Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written second book in the Cynster series
"A Rake's Vow" continues to introduce the reader with the charming Cynster Bar males in Regency England.
This is the story of Vane Cynster, best friend of Devil Cynster whose story is wonderfully delivered in "Devil's Bride" by this author. Vane Cynster is just as handsome as his cousin and he has a special commanding presence about him that makes him stand out among...
Published on 24 April 2003 by ambersaxon696

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre read
Review taken from my Blog Post (#50) in December 2010 after borrowing the book from the local library:

What can I say .... it was pleasant, but not much of a story compared to some of her other efforts.

Vane Cynster (Spencer) takes shelter from an on-coming storm (and fate) at his Godmother's home and meets her Niece, Patience Debbington...
Published 15 months ago by Toodles Book Club


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars storyline abit weak., 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read. but not as entertaining as other stephanie lauren books. weak plot and didnt grab me like her books usually do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fantastic fab books, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read fantastic stories great characters and really brilliant plots lovely endings defo recommend to anyone that loves a good fiction read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, 17 July 2013
By 
Erica (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second of the Cynster novels, this is in many aspects a much better effort than the first one. Central to all of them (or at least the first six) are the Bar Cynster: six men of around the same age, all brothers or first cousins and all in want of wives, even if they do not know this or want to admit to it.
This is Regency England, shortly after the Napoleonic Wars, and the Cynster clan encompasses your typical alpha males. Outwardly they are perfect gentlemen, always turned out to perfection and looking frightfully dashing. They are arrogant to their fingertips, never prepared to admit that they are wrong or to bow down to anyone, certainly not a woman. The leading male in this book, Vane, summarises this to the leading lady early in the book: "I am not a gentleman," he drawls confidently to her. "I am a conqueror."
If you can handle your men this testosterone-laden, then this book is a joy to read. Vane is much the same as his cousin Devil (subject of the first book), but thankfully our heroine, Patience Debbington, is sufficiently different from Devil's wife Honoria, and this isn't just a repeat of book one but with different names. The whodunit subplot is also much better handled, in that this time I didn't figure out the culprit until much, much later in the book.
The plot is pretty simple. Vane, on his way to somewhere or other, is forced to seek shelter with his godmother Minnie by an unexpected thunderstorm. As an aside, this appears a popular theme with this author: book one featured a thunderstorm, and there is another thunderstorm later in this book. I'm wondering whether this is a veiled way of showing that the Cynsters only bow to forces of nature, but I digress.
Minnie always plays hostess to a variety of people, and this time her strays include her niece Patience, who has taken her seventeen-year-old brother Gerrard with her to prepare him for introduction into the aristocratic ton. Vane sees Patience, desires her, and the rest is pretty easy to predict. The subplot revolves around a petty thief who steals objects of minor value and someone wandering the ruins at night with a light, but it's all just window-dressing to the centrepiece of Vane and Patience's building desire for each other. I found most the secondary characters fairly interchangeable, which wasn't helped by two of them being called Edgar and Edward, so I could never remember who was who, but again this did not detract from my overall enjoyment of the book.
The romance is sizzling, the sex is searing. I'm always curious as to how the men in this era manage to be so confidently experienced in the carnal arts when a woman is considered fallen if she has sex outside of marriage, but I haven't often seen the whole `experienced man with green virgin' trope this well-executed. I must also give Vane credit for actually being able to utter the words `I love you', since Devil was too much of an alpha to do so.
All in all a gem of a romance, even if most of the other characters take second or even third fiddle, and while I hope that the whole range of manly Cynster men won't start to get boring, I'm very much looking forward to the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A romantic regency read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this book in paperback originally. I am hoping to get all the Cynster series on my Kindle. I enjoyed the characters in the book & you really can picture how big & strapping Vane is. I did think there could have been a bit more in line of troube to challenge Vane and the rest of the Cynster's like some of the other books. But other than that I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great hero, likeable heroine and good plot to keep you guessing. The author clearly knows her time period, and you feel as though you can properly escape there. The Cynsters are a great bunch of characters and the authors sketches them out through the story which makes you want to read the rest of the books in the series to discover their stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, the characters were plausible and although the plot somewhat obvious it was a good romp. Some of the characters could have been enlarged on a little more but a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice easy read and the best way to forget winter outside. Thanks to the seller and the writer for the perfect escapism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Laurens....., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this book several times and with all her books especially the Cynster family are very readable, hot fit heros, adorable heroines, lots of romance and loving... and a good story brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Laurens always gives what she promises-good books to reaad in bed!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy Stephanie Laurens books.It's the mens characters that I enjoy most.Always the hard man,but so soft and loving on th inside.Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a rakes vow, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good romance with a lot of twists and turns, it was a good holiday read, a nice bit of escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster)
A Rake's Vow: Number 2 in series (Bar Cynster) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 8 Feb 2007)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews