Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loretta Chase back on top form
Ms Chase remains one of my favourite romance authors. Knaves Wager and Lord of Scoundrels are top of the list of favourite romances. Now they are joined by Mr. Impossible!
What a fantastic story! The characters are great, the pace is fast, the dialogue funny, the chemistry almost palbable.
Set in Egypt during the early 1820s, scholar Daphne Pembroke is looking...
Published on 27 April 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay
After reading great reviews about this book, I thought I best start at the beginning of the series and read Miss Impossible, which was a pleasant read. I thought now I'm onto the good one, whilst yet again it was a pleasant read. It wasn't as great as I thought. Rupert was a smart, shrewd man, which was obvious, but the people of his acquaintance for some reason didn't...
Published on 2 April 2010 by A. Pack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loretta Chase back on top form, 27 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Chase remains one of my favourite romance authors. Knaves Wager and Lord of Scoundrels are top of the list of favourite romances. Now they are joined by Mr. Impossible!
What a fantastic story! The characters are great, the pace is fast, the dialogue funny, the chemistry almost palbable.
Set in Egypt during the early 1820s, scholar Daphne Pembroke is looking for her kidnapped brother and when seeking help at the English consulate has the assistance of Mr Rupert Carsington thrust upon her, the Consul being equally determined to remove Mr Carsington as he is in helping Mrs Pembroke. Mr. Carsington is known for not being overly blessed in the brain department and Daphne reconciles herself to the fact that he will provide the brawn and she the brains in the search.
Mr Carsington (the brother of Alistair in Miss Wonderful) is one of my favourite heroes, he is funny and smart (as the reader gradually discovers), easy going, good humoured,kind to animals; and above all; likes women.
If you have never read Mr Chase before this is a good place to start. I promise you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining Regency Indiana Jones romp, 23 Aug 2006
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"That man is an idiot." So says widow Mrs Daphne Pembroke of Rupert Carsington, fourth son of the Earl of Hargate, when she first meets him in a jail in Egypt.

Rupert Carsington is a likeable, aimiable, impulsive and reckless man, who attracts disaster like nails to a magnet. His father has sent him to the consulate in Egypt to get him out of

the way for a while. However, he's only been in Egypt for a few weeks and has already been in jail several times for flouting unjust laws and behaviour on the part of police and guards.

Mrs Daphne Pembroke is the young widow of an elderly clergyman, who has had her confidence badly erroded by her pious, prudish, jealous husband. She is an emensely intelligent scholar of classical languages and Egyptian hyrogliphics, in an age when women were not supposed to be intelligent, just be pretty and dim. Her husband was jealous of her intelligence and did his best to dim her zest and enthusiam for her studies, life and of course sex. Nice women were not supposed to like or enjoy it.

Daphne's brother Miles, allows her to pass him off as the scholar so that she can continue with her work. They are in Egypt so that she can try and crack the code of the ancient language.

Rupert Carsington however, is a different type of man than Daphne is used to. He may be a "blockhead" as she refers to him, but it doesn't take more than a few minutes in her company for him to realise that she is actually the scholar, not her brother. Rupert is emensely turned on by Daphne's intelligence. Infact, he's turned on by everything about her.

Miles has been kidnapped by someone who thinks that he has cracked the code of hyrogliphics and can lead them to a new rich tomb. Daphne seeks help at the British Embassy and the only man they have spare is the disaster prone Carsington. Just the excuse the consul needs to get rid of him - foist him off on Daphne.

What ensues is an adventurous hunt down the Nile for Miles. The series of adventures that the pair are thrown into, allows Daphne, via Rupert's help, to show herself at her best, as a strong woman. Her confidence in herself is restored and Rupert also explains her late husband's attitude towards her was his, the husband's fault, not hers.

Very entertaining and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Chase Never Fails to Satisfy - 4-1/2*, 14 May 2007
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Setting - Egypt 1821 --- Having arrived only six weeks earlier in Egypt, Rupert Carsington, the fourth son of the Earl of Hargate, was his family's favorite son but a disaster because wherever trouble and chaos reigned, Rupert was sure to be in the middle of it. New to Egypt, he hadn't really had enough time to size up the society's structure as of yet, and being a gentleman, in spite of his hellion ways, he was not about to watch a soldier beating to death a man unable to defend himself without coming to his aid. So, English aristocracy or not, Rupert was promptly tossed into the deepest dungeon in Cairo.

At approximately the same time, news of Mrs. Daphne Pemperton's brother Miles kidnapping had reached her ears, and she soon discovered that the English consulate had no one available to lend her aid, other than the troublesome young Carsington sitting in jail. Daphne was not be deterred and if this was the only help she was going to get, she would storm the depths of the dungeon and bring the brainless but brawny and brave fool out to help her cross the desert in the hopes of rescuing her brother. To her way of thinking, they could form a partnership, she would provide the brains, and the big handsome (she couldn't help but notice) brute Rupert, would provide the brawn! What Daphne didn't expect was that the desert heat would be nothing compared to the heat Rupert instilled in her nether regions.

*** Having recently finished the first (?) novel in the Carsington family saga MISS WONDERFUL, I looked forward to hearing more of the rest of the troublesome sons of the Earl of Hargate and found this to this to be a worthy entry. While I certainly found the previous novel to contain a bit more humor, this did have its moments. Rupert was fashioned with a wry sense of humor that was a perfect complement for Daphne's reticence and scholarly personality as Rupert was able to break through the walls she'd erected around herself. Daphne was a bit more complex having suffered mental abuse by her husband, an older and condescending man, who jealous of her brain, belittled her and really did a number on her self-esteem making her think that her passionate nature was something to be ashamed of, rather than to delight in. Rupert who never really took things seriously was a perfect fit, balancing out her practical nature, and discovering that he was actually amazed and enthralled by her `huge brain' and totally delighted in her as a person. Mr. Impossible proved to be for Daphne, Mr. Perfect! Another Splendid Read by Ms. Chase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen meets "The Mummy", 20 Aug 2010
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
This second book in the Carsington Quartet is what you'd expect if you took the film "The Mummy [DVD] [1999]," set it about 150 years earlier in 1821, and replaced the supernatural elements and villains by two rival gangs of Tomb raiders. The bad guys in the book are entirely mortal, but very ruthless and dangerous.

Like the film, it's a comedy thriller set in Egypt and resolves around archaology.

This is part of a quartet which consists of:

1) "Miss Wonderful (Carsington Quartet 1)"
2) This book, "Mr Impossible"
3) "Lord Perfect (Carsington Quartet 3)"
4) "Not Quite a Lady."

The heroine, Daphne Pembroke, is basically a Georgian version of Rachel Weiz's character Evie. Daphne is a very intelligent but rather unworldly widow and scholar, who is fascinated by egyptology. Daphne is on a quest to use the Rosetta Stone to decipher Egyptian Hieroglyphs. She also has a heart-shaped face "altogether out of the common run of beauty," and a body that drives half the male characters in the book mad with desire.

Unfortunately her brother Miles Archdale, who has more than a little in common with John Hannah's character in the film (Evie's brother) has disappeared, and she suspects that he has been kidnapped.

In desperate need of a man to help her search for her brother, Mrs Pembroke pays for the release from Cairo's prison of Rupert Carsington. Apart from being the fourth son of a peer rather than an Irish adventurer, Rupert has more than a little in common with Brendan Fraser's character Rick O'Connell - he is handsome, brave to the point of temerity, adventurous, charming, and always getting into ridiculous scrapes. At first he certainly seems to be "Mr Impossible."

Daphne's initial reaction to Rupert is to think him a complete idiot: she tells him that she has hired him to provide the brawn, and she will provide the brains. Neither of them has the least idea quite how dangerous their quest will be and how much both brawn and brains will be needed ...

The background research which has gone into this novel, particularly with regard to the Rosetta Stone, Egyptian Hieroglyphs, pyramids and tombs is of well above average quality for a popular romance set in this period.

Although it was recognised almost immediately when the Rosetta Stone was rediscovered in 1799 that it contained three different versions of the same decree of Ptolomy V in hieroglyphs, demotic Egyptian text, and ancient Greek, it took many years before scholars made enough progress in deciphering these texts to enable them to read other ancient Egyptian inscriptions and literature confidently.

This book is set in 1821, which was the year before the decipherment of the Egyptian texts from the Rosetta Stone was announced by Champollion in Paris. Without giving away the plot of "Mr Impossible" let's just say that if an Egyptologist of that period was thought to have made progress in learning to read ancient Egyptian inscriptions and hieroglyphs, it is quite possible that this might have made his research a matter of interest to grave robbers.

PEDANT ALERT: 1821 was also, of course, the year after the Prince Regent became King George IV so strictly speaking this novel is set just after the Regency period.

Amusing and entertaining, I can recommend this book and it made me want to read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent, excellent, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post (#88#) in February 2011, after borrowing book from library.

Right, lets just get right to a rating a big fat 5+ *****+ Stars from me - I love, love, love, LOVE Loretta Chase and the story of the Carsington boys.

Who could fail to fall in love with Rupert Carsington .... I couldn't and ultimately neither could Mrs Daphne Pembroke.

It was a set up, of course, but then so were the marriages of Alistair and Darius too. Only Mr Perfect seemed to find his own lady love.

Lord Hargate is fed up with the amount of money his 5 sons are costing him, so Rupert was dispatched off to Egypt to work for the Consul .... there he is thrown into jail for assisting a beggar. Simultaneously, Daphne Pembroke's brother is kidnapped and it's suggested that she let Rupert assist her with finding him.

Assist probably seems to strong a word, as she finds him a great lumbering ox with not a brain in his head. Unlike her .... she has an enormous brain ... .but has had to try and cover it up using her brother as camouflage.

They set out on a journey down the Nile to find her brother .... but they also find each other along the way.

Hop and skip to the book shop to get this one (don't run it will alert others to the fact that these books are really rather, lovely, entertaining, funny and great to read, you don't want anyone getting them before you do!)

By my count I just have one further brother to go, Geoffrey Carsington story but I don't think she has actually written it yet.

There is Last Night's Scandal to read though, which features Olivia Wingate-Carsington the step-daughter of Lord Robert and Peregrine Lisle, his nephew. I need to score that one soon as reading a Loretta Chase book makes me impossibly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 July 2008
By 
SCS (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
I actually borrowed this edition from the library. Having read Lord Perfect and Not quite a lady first, I knew I what I was getting into in terms of how this author writes and the likely plot.

I must say I was totally blown away, I loved this book, really loved it. Its not just your usual regency romance the setting of Eygpt is fantastic and the chemistry between the two characters is very real. I got very caught up in the story and their adventure together. In particular the main hero Rupert is a very engaging character who I found very humerous.

I am looking to buy my own copy, I loved it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars carsington series, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
not quite as strong as lord perfect in this series but a pretty good book. set in egypt with rupert as the impossible hero, sent there by his father as he is always in scrapes and generally getting into trouble. it has the good humour that loretta chases's book specialize in and he is a very good hero, doesn't quite have the intense romantic theme running through it as some of her other books but well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Impossible, 20 Aug 2012
By 
Thomas Page "BaggyGeoff" (wolverhampton W.Mids UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
Over to my Wife on this one:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters came to life and kept me interested throughout the book. The plot was believable and I could see the events happening as described. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... writing mysterious messages with kisses ........, 24 May 2012
By 
StarPlayer (B'ham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
I first read this back in 2006 and I can certainly say - it has aged well.

I really enjoyed it more this time around. I believed in the Hero and the Heroine. I enjoyed their journey to LOVE and I believe in their HEA.

I wish Loretta still wrote like this! Some lovely romantic moments and witty oneliners. Quite a few laugh-out-loud moments. I wish there had been more of Leena who had some funny lines. I'm glad I revisited it.

Rupert Carsington, fourth son of the Earl of Hargate, is his aristocratic family's favourite disaster. Wherever he goes, trouble follows. Still, Rupert's never met an entanglement - emotional or otherwise - he couldn't escape.

Scholar Daphne Pembroke wants him to rescue her brother, who's been kidnapped by a rival seeking a fabled treasure. Their partnership is strictly business: she'll provide the brains; he, the brawn. Simple ...........

4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, 2 April 2010
By 
A. Pack (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) (Paperback)
After reading great reviews about this book, I thought I best start at the beginning of the series and read Miss Impossible, which was a pleasant read. I thought now I'm onto the good one, whilst yet again it was a pleasant read. It wasn't as great as I thought. Rupert was a smart, shrewd man, which was obvious, but the people of his acquaintance for some reason didn't see this. I brought the third book Mr Perfect at the same, which I'm now reading, I can honestly say so far this is the best out of the three in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet)
Mr Impossible: Number 2 in series (Carsington Quartet) by Loretta Chase (Paperback - 4 Jan 2007)
7.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews