Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Sukie Ambrose fiddles around with ways to improve the products she uses in her massage/beauty business. She turns to her godmother's natural recipes to give her a unique edge (oh, and to replace the expensive oils that her boss bought her and she accidently gave away!) Harmless enough. Not really - turns out that Cora, her godmother, had a few tricks up her sleeve and all kinds of interesting things begin to happen when Sukie tries out her new products. This book brings back some characters from recent Christina Jones books, but the really story belongs to Sukie and her friends and loved ones. In true C Jones fashion, there's interesting side stories and charming, quirky characters. And of course, a guy who would turn anyone to attempting magic, Derry. This book has some bittersweet twists, but ultimately makes you feel great for having read it. Another winner!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
I loved this book! As ever, Christina Jones never lets her readers down and has written a wonderfully involving story with an impressive cast of characters - some new and some delightfully familiar old friends - in a book which made me laugh and cry. Sukie is a wonderful leading character, independent, determined, loyal, feisty and yet with an edge of vulnerability as she struggles to put the needs of others before herself as she reaches for her own dreams. I really identified with her. Derry is delicious! And I also loved all the secondary characters, young and old, who were perfectly drawn, believable, eccentric in the nicest of ways, and the intertwining stories of the village residents makes you wish that you lived there, too! Although this book stands alone in its own right, it follows on from HUBBLE BUBBLE and SEEING STARS with some of the same characters reappearing. After Mitzi's herbal recipes weaved their magic in HUBBLE BUBBLE and Amber discovered the celesteal interventions in SEEING STARS, we now have Sukie who stumbles across the recipes and flowers in the cottage garden and infuses them for the massage oils she uses. Her potions have unexpected, hilarious and moving effects on her clients, friends and even herself! LOVE POTIONS is an absolute joy and a must-read book. I just cannot wait for the next instalment to find out what else will happen in this ramshackle collection of wonderful rural villages and their delightful occupants! Buy this book (paperback coming in early October) and you will not be disappointed. Christina Jones's books should be available on the NHS to spread happiness and joy and contentment.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2006
This book was really good fun, having read all of the others like hubble bubble and tickled pink, Love Potions carries on with the same characters and the same magical intrigue. Cant wait for the next one....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Love potions is so much fun, it really was a pleasure to read. I loved the entire feel of the book, a small town with that quintessential gossipy and close knit feeling. I love romance novels that are set in a small village they are always funny. what I really liked about Love Potions was how layered it was, there are so many different relationships to sink your teeth into.

The story is based on Sukie an aromatherapist and she has lost her entire stock of oils after her best friend gives them to their friend during a very lively hen night dressed as fairies. So disaster has struck and help comes in the form of dreamy Derry who is her lodger's boyfriend, oh yes drama ladies and gentlemen. Sukie is talented sweet and armed with her aunt's tapestries she is going to make magic happen. From creating a budding friendship between one of the lovely barmen and the dance teacher of the girls dance group she is larger than life. My favourite supporting character was Joss with her la husband that literally sucked the life from her I was just completely enthralled with her storyline.

My favourite thing about this book was how charming it all was, and how each person was affected by the special potions Sukie made.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Great lighthearted easy reading. Sukie's brand-new top-of-the-range aromatherapy stock suffers the terrible accident of being given away to the bride at a delightfully boozed-up and fairy-glittered hen party, so she has to improvise in a hurry with ingredients from her garden and her great-aunt's flower potion recipes. And wouldn't you know it, her cottage garden in a tiny out-of-the-way hamlet (I want to live there and be friends with all the wonderful people) is a veritable powerhouse of vegetable magic: let the fantastic happenings commence. But will Sukie ever find love of her own?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2007
A fun holiday read. I like the way it follows on from others written by Christina Jones: it's nice to see how characters you've met before are getting on! Would recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Loved it ! As Im having an extremely stressful time caring for someone with terminal cancer I need escapism. Christina Jones does just that for me. This book has gentle humour, you learn something ( as with most of her books) and its so well written. The characters are so believable , the story line , well you must read it to find out ! Probably my favourite story up to now.. but I'm sure the next one will be too ! A pleasure to give this book a deserved 5* .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
I decided to give this book a go after spotting it in my local library. I Read it in one day, what can i say.. Yes its predictable chick lit, You have a fair idea of what's going to happen a few chapters into this book, although to be fair to, it does throw a few surprises here and there. It's a good easy read and whereas i wouldn't say it's the best book i have ever read, it is worth reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This is a super book which makes you laugh out loud! Christina Jones has characters of all ages in her books which shows how well she knows human nature. If you are feeling stressed or depressed, this book will certainly perk you up again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
I've now read quite a few Christina Jones books and always enjoyed the 'village' settings and quirky characters - it was quite a while since I had read other books based on the same characters so i had to rack my brains to try and remember some of the previous characters mentioned....having said that I think you could quite easily pick this book up and read it without having read any of the other books set in this part of the world. It was a little predictable and as usual in Christina's book everyone ends up nice and happy at the end....worth reading if you like her books and are open to a bit of magic - I would highly recommend Hubble Bubble by the same author and I have not found another book by her that lives up to that standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.