Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly brilliant, 26 Aug. 2006
If you love Mary Balogh books, you'll love this.

Slightly Wicked is the 2nd book of a six part bedwyn family saga, concentrates on Lord Rannulf Bedwyn third son of the bedwyn family and Judith Law gentlemans daughter. A chance meeting on a stormy afternoon. He on his way to see his grandmother, to be introduced to his possible future wife and she to fulfill her duties as a loving daughter and poor relation to her aunts family. Their paths cross which leads to adventure, discovery and love.

Brilliant book, (i've read 2 or 3 times) where the hero and heroine are deserved, your willing them to get together in the end. And the 'baddies' are loathed. Wanted the story to go on after to see how they all got on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars for a Complete Wanton, 31 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post (#70) in January 2011, after borrowing the book from the library.

This shouldn't have been called "Slightly" Wicked, far from it ............. Completely Depraved Wanton might have been a better title to describe what Miss Judith Law got up to early on in the book.

She has had to leave home (probably for good) to live with her wealthy Aunt Effingham due to the excesses of her selfish young Brother, Branwell. Of the 4 sisters, it was her who volunteered to go. In actual fact, she knew that in all probability she would be acting as unpaid servant, and treated shabbily, as was so often the cases in those days.

With very little money, and travelling on the stage, there is an accident and it overturns. A heroic stranger (Ralf Bedard) offers to take her on to the next inn, as help would be many hours away. She accepts, but somewhere along the way she loses all sense and involves herself in one reckless night of passion, thus also losing her virtue and reputation. At least she will have something to dream about now to carry her through the dreary days as a companion.

He wants her to go away with him for a time, but she comes to her senses whilst he is off looking for a carriage to take them on, and runs away. Eventually making her way to her Aunt's home, Harewood Grange just in time for a large house party.

A big shock, however, is in store for her as one man of the party, Lord Rannulf Bedwyn arrives to woo her cousin. The very same Ralf Bedard who had bedded her just days before.

He makes honourable and dis-honourable advances to her, so does Aunt Effingham's oily step-son, but she holds firm against them. But scandal rocks the household when she is accused of stealing a vast quantity of jewels. The only thing she can think of to do is run .... but Rannulf pursues her to help here clear her name.

Is it possible that love can grow out of a something that started off slightly wicked?

I think as the last one in the Slightly series that needed reading there were marvellously layered examples of a hero and heroine. It was thoroughly enjoyable, and a highly recommended 4.5 ***** Star read. As it was some time ago I read the story of Wulfic, Duke of Bewcastle and his Christine, I think I will go back at some point very soon and re-read it. Actually, I think that I will miss this series a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-written and engaging romance, 2 Feb. 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'm a real fan of Mary Balogh's books. I think "More Than A Mistress" and "The Secret Pearl" are brilliant pieces of writing with engaging characters. These are some of her older books though, her newer books are the "Slightly" series following the Bedwyn family and the "Simply" series which tell the stories of four schoolteachers (not all yet published).

Slightly Wicked, therefore, is a story about the Bedwyn family. It's the second in the series and follows Lord Rannulf Bedwyn, brother to the Duke of Bewcastle. The events take place a month after the close of the first book in the series, Slightly Married, which followed the story of Aidan, second brother.

Rannulf is a very different character. Both the Duke and Aidan have very much lived up to the expectations of their positions - they do their duties admirably (apart from Aidan marrying a coal-miner's daughter). Rannulf, as third son, should have gone into the church - but didn't. Instead he's spent the last decade or so not doing a great deal, just wandering about and having fun. He's pretty bored and not expecting much out of life but is on his way to see his grandmother, who has made him her heir.

On the way he comes across a stagecoach in the ditch with a number of stranded passengers. He agrees to ride to the next village for help but takes up one of the passengers, a young lady, on his horse. When they get to the village he realises that she is an actress and courtesan and so they spend a couple of very pleasant nights together. He offers to go with her to York, her destination, to prolong the acquaintance but she runs away without saying goodbye except in a letter.

However, it wouldn't make much of a story if that was it! Rannulf and Judith meet again under unexpected circumstances and although she's entirely unsuitable for him he can't quite seem to let go. Rannulf takes a while to work out what his feelings are, Judith's whole life seems to be going down the toilet, especially after someone tries to rape her. Her position in life as drudge to a family is insupportable, her carefree and unthinking brother is bringing their family to impoverishment and she finds herself the target of a nasty plot. Having her secret lover in the picture is even worse - she wanted a time in her life to remember and dream about but reality has a nasty habit of intruding.

Although I enjoyed this book I didn't feel that it quite engaged me as some of her others have done. I liked both characters, although there seemed to be a lot of importance placed on the fact that Judith was beautiful. The theme of Rannulf trying to at last live up to his responsibilities was lightly played - and Judith's learning of her beauty was also part of her growing experience. There's nothing wrong with this book, it just didn't grip me like some of her others which is a shame as she is an excellent writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read from a tallented writer, 8 April 2009
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
I enjoy Mary Balogh books. I have only recently discovered this author, and have now collected all the "Slightly" series. This one is the 2nd in the series and an entertaining story. "Wicked" lives up to the title . The main characters Lord Rannulf and Judith Law meet in a snow storm. She decides to add a little excitement to her dull life not expecting to meet Rannulf again but of course they do meet again. I think this author is the best Historical writer since Georgette Heyer. She seems to have researched the period, which some writers neglect to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The family series continues, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
The story gets off to a great start and never looks back. A good read and the family members continue to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Balogh sets the standard, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
For me, This book has just what is needed in a historical romance.A depth of understanding about humans and relationship,a great sense of the era she writes about,and the ability to open the door into the world these people lived in.The lovely warmth of a truly happy ending without it being unrealistic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present for mum, 1 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
Bought the first two books in this series for my mum's birthday. She has seen a review and requested it. It looks like a lovely light hearted romp in regency England. Books came in excellent condition and in 3 days - excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
There have been Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer. But Mary Balogh, surpasses them all. Literally and figuratively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) (Paperback)
A friend recommended I read this book. I was not disappointed. I loved it and have recommended it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series)
Slightly Wicked: Number 4 in series (Bedwyn Series) by Mary Balogh (Paperback - 8 Mar. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews