Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
They were masters of the darkness, searching through eternity for a mistress of the light ...
The stranger silently summoned her from across the continents, across the seas. He whispered of eternal torment, of endless hunger ... of dark, dangerous desires. And somehow American surgeon Shea O'Halloran could feel his anguish, sense his haunting aloneness, and she...
Published on 11 Feb 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it didn't live up to the first, and that too was hard to get into.
While this installment of the Carpathians is engaging, it didn't live up to the first. It is darker, Jacques (who is the charming younger brother in book one) has been held and tortured for sevens years and left for dead. He comes out of the experience barely hanging on to his sanity and with a vicious streak a mile wide. The story still has it's twists and turns along...
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by Rebecca


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 Feb 2005
By A Customer
They were masters of the darkness, searching through eternity for a mistress of the light ...
The stranger silently summoned her from across the continents, across the seas. He whispered of eternal torment, of endless hunger ... of dark, dangerous desires. And somehow American surgeon Shea O'Halloran could feel his anguish, sense his haunting aloneness, and she ached to feel hom, to heal herself.
Drawn to the far Carpathian mountains, Shea found herself a ravaged, raving man, a being like no other. And she trembled. For in his burning eyes, his icy heart, she recognised the beloved stranger who'd already become part of her. This imperious Carpathian male had compelled Shea to his side. But was she to be his healer ... or his prey? His victim ... or his mate? Was he luring her into madness ... or would his dark desire make her whole?
Another fantastic read from a proven author. The "Dark" series is one which many people follow and seems to always achieve high praise from fellow reviewers. Well worth the time to read and is a story which will be read again, and again by many.
We await with anticipation the next installment in the "Dark" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took my breath away, 25 July 2004
By 
This was the first novel I've read from the Dark Series, and it got me hooked. The chemistry that the leading characters shared is very contagious. The author can really make you feel the feelings that the characters have. Along the story, we are presented with other Carpatians that have already appeared in the first novel and make the story line even more interesting. The story behind the Carpatians is very sad, they are on the verge of extinction, unless they can find their true lifemate that can make them feel emotion again. The plot is not the basic romance guideline, we have romance, action, companionship, love scenes and I must say that the author is capable of taking you the Carpatian Mountains with her descriptions.
If you love romance novels try this Series and you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Read, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This was my first "Carpathian" novel, in fact my first by Christine Feehan and I was absolutely hooked. This, the story of Jacques is the second in this "Dark" series and I have since read the whole lot! All the heroes are wonderful but I have a very soft spot for Jacques and Shea. What torment they both suffered and what absolute need each had for the other. The scene when Jacques was protecting Shea from his brother Mikhail, his friend Byron and "The Dark One" Gregori (all of whom he had forgotten throughout 7 years of torture) was spellbinding. What writing! Violence and love scenes both equally enthralling. Would love to see babies featuring in future Carpathian novels, - give Gregori and Savannah (Dark Magic) triplet girls and let him deal with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Carpathians, 31 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Like the reader from Scotland, this was my first Carpathian novel and I'm hooked. However, although it inspired me to read all the others, I have to say that this is the best of the series. It works well as a stand alone novel, although I defy anyone not to want to read more. It has quickly become a favourite, must-have and I thoroughly recommend it to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great in the series, 28 Dec 2000
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book follows on from Dark Prince and it is just as good. This story is set a few years after, which in their lifetime is nothing just a blink of an eye.
Jacque has been buried alive for 7 years. His family think he is dead. You can't recognise him now from what he was like in Dark Prince. Shea his lifemate comes to the Carpathian Mountains to save him. She can feel an eveil presence around her when no one else can. The vampire wants who to destroy him is Shae's father. He lost his lifemate, Shae's mother 7 years previously and that is when he turned vowing to destroy the family who caused her death.
This book is another great from a great author. Buy this book and the rest in the series you won't be disapointed with it.
The next in the series is Dark Gold and this one is set in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 21 Jun 2014
★Book Basics★

Genre : - Paranormal Romance
Series : - Book 2 in the Series. Jacques is the brother of Mikhail from Dark Prince
Writing - Third person, Dual POV.
Main Characters :Shea O'Halloran - a surgeon who is on the run, from "vampire" hunters. Is doing research into a blood disorder she thinks she has.
Jacques Dubrinsky - Carpathian Male, tortured and trapped. He has a mental connection to Shea during his imprisonment. Tortured to the point of madness, he has no memories of his life before.
Love triangle? - No
Cheating? - No
HEA? - Yes
Would I read more by this author? - Yes, and have done so

★Review★

"There was only pain. Terrible endless pain. He could not make a sound, even when his mind shattered into a million fragments and he could no longer remember what, or whom, he was struggling to protect."

This is the story of Jacques and Shea.

It is often brutal - Jacques has been tortured and buried alive for seven years, with no memory of who he is. His only connection in this madness is his mental link to Shea - a woman he believes at the time, to be part of his torture.

The first half of the book, is pretty much just Jacques and Shea. From when they make the mental connection, to years later, when Shea comes across his battered and tortured body, and saves him.

Jacques walks the edge of madness and often does not know what he is doing. Shea is resigned to death, thinking her illness will kill her.

They both have a hard path to walk, coming to terms with what they are to each other, and what they have become. Both damaged and wounded souls.

Again, as book 1, not a huge set of characters, indeed even less so than in book 1, but we do see Mikhail, Raven, Gregori and Byron again.

Having read the series before, these first few books are very much setting up the history of the "vampire" huntings starting again, and setting the basis for the "wars" beginning again for the Carpathian people!

Book 1 is set 25 years before this one, and book 3 is another 25 years after book 2. So as I say, these first few books are very much about outlining the players and setting up for how the "vampire" huntings are going to get worse, and how the "Society" hunting them grown from what is to what it will become.

As they go on, the world building gets more involved and hidden foes are brought out into the open. Friends and enemies alike, both thought long dead begin to make a reappearance and the series gets better and better. If you want a new PNR series to start, you cannot go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After reading the first book, 19 Dec 2007
This review is from: Dark Desire: Number 2 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) (Paperback)
the only character that really jumped out at me that I wanted to read about was Gregori. I bought this sequel, in the hopes that this was who it was about. Let me tell you, it didn't matter. Shea and Jacques were great! The story line kept you deeply involved and thinking about what was going to happen the whole time. Even though you don't hear much about them in the first book, you really get involved with them in this one. Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Vampire Romance on the Market!, 3 April 2000
By A Customer
I read Dark Desire before Dark Prince and actually preferred Dark Daesire Jacques is one of the most captivating heros I've ever come across. It may be a little violent in the first few chapters, but after all this is a Vampire Romance. A brilliant book where the heroine actually manages to balance the hero's charisma. I hope Christine Feehan keeps on writing about her Carpathians because I for one am enthralled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, I was not able to put the book down!, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This is the second book in Christine Feehan's Dark Series, and is a fantastic read, characters are well defined, and talk about girl power! The heroine (Shea) is a very independent, intelligent, caring, courageous girl. The hero, Jaques has undergone some fantastic character building since we last saw him in Dark Prince. A definate one to keep. And I am eagerly waiting the rest of the books in the series ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by Christine Feehan, 19 Dec 1999
This is the second book of the 'Dark' series,the first, 'Dark Prince' sold out, was re-printed and sold out again, if it comes back onto Amazon, order it immediately. This Book 'Dark Desire' is the story of Jacques and his search for his life mate, Jacques is NOT a vampire, but another species which needs blood to survive, they do not kill their prey, just borrow abit of blood, But after a time, some of them loose hope of finding their lifemates and 'turn' becoming true vampires who kill while taking blood and get a kick out of it. The Carpathians must hunt and kill these vampires to protect both humans and themselves. This is the story of Jacques, who is very very close to turning... now its your turn to read this book. Order it, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Desire: Number 2 in series ('Dark' Carpathian)
Dark Desire: Number 2 in series ('Dark' Carpathian) by Christine Feehan (Paperback - 8 Feb 2007)
6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews