Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, humourous and a quick read
This is the 1st of the "Bar Cynster" series that I have read. It will not be the last!
Ms Laurens manages to combine a well written tale with humour and wit, great primary and secondary characters and a plot that has enough "meat" to flesh out a sensual love story.
I was very impressed with the communication between the main characters...
Published on 4 July 2001

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again: Cynster plot-line repeated once more
In All About Love, it's Rupert Cynster's turn to meet his fate, and he does so in the form of Phyllida Tallent, the daughter of the magistrate in the village whence Cynster has fled to escape his matchmaking family. They first meet when she almost kills him, which I suppose is one way of leaving a lasting impression.
There is a murder plot: the old friend whom Rupert...
Published on 1 Sep 2003 by Dr W. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again: Cynster plot-line repeated once more, 1 Sep 2003
By 
Dr W. Richards "wmr-uk" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In All About Love, it's Rupert Cynster's turn to meet his fate, and he does so in the form of Phyllida Tallent, the daughter of the magistrate in the village whence Cynster has fled to escape his matchmaking family. They first meet when she almost kills him, which I suppose is one way of leaving a lasting impression.
There is a murder plot: the old friend whom Rupert - Lucifer, as we¿re supposed to call him - has come to visit has just been killed. And Lucifer knows that Phyllida knows something about the murder, just as he later discovers that her life is in danger - which gives him a very good reason to insist on protecting her. And, being a Cynster, he does a lot more than just protect her. Which begins to sound somewhat familiar...
Here's the formula for any Cynster book: Alpha-male hero, dead set against marriage, does his best to escape the plotters among the rest of his family. And then, when he least expects it, he runs into an unusual woman, very different from the run-of-the-mill female in that she's independent and confident, and immediately he falls in love and wants to marry her. Said female, on the other hand, does not want to marry him - for various, usually not very convincing reasons. Cynster male then exerts multiple powers of persuasion, some not exactly fair, but the one thing he refuses to do is to *tell* her exactly why he wants to marry her. So if she's holding out for a declaration of love, she's unlikely to get one, and this is what carries the story, which could really have been over within 150 pages, on to close to 400 pages.
Oh, and there¿s always some sort of mystery/murder/crime plot, which generally gets far too much time and attention devoted to it, and which is usually pretty much paper-thin.
But clearly the formula works, since Laurens seems to be selling millions of the books in this series. This one's okay, although the murder plot dominates rather too much and at least some of the links were far too obvious from the beginning. If I¿d read it as a stand-alone novel, since I did quite like Phyllida and Lucifer I'd probably have given it a three or four; however, it really feels as if I'm just reading the same book over and over again.
wmr-uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, humourous and a quick read, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This is the 1st of the "Bar Cynster" series that I have read. It will not be the last!
Ms Laurens manages to combine a well written tale with humour and wit, great primary and secondary characters and a plot that has enough "meat" to flesh out a sensual love story.
I was very impressed with the communication between the main characters. Nothing annoys me more than an entire plot based around a misunderstanding that a 5 min mature conversation between the "hero" & "heroine" on page 1 would have negated the need for the rest of the story. In "All About Love" there are, of course, some misunderstandings but they are recognised and discussed in a mature and sensible way adding depth to the development of the characters as they discover their feelings for each other. The hero was perhaps a little "too" perfect, but what the heck - we can all dream. Although I don't share many of the character traits of the heroine, she was someone I would like to call a friend.
The love scenes were well crafted with a sensual more than sexual feel to them. The attraction was both believable and well developed. They worked their way through awareness to desire and finally love. This seems a much more realistic approach than the full blown passion at first sight that a lot of historical writers indulge in.
All in all a good read. My only complaint was that it was a very quick read. However, with a whole series out there this was just an appetiser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 4 May 2008
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Love: Number 6 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
I actually enjoyed this particular book in the series more than some of the others. It has far more of a developed romantic suspense story in it, rather than just the development of the romance between the two main characters, which is the case with some of the other Cynster novels.

Lucifer Cynster is invited down to Devon by his old friend and mentor in the world of collecting, Horatio Welham, because Horatio wants Lucifer's opinion on some special find that Horatio is very excited about. As Horatio is a specialist collector of books and Lucifer a collector of jewelry and silver, Lucifer can not imagine what Horatio wants his opinion on. However, as he is the last of the Bar Cynster's to remain unwed, Horatio's iniviation is an ideal way to avoid all the London match-making mama's and avoid marriage. He is sure that there will not be any interesting young misses in Horatio's village to tempt him into marriage. How wrong he is!

When he arrives at the village of Colyton, Lucifer finds a dead body in the dining room of the Manor and nearly ends up dead himself. Lucifer is sure that the enigmatic Phyllida Tallent, the very competent daughter of the local magistrate, knows more about the murder than she is letting on and he sets out to find out. However, Phyllida is a very independent 24 year old, used to organising both her father's household and the lives of the villagers - she is 'miss fix-it', and she has no intention of being intimidated by a mere dominating male. Why she has nearly all the eligable males in the district queuing up to marry her and will have none of them.

So Lucifer has a battle on his hands, both in how to woo the reluctant Phyllida and to discover the identity of the murderer.

Then it appears that the murderer is also trying to murder Phyllida and all Lucifer's protective Cynester genes come to the forefront.

Very witty and enjoyable, with likeable secondary characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving right along there...., 31 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Cynester clan, the succeptability of the males to the marriage 'curse', the spirited females, the interplay and supportive web of characters... However I found this installment something of a disappointment. Lucifer seemed too sketchily drawn and somewhat immature, a pale copy of his brother and cousins - Chillingworth already seems a more solid character, someone I already care about. I found I didn't much care about Lucifer or Phylliwhatsit - ugh, what a name. Here's hoping desporatly that Chillingworths' story lives up to expectations. And if you've never read any of the Cynister series START with this one, it's fun enough and the others only get better, they are a truely entertaining, thrilling, fun series of books that will leave you sighing in longing for a Cynister male in your life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't finished this yet but am enjoying the book. I like the characters and the story is good going along at a good place. (haven't got bored with it)
I still think the first of this series was best one but I've read them all up to this one, some better than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cynsters, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Love: Number 6 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
As I wrote in the review for the truth about love I like these books for various reasons I like knowing the family I enjoy it being set in the regency period I just like the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Jan A. Brummitt "cena" (lincs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Love: Number 6 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
as a fane of stephanie books she has not let me down with this one and as all the other they just keep on getting better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabtastic books would defo recommend these books as the plots are great. the characters are all different but all family, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic books read all 6 of bar cynster great plots and really fab characters have already recommended them to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best offerings, 28 Jun 2013
Review taken from my Blog in November 2010 (#30).

Lucifer (Alasdair) Cynster and Miss Phyllida Tallent of Colyton (Twin Sister of Jonas from #5 - Temptation and Surrender).

She was wilful and independent and reluctant to the very, very last .... proving that it's only possible to stall a Cynster when they have their mind set, not stop them!

At best a 3.5 star rating for the purposes of the blog, but on Amazon and Good Reads it didn't warrant upgrading to a 4 stars, so I have rated at 3, which would in my opinion be fair for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best kind of romance. Takes you away from everyday. I have long been a great fan of Stephanie Laurens and she never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All About Love: Number 6 in series (Bar Cynster)
All About Love: Number 6 in series (Bar Cynster) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews