Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECTLY BRILLIANT, 9 April 2006
Lord Perfect continues the tales of the Carsington brothers, sons of the Earl of Hargate, and stars the eldest, Benedict, Viscount Rathbourne, widower, businessman and political activist. His behaviour is so far above reproach that he is nicknamed Lord Perfect. So perfect, in fact, that when a friend has a problem with Lord Lisle, his unruly son, Benedict looks after him whilst his parents decide on their next move. Things become a little less pristine, however, when he meets Bathsheba Wingate, member of the dreadful DeLucey family, a widow with a young daughter, Olivia. They meet when their young charges get into a fight at an exhibition of ancient Egyptian artifacts; they both initially ignore their mutual attraction due to Bathsheba's unfairly dreadful reputation, but pretty soon Benedict is rationalising that Bathsheba would make an excellent art teacher for Lisle. Struggling with poverty after her noble family and in-laws all reject her, she rationalises that it would be foolish to refuse such welcome income. All very well, but then Olivia and Lisle run away to find hidden treasure. Olivia is clearly a chip off the old DeLucey block, and the sub-plot between her and Lord Lisle is delightfully comic. Bathsheba and Benedict are thrown together when they chase after the children, and it is not long before the sexual attraction between them becomes harder and harder to resist, and soon Lord Perfect is being very far from perfect, to Bathsheba's guilty pleasure.

What makes Loretta Chase so special for me is her idiosyncratic way of writing and her wonderful humor. For example, Bathsheba and Benedict repeatedly bump into each other. The first time, Benedict is looking for her, and Bathsheba says ' Had I not the presence of mind to throw myself in your way, you might have missed me altogether.' It happens again, and Benedict says 'I seem to have acquired a troublesome habit of standing in your way' . The plot fairly gallops along, involving, as well as Bathsheba's judgemental relatives, Lord Hargate, Benedict's father, and Rupert and Daphne from Mr Impossible-not to mention hidden treasure.

This is a wonderful romp resulting in redemption, happiness, laughter and passion for Benedict and Bathsheba- not bad for a man who was dying inside and an ostracised widow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post (#78) in January 2011, after borrowing from the local library.

It was so nice to read another Loretta Chase work ........... sheer genius ............ I love her style.

Although I have only read two others before, both of which were stories of this hero's brothers.

This time it was the turn of the "Perfect" (and so different from his brothers) Lord Benedict Carsington, heir to the Earl of Hargate and beautiful widow Bathsheba Wingate.

Bathsheba is determined to provide a worthy upbringing for her daughter, but the hoyden Olivia has other ideas.

Bathsheba's first meeting with Benedict is at the British Museum where Olivia lays about his young Nephew, Lord Lisle, with a sketchbook. Things go from bad to worse when the young pair then strike up a clandestine correspondence and run away to find the Disgraceful DeLecey family treasure.

It falls to Benedict and Bathsheba to bring them back without falling into the trap of their own utter attraction to one another, and causing a scandal ......... as if!!!

A worthy 5 Star read as always with this author. I need more of her books, but sadly some of them are out of print and not available at the library, so fingers crossed I can track them down - I especially don't want to miss the stories of the other remaining brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 11 Sep 2007
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Fast moving plot, well written and funny with some laugh out loud moments. At the same time it packs an emotional punch and the relationship between Benedict and Bathsheba is passionate and moving - the attraction of opposites always makes for an interesting love story. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read...., 10 Sep 2007
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
This is my first Loretta Chase and found it BRILLIANT!!!! It had all the mix in the correct doses! Both Bathsheba and Benedict seem real. I liked them both and the dialogues between them had me in stiches...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To finish of quartet, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. H. Williams "Hazel Nut" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Ordered to finish off quartet of Carsington Set. Came promptly and in very good conditon considering it was only 1p plus postage of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect lord perfect, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
lord perfect is the eldest of the carsington sons and is dissolusioned with life and love and generally very unhappy after a bad first marriage.he is in the british museum with his godson when he sees the most beautiful woman who is there with her very badly behaved daughter. the daughter has a fiery temper and wacks the godson over the head with a book after he critized her drawing and thus the two adults meet. she comes from a very bad connection of a ton family and lord perfect fights his attraction, but the two children run off together to find buried treasure that her dead father used to tell her about. thus the two adults have to chase after them. its all done with great humour and touching love and emotion between the two adults. nothing nasty happens. a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More like Lady Perfect. . ., 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
I adored all the Carsington Brothers series with Mirabel and Alistairs story vying with Daphne and Rupert's for top spot. (Don't get me wrong- I also adored Charlotte and Darius' story.) However, I got round to reading Lord Perfect last.

Lord Perfect a.k.a widow Benedict Carsington, Viscount Rathbourne is a model of perfection. I can imagine how strenuos this is for him so its a reliefe when all his collected cool unravels after meeting widow, single mother and raving beauty Bathseba Wingate of the Dreadful DeLucey's. Both the hero and the heroine are strong characters and as usual I was particularly drawn to the heroine but what made the book outstanding was her little terror of a daughter- Olivia and Benedict's brother in laws son Lord Lisle.

Little Lord Lisle is a logical, little man who needs order and rules and who dreams of wonder going to Egypt and uncovering its secrets. Olivia Wingate is a whole different animal- she's a Dreadful DeLucey, a wondeful mimic and trickster, she can unpick locks, cheat at cards, act out any scene and she's fearless. She views people as Marks, is constantly coming up ith Ideas and is always in search of a Noble Quest. She's a joy and her letter in particular are a thing of beauty. After the deathof her father- a nobleman who was cut off from his family for marrying Bathseba she is determined to help her mother and in her opinion the way to do this is to travel to Bristol to discover her ancestors treasure. Somehow she strong arms Lisle into going with her.

As the two adults chase after the children- and just as a note if I had a daughter as skilled as Olivia in getting from London to Bristol I'd be a wreck. However, it soons becomes apparent that despite her mothers respectability, goodness and talent as an artist she's as dreadful a Delucey as Olivia when she has to be. She's also a crack hand with a whip.Benedict did not stand a chance. Not a chance.

The only point of concern I have is that even though I'm not a mother, I have Auntys aplenty and not a one would be that calm if their daughter had run off to Bristol. But its a minor concern. The book is brilliant, absolutely brilliant. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully funny third book in the Carsington Quartet, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
This is the third book in a quartet of Georgian romances in which each book is better than the one before.

The first book in the series, "Miss Wonderful (Carsington Quartet 1)" is a better than average regency romance.

The second, "Mr Impossible (Carsington Quartet 2)" set in Egypt just after the end of the Regency period, is a highly entertaining romp which is a bit like a version of the film The Mummy [DVD] [1999] set 150 years earlier and with the supernatural bad guys replaced by mortal but evil and dangerous gangs of tomb raiders.

The third and fourth volumes, this book "Lord Perfect" and "Not Quite a Lady," are very funny and intensely moving respectively.

There is a fifth story following on from the Carsington quartet and set a few years later. The central characters are the two children from this book who by that time have grown up: it is called Last Night's Scandal.

Lord Hargate, a distinguished politician, had five sons, which we are told was "three more than he needed". The first two were sensible and responsible and soon married and settled down. The younger three, while good hearted, brave and handsome, had a tendancy to "tumble into trouble with depressing regularity" at great expense to their parents, and as each approached the age of 30, Lord Hargate put increasing pressure on them to marry the right woman. Sons three (Alistair) and four (Rupert) did eventually find appropriate matches in the first two books of the series. As we reached the conclusion of "Mr Impossible" the reader might have been about to share the assumption of Lord and Lady Hargate's eldest son Benedict that they can now turn their attention to the fifth and last remaining batchelor, Darius.

However, the first hint that the fifth son will have to wait until the fourth book comes in the last three lines of "Mr Impossible" as the eldest son takes his leave of his parents and they stand looking after him.

"Not Darius, I think" said Lady Hargate.
"No" said her husband, "Not Darius."

Benedict, who as Lord Hargate's eldest son and heir has the courtesy title of Viscount Rathbourne, has tried so hard to please his demanding father, and been so well behaved, that he has acquired the nickname of Lord Perfect. He is very wrapped up in parliamentary work and charitable activities. (Holders of courtesy titles do not usually have seats in the House of Lords yet, but they could and often did get elected to the House of Commons. Although the book does not say this in so many words, certain passages make most sense if you assume that Benedict is an MP.)

Benedict is a widower, and at the start of the book he has a boy in tow. Not his son: the lad is Benedict's nephew, Lord Lisle, the son of one of his late wife's siblings. Lisle is an honest and clever young man whose very strengths make him extremely difficult to deal with. He would much rather have a future as a scientist and explorer than as a member of the House of Lords. Benedict is looking after the lad while his parents decide what to do with him.

At a museum, Lord Lisle becomes involved in an altercation with a girl of his own age, Olivia Wingate, who is descended from a notoriously dissolute branch of a noble family called the "dreadful DeLanceys." As they rush to separate their charges, Benedict is brought into contact with Olivia's mother, Bathsheba Wingate (nee DeLancey) a widow who is trying to bring up her daughter respectably in very straightened circumstances because her late husband's family cut him off without a penny for marrying her without their permission.

Thanks to Lisle and Olivia, Benedict keeps finding himself in Bathsheba's company, and soon starts to wonder if he wants to be so perfect after all. And then the children get into a serious scrape and things start to go really wrong ...

Very amusing and entertaining, I can recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 2 April 2010
By 
A. Pack (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
I'm currenlty reading this book, and its got my attention. So far this is the best out of the Carsington series, the first two fall flat for me. So if your not bothered about reading books in order, then just read this one. That said I haven't read the fourth so not able to comment on that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 9 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
What a fantastic book. I won't go over the plot again here but it was very moving and very funny. I really didn't want their story to end. Loretta Chase is a stunning writer. I described it to my husband as jane Austen with b@lls!!! Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet)
Lord Perfect: Number 3 in series (Carsington Quartet) by Loretta Chase (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews