read it from cover to cover on a long duration trip and actually read the ending twice.

Thoroughly enjoyable historical romance, with a few steamy skirt-lifting scenes. The heroine is not your usual milk white simpering bit of fluff, she's actually believable with...
Published on 4 Oct 2007 by Gaelen Foley new fan

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull - don't bother
I had no interest in all the long-winded politics, in fact I find this level of politics a bit pretentious in a romance - if I buy a romance, I want to read about romance! When it came to the romance, I found the characters one-dimensional and cliched, and had no connection or empathy with them whatsoever. I read to the end just in case it improved, but sadly not. The...
Published on 12 May 2008 by Snowdrop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern writing with a historical twist, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
A very well written page turner. If you like Julia Quinn then you'll like this book. I read it from cover to cover on a long duration trip and actually read the ending twice.

Thoroughly enjoyable historical romance, with a few steamy skirt-lifting scenes. The heroine is not your usual milk white simpering bit of fluff, she's actually believable with foibles.

I enjoyed this and want to read the next one in the series that is due out in December 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Her Only Desire, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post #107 - another one that I borrowed from the Library back in April 2011, and thought I would share my thoughts:

This one was really the first the the Knight Cousins' spin-offs, about Georgiana Knight (Sister to Gabriel & Derek).

Raised all her life in India, Georgiana is very often left alone, but has made a life and friends independently, and therefore sees no wrong in inviting the cool and reserved Ian Prescott, Marquess of Griffith to stay when he arrives on a British diplomatic mission.

On his very first encounter with her he ends up effecting a rescue to save her life, and puts her under house arrest whilst he goes off on his mission to Japur .... she has other ideas and follows ... which leads her into uncovering the truth but causing a diplomatic nightmare of Ian, and heavy fighting by her brothers to protect her (in which Gabriel receives his injuries).

She flees alone on a Knight ship to England, where she is determined to conquer the ton, and fights Ian's protections for all she is worth. Infuriated, but captivated nonetheless, will this lonely Marquess fall for her, and reveal his own secrets?

On the whole a 4 Star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, would read the rest of the series, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
Ian Prescott, the Marquess of Griffith is in India assisting the British government during the wars. He does this not for money, for he us rich enough, but wanted to escape his past in England after his wife died in mysterious circumstances, leaving behind their 5 year old son, Matthew. In India, he meets Miss Georgiana Knight, the cousin of friends of his.She's been living in India with her Indian friends, hoping to aid peace in the country. Ian finds her intriguing, but vows never to remarry, so decides to reign in his feelings. But Georgiana wants Ian too and tells him shell aid him in his quest, despite wondering if she can fully trust him. When she's caught with evidence of the queen's involvement in a plot to overthrow her husband, Ian has to step up to defend her when her life's in danger. They go to England where he tries to keep her safe. Feelings grow between them but Ian still suffers from his past demons and Georgiana is determined to find out the truth. But trouble lies ahead, when Ian's mistress interrupts them. Mistrust engulfs Georgiana further, where she learns he's had 2 mistresses since his wife's death. He doesn't want to lose her so breaks it off with the mistress and says he will marry her. It's not the vow of love or proposal she envisages, and her doubts deepen when she discovers he has a son and his ex mistress informs her she will not be loved like he loved Catherine his first wife. Meanwhile a spy of the Indian queen arrives and tries to kidnap Ian's son, but Ian intervenes and kills the kidnapper making Georgiana see a side of him she never knew existed. But she loves him and when she sleeps with him they each confess their love and marry shortly after. Since the wedding they move to his former home he shared with his first wife. The servants keep out of his way, and Ian's manner changes, criticising the yellow roses in his gardens when Georgiana finds no fault. He loses his temper with Matthew and she leaps to his defence. She finds a broken wooden bridge leading to his house and a local old woman who urges her to be wary of Ian. Eventually, Georgiana has enough and tells Ian she will leave him unless he confesses all about Catherine. She is shocked to learn their history, but accepts it and vows never to leave him.

Overall, the story is very good. Only a few things bothered me slightly.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

1) the authors use of American words that weren't around in the European 19th century.
2) the mention of Emily, another mistress of Ian's, Georgiana mentions wanting to find out about her but nothing of Emily is said again.
3) the paternity of Matthew. Ian said he's unsure, but Georgiana says he has Ian's personality so it must be his child. However, Catherine was sleeping with her stable lover for a long time before she finally bedded Ian, so it seems more likely he's not the father.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 31 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
I bought it because it was by Gaelen Foley and was not disappointed! Georgiana has been brought up in India and the richness of the history is really brought out here and her practice of yoga is not contrived just to add to the story. The erotic temple art certainly adds a spicy dimension to their relationship. I loved Ian Prescot. He is at first stern, duty bound and protective. He fights his attraction to Georgiana yet is exasperated by her wilfulness. The love scenes are steamy and right for them and the moment- she is not a shrinking violet and he is not immune.
I will read this again and can't wait to read about Georgiana's brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her Only Desire, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Carol A. Andrews (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
This is one of the spice Trilogy and a really goood read it can be linked up with the 7 books of the Knight Miscellany series as all of the characters are related making the books more enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS FUN AS THE KNIGHT SERIES, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
this trilogy ia about the cousins to the Knight family in the Knight misceallany series, Georgiana,Derek and Gabriel. their aunt is the Hwakscliffe Harlot, mother to the characters in the previous series. this is the first book and is the story of Georgiana. the book starts of in the heat of India where georgie and her brothers have grown up and during a period of unrest. Lord Griffith is in Calcutta on diplomactic business when he crosses paths with our heroine who deosnt play by society rules. after getting involved in various situations georgie is taken to england to live her cousin Duke Hawkscliffe. will she cope in strict london society??? will they admit their feeelings towards each other???? great new series where we get to visit our fav Knight characters again, lots of action and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull - don't bother, 12 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Only Desire (Paperback)
I had no interest in all the long-winded politics, in fact I find this level of politics a bit pretentious in a romance - if I buy a romance, I want to read about romance! When it came to the romance, I found the characters one-dimensional and cliched, and had no connection or empathy with them whatsoever. I read to the end just in case it improved, but sadly not. The worst feature for me was the american language. If US writers set their stories in British history they should ensure the language is appropriate to that period and culture. We don't use "someplace" or phrases such as "listen up", "fix" a meal, or my all time biggest irritant "gotten" (which does not exist in british english) in english now, let alone at that period. Two other modern language sins were "pinky finger" and "in the sack" - I cringed every time I read one of the solecisms. I definitely won't be buying another of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Only Desire
Her Only Desire by Gaelen Foley (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
8.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews