Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written second book in the Cynster series
"A Rake's Vow" continues to introduce the reader with the charming Cynster Bar males in Regency England.
This is the story of Vane Cynster, best friend of Devil Cynster whose story is wonderfully delivered in "Devil's Bride" by this author. Vane Cynster is just as handsome as his cousin and he has a special commanding presence about him that makes him stand out among...
Published on 24 April 2003 by ambersaxon696

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre read
Review taken from my Blog Post (#50) in December 2010 after borrowing the book from the local library:

What can I say .... it was pleasant, but not much of a story compared to some of her other efforts.

Vane Cynster (Spencer) takes shelter from an on-coming storm (and fate) at his Godmother's home and meets her Niece, Patience Debbington...
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Toodles Book Club


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Areally good read, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book which has everything to satisfy lovers of historical books - and 'Lovers' too! The writing and good ambience plus the side tale of theft and mystery allcombine to make it 'unputdownable' and it made my flu' bug easier to bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like this book. Typical of author, with good period details, lots of action, and very sexy! I have read several other books and enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not as good as Devil's Bride., 15 April 1999
By A Customer
I enjoyed the book but found it to drag more than I liked. I was expecting more along the lines of Devil's bride. I wished Patience had more spunk and less "patience." I don't, however, think the book a waste of time and certainly will read the next in the Cynster series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cynster men do not beg!, 31 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
Not nearly as well written as "Devil's Bride". I was disappointed to see one af the Cynsters have to beg to get attention and the woman he wanted it from didn't have enough spunk to suit him. Let's hope Richard has better luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cynster series, 18 April 2012
I've never come across a more addictive series. It's great following the Cynster family members through all these books. I'm on my 5th one, and got plenty more to read. FAB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fantastic fab books, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read fantastic stories great characters and really brilliant plots lovely endings defo recommend to anyone that loves a good fiction read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars storyline abit weak., 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read. but not as entertaining as other stephanie lauren books. weak plot and didnt grab me like her books usually do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
Easy reading regency romance - enjoyed it (although I still think Eloisa James is the best in this genre).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read it because of Vane, 21 Sept. 1998
By A Customer
Truth be told, this book is below average.
I'm really a fan of stephanie laurens and her previous book, devil's bride was like the book of the year! The cynster series is fantastic. However, Vane's story, A rake's vow, seems to fall short. Patience (our dear heroine), is too similar to her name. Being cautious to enter a relationship is one thing, but her hesitance give SLOW a new name. It reaches the point of being illogical. Vane is still true to form, the cool,elegant hero. Read the novel for Vane.
This reader sincerely hopes the next book will be better. Laurens has immense talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved reading it, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster) (Paperback)
A typical Lauren's book.I loved reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster)
A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 8 Feb. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews