Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The latest in the series
The first thing I thought when I started reading this book was that I had missed one of the series. There were new characters (George the fiend has a werewolf girlfriend) and it appears that there has been a short story in between this and the last book. Very annoying as I don't read the short stories!!

This book is funny (there is a hilarious scene involving a...
Published on 17 Oct 2006 by Mrs. A. Compton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm starting to feel ripped off
The books are entertaining but after the first few they lack any real storyline and I have a stronger sense that I'm just being buttered up to spend my money on the next book. I can probably skip to the last book and not have missed anything.
Published on 20 Nov 2012 by LesleyOC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The latest in the series, 17 Oct 2006
By 
Mrs. A. Compton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead And Unpopular: Number 5 in series (Paperback)
The first thing I thought when I started reading this book was that I had missed one of the series. There were new characters (George the fiend has a werewolf girlfriend) and it appears that there has been a short story in between this and the last book. Very annoying as I don't read the short stories!!

This book is funny (there is a hilarious scene involving a zombie), but the overall story does not move on much. The European vampire threat does not feel like much of a threat and only one character has a change in their life.

Overall this is worth reading but I would like longer stories where the plot for the series is moved on a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm starting to feel ripped off, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books are entertaining but after the first few they lack any real storyline and I have a stronger sense that I'm just being buttered up to spend my money on the next book. I can probably skip to the last book and not have missed anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it! Though is a wee bit of a filler, but bring on the next one please xxx xxx xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fifth in the comic series which is a cross between Buffy and SITC, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fifth instalment in the "Queen Betsy" comedy series which combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller.

There are a number of memorable first lines in the series - the first book began with the words "The day I died started out bad and got worse in a hurry." This fifth book begins, as the heroine is approaching her 31st birthday and the first anniversary of her death (deathday?) with the words

"There's a Zombie in the attic."

Only in this series could the Queen of the Vampires open the door of her mansion to find her stepmother on teh doorstep, be handed her baby half-brother to babysit for the night, and be told "It's not like it's really an imposition right? You'll be up all night anyway."

That's at the same time as Betsy is planning a wedding when uninvited guests show up from Europe - very old, very powerful vampires - supposedly to pay their respects to the new Queen - and her best friend gets some very unwelcome news.

As with the first four books, this contains lots of supernatural plotting, parodies of vampire thriller stories, and ridiculous situations, particularly the incongruities caused by the combination of two rather different genres. The wacky sense of humour and new twists in the incongruous way the story mixes up "Sex in the City" with "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" had me laughing out loud more than once.

Elizabeth Sinclair, nee Taylor, (who prefers to be called Betsy) is a fashionista and former model, who to her own astonishment has become Queen of the Vampires. She has some unusually difficult family and relationship problems

* A sister who is the antichrist, and is rebelling against her parent the devil by trying to be good (but has lethal ideas about how to do so)

* A fiance/husband who is King of the vampires

* Both mortal and supernatural friends.

The first six books of the series form a consistent and reasonably complete storywere more or less resolved in number six, "Undead and Uneasy." The seventh, "Undead and Unworthy," kicked off what Mary Janice Davidson calls a new "story arc." This book, "Undead and Undermined" is the fourth part of that new story.

Here is a list of the Queen Betsy stories to date (December 2013). The original six part comic series comprises:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"

There is a "Queen Betsy" novella, set at about the same time as book six, in Davidson's collection "Dead Over Heels," one of the three paranormal romance stories in that volume, and another in the similar collection "Undead and Underwater."

Then there is the follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels". This consists to date of

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)".
10) This book, "Undead and Undermined"
11) "Undead and Unstable"
12) "Undead and Unsure"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there.

Most of the "Queen Betsy" books are told in the first person by Betsy Taylor/Sinclair. Her style of narration is very "sex in the city" which may grate slightly on some readers, but I soon managed to get used to it. To give you an idea of that style, the first words of the series are "The day I died started out bad and got worse in a hurry."

Mary Davidson has great fun by mixing up the vampire genre as in "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or Laurell Hamilton's "Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter" series and Chick-Lit romantic comedy as in "Sex and the City." This series is way over the top, fairly sexy, and often very funny.

An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this book gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza wrote two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("Mclendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes this book is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed any of those books you will probably like this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature, and it is fairly raunchy, so not suitable for children. However, if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is good fun. If you enjoyed the rest of the series, and can face staying with it after the kick in the teeth at the end of "Undead and Unfinished," you will probably like "Undead and Undermined."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buy if you are a fan, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superficial and supernatural, hilarious chick lit novel. Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's book in the 'Undead' series. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel.

Betsy is a former model and is still a fashion fanatic. At the start of the series, on the morning of her disastrous 30th birthday, she is working as a secretary. Her main interests are designer shoes, designer clothes, and her cat. In quick succession she gets fired, loses her cat, and is killed in a car accident. It is a great surprise to her when she rises again as a most unusual vampire. It is even more of a surprise when, through a sequence of bizarre events, she becomes queen of the vampires.

Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind interfere with her life, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.

Still laugh-out-loud funny. I raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.

For those who are not aware of the series, here the list of Queen Betsy stories I read to date:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"
7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)"
9) "Undead and Unfinished"
10) "Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there. Know there are more recent book but have not read them yet.

It is not a great literature and it does not pretend to be (I think that was clearly established from the first book) so I find the negative reviews a bit petulant to be honest, you can't start moaning about short chapters, bad writing and unlike-able characters after 9 books into a 10 book series.

If you want an easy read novel a decent story and have some laugh then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2011
I have read reviews that this book is very disappointing.....i wouldn't say that, i found it weird how it ended as I think it could have ended with more story to it.
I love all the Undead series, I couldn't put the books down and as soon as it had finished one book I would have to buy the others books as soon as.
I also liked the bits how Besty would talk to anyone how she wanted to, and how everyone would bow down to her. Now I don't know what everyone else is like but I would love this to happen to me, so reading these books really gets me into it and enjoy the book.

Hope there are more books to come like this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Perfect Addition, 30 July 2009
Undead and Unpopular is an excellent addition to the undead range, I love these books and I feel they are far too short!!! but saying that they pack so much in and I have to say this one has a surprise element to it, I wont spoil it but it is a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betsy does it again, 26 Nov 2006
By 
MissyOwl "Gilly x" (Not So Sunny Wigan UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undead And Unpopular: Number 5 in series (Paperback)
Once more Betsy Taylor Queen of the undead graces us with her presence. And once again this is easy on the brain, funny, annoying and addictive. As usual sinclair is skulking around and now Betsy has even more issues. I know these books are a little bit predictable but to me that is part of their charm. Having read Franz Kafka and Josepf Conrad, this is pure pleasure. Ideal for the 16 to 40 something's Christmas stocking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing!, 15 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Undead And Unpopular: Number 5 in series (Paperback)
Having read and loved the other novels in this series I was really looking forward to 'undead and unpopular'- unfortunatley it was very disappointing indeed. More of a short story than a proper novel (use large print and hope that nobody notices!)the plot was almost non-existant consisting of several seemingly unconnected events that led nowhere.If you hadnt read the previous 'undead' books this one would make little sense as it constantly refers back to the other stories. overall it felt rushed and more importantly lacked the the humour of the other 'undead' novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing..., 8 April 2010
By 
K. Fenicka (Podkowa Lesna, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Relaxing chck lit is what I need after a loooong day at work & a full house after work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undead And Unpopular: Number 5 in series
Undead And Unpopular: Number 5 in series by MaryJanice Davidson (Paperback - 3 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews