Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregori's sizzling story at last! Read it and weep!
At last IT has arrived! Dark Magic the long awaited story of Gregori, the fourth book in Christine's Dark Series! Amidst huge anticipation and speculation, Christine has managed to deliver once again! Is there no stopping this lady? I certainly hope not! I have it on good authority that there are many many more Carpathian stories to come!
Dark Magic is the story...
Published on 11 Aug 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boon with fangs
I picked up the first six books in this series second hand on the recommendation of a friend, but I certainly won't be wasting my time reading any more beyond this point. I found the first couple of books interesting as they presented a different take on the basic vampire story, but now at book 4 it seems it's just a case of substituting the appropriate names and...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by Katie Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregori's sizzling story at last! Read it and weep!, 11 Aug 2000
By A Customer
At last IT has arrived! Dark Magic the long awaited story of Gregori, the fourth book in Christine's Dark Series! Amidst huge anticipation and speculation, Christine has managed to deliver once again! Is there no stopping this lady? I certainly hope not! I have it on good authority that there are many many more Carpathian stories to come!
Dark Magic is the story of Gregori the most powerfull and feared of all Carpathians. Gregori has been around for about 1000 years, and has devoted this life to healing and protecting his people and Prince. Savannah is a mere 23 years old, young and impulsive, who has been brought up to be independent both in mind and spirit.
How will she react to Gregori's over protective nature? How will she come to terms with what he is and what he means to her? Savannah not only has all that to contend she has to aviod beeing hunted and killed by lunatic vampire hunters and the even bigger threat of something much much more evil! For a girl with so much to deal with, she manages remarkably well (with the help of Gregori and a friend)
This is a beautiful love story that captured my heart. Dark Magic is alot darker then any of Christine's previous novels, but it is essential and portraying the darkness and despair that has tainted Gregori's soul for all these long years, Savannah is his light, his salavation. Christine has a wonderful flair for describing places and scenes and she handles the violent scenes as well as the love scenes! Fantastic!
Another keeper I must say. Now I am desprately awaiting Dark Challange (Julian's Story)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gripping romance, 30 July 2000
By A Customer
This is the fourth in the Carpathian series and I am sorry to say that it is not as good. Feehan is a brilliant writer and her previous 3 books were awesome and for some reason Dark Magic did not live up to my expectations. May be I was expecting too much plus I read the other 3 fairly close together and had to wait for Gregori's story. Gregori is one of the ancient ones and has appeared in all the books as a revered but dangerous being who is literally clinging to his sanity. In Dark Magic he confronts his lifemate and helplessly falls in love. You see a different side to his character and he is even humerous. Savannah, his lifemate at first is so annoying, you just want to kick her backside! (If she doesn't want him i'll have him like a shot). However she does grow on you as her character evolves and you realise her fears. I still found her to be a weak character considering that she is a true Carpathian and here father is the Prince. The only disappointing aspect of this book is that she did not bring in any of the other characters. There was a brief glimpse of Aiden and Julian was mentioned but we are all waiting for his story. Considering how important Gregori was in the other books it would have been interesting to see Mikhail, Raven. Jacques, as they are Savannah's family and Gregori's close friends. Still it is worth a read and I am eagerly waiting for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 19 July 2006
By 
Dina M. Martin (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Dark Magic' was excellent I couldn't put the book down. Such chemestry between Savannah and the Ancient "Dark One" Gregori.

The DARK series are absolutely brilliant. It is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, another winner, 24 Mar 2001
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely adore all of Christine's work, especially this one. I have been looking forward to it since I bought all 5 books in the series.
Gregori and Savanah are made for each other literally as Gregori's Prince and friend is now his father-in-law.
Savanah was concieved to become Gregori's lifemate. She is his only salvation. Thank you Christine for such wonderful stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark One!, 6 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Dark Magic' is by far the best in this series yet. Up until now the 'ancient ones' seeking their lifemate had all pretty much gone about it the same way with varying, but similar, consequences. Now, and at last, we focus on Gregori, the Dark One, and an ancient so close to 'turning' that he's not even sure whether he has turned or not. He hasn't exactly been the picture-perfect Carpathian up until now...
This book isn't so much about Savannah, the 23 year old lifemate, as it is Gregori and his struggle with his beast. It's interesting to see one of the Carpathian's genuinely admitting that his power it too great, that the threat from him is a very real one. And rather than everything being wonderful once he secures his lifemate, things could and nearly do take a turn for the worse when Gregori finds his emotions again, and discovers how much of a badass he really is.
I wont go on to tell you too much, just that Gregori is a fascinating character - and the scene with Gregori, Aidan and the 'disrespectful' Savannah, is absolutely hilarious.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boon with fangs, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Katie Stevens "Ygraine" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) (Paperback)
I picked up the first six books in this series second hand on the recommendation of a friend, but I certainly won't be wasting my time reading any more beyond this point. I found the first couple of books interesting as they presented a different take on the basic vampire story, but now at book 4 it seems it's just a case of substituting the appropriate names and locations and everything else is just the same. And it's not just a matter of the story being repetitious; there are whole phrases which are repeated throughout the books, which seems like laziness rather than a deliberate device. I appreciate that part of the appeal of these books must lie in the fact that they are, essentially, all the same, but they very definitely aren't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great example of darkness and light, 31 Oct 2005
By 
P. Marques Guerreiro "f4" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this book as I think the characters were well matched. Gregori the Dark One is probably the most intimidating character ever and Savanah is a very brave woman to take him on. Both need to change certain views they have in order to understand each other and get along. They face a rough patch but they manage it perfectly. One of the best books on the brilliant Carpathian world. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first books in this series, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) (Paperback)
This book was frustrating - I loved the first two books in the series (Dark Prince, Dark Desire) but Dark Magic didn't work at all. It was very repetitive, with long passages in which the couple argue about the same petty issue back and forth for ages and nothing really happens. The heroine comes across as a total idiot, and the book feels highly unrealistic (even for paranormal romance!)

The main problem is that the first few books dealt with human heroines falling in love with supernatural heroes, and so of course the human heroines find lots of things difficult to understand/accept and the author had lots of fun with the conflict this created. However, in this book, a supernatural woman falls for a supernatural guy - but the author seems to forget this and recycles a load of the material from the first few books. So the heroine doesn't seem to know the most obvious and basic things about her own culture and has random problem with it all, but it's not clear why. We're told vaguely that her mother tried to raise her with human values - but given that her father is the leader of the supernatural people, you would think she'd have picked up a thing or two.

The book becomes really dull, so the author tries to spice it up with lots of sex scenes and (yet another) evil vampire stalking the couple. But because the couple are dull, the reader just finds it all a bit hard to care about. I struggled to finish the book it became so boring.

A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 7 Sep 2010
By 
E. L. Joseph (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) (Paperback)
This is the 4th in the Dark series and my feelings for this one are much the same as the rest. Its Ok. I quite enjoyed it but i don't see myself reading it again. I looked forward to Gregori's story from book 1 - it was what i expected and was pretty good. The relationship between Savannah and gregori is quite interesting and i liked the plot but as a whole the series doesn't quite do it for me.

I like the series and will keep reading (because i bought loads in one go) but it doesn't compare to a jr ward or kresley cole in terms of a gripping story. Christine feehan's leopard people series is better so far.

Despite this i think it is a worthwhile read and going by the other reviews many love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bit samey, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) (Paperback)
Am I the only one who is getting a bit bored by Ms freehan's "formula"

The list of overused phrases and words is long.

The formula is that the woman must be:

Tiny
hypnotically beautifull
Silky hair to the waist
narrow ribcage (is this necessary to be sexy?)
tiny waist
enormous eyes
creamy skin
pert full breasts
must resist him for 2 nanoseconds before becoming a doormat.
white hot lightnening when they kiss
the floor has to move
fire must lick her where ever he touches her

The man must be

lethal
dangerous
dark
enormous
think his soul is lost forever
must not let her see his true self
bunch his fists into her silky hair, span her narrow ribcage with his enormous hands, stroke her pulse, and melt inside.

Seriously, I'm bored. Can we have some new dialogue some new adjectives and a more challenging story. The basic principal is great. I love the Carpathian universe and the characters although basically the same, show potential.

I loved Aidan in Dark Gold and I loved Mikhail in Dark Prince.

Gregori in Dark Magic was a real dissapointment. He is a clone of all the others and Savanagh the same woman as in the other books with different coloured hair and "stars in her enormous violet eyes"

I need something new.

I'm off to read JR Ward, I hear she's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian)
Dark Magic: Number 4 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) by Christine Feehan (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews