Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2006
WOW A Great Book,

Another winner for Nora Roberts/JD Robb with her futuristic series set in New York City, 2060.

Eve Dallas has got a double homicide to solve ~ two young lovers ~ who work for the same prestigious accounting firm ~ killed on the same night. And it looks as if it could be work related.

Plus Eve & Roarke have now got to go to birthing classes with Mavis so they will know what to do when its time for the baby to arrive. This was so funny that i couldn't help but laugh, Eve who is a homicide lieutenant and faces death, murder and getting shot at without a blink and Roarke a self made billionaire, just about fall to pieces whenever they have to think about the baby or the birth.

Then when Eve throw's a baby shower for Mavis, one of her friends doesn't show up and they find out nobody has seen her for a few days, Mavis asks Eve for a favour: please find her before something bad happens to her or her baby.

So now Eve has got her plate full, a double homicide, a missing pregnant woman, and Mavis due to give birth at any time.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another great book, I don't understand how she does it!

When introduced to the J.D. Robb series of books about 18 months ago I was dubious, a detective in 2060 how does that work. Yet it does. The characters are believable and even though technology has moved forward the world forward at a tremendous rate the characters still face the problems we face today.

If you've met Eve, Roarke, Peabody, Mavis etc. before you'll love this book. If you haven't where have you been?

Our tough cop, Eve Dallas, as usual has to handle multiple murders and a mysterious disappearance. The things she finds most difficult to deal with is being part of Mavis birthing team. This is probably the most human of the Dallas series but I think it is better for it, our heroine deserves some breaks, life isn't all about money.

Good story, good character development, good ending, good book! So good I read it in a weekend.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
if you've read the series as i have it's even more enthralling. on it's own it would still be a very entertaining read for anyone looking for futuristic crime drama.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Eve finds herself in the unenviable position of being Mavis's birthing partner along with Roarke. If you have read any of these books you will realise this is not where Eve would want to be and she has a serial kiler to keep her occupied too. I have to say this was a real revelation and at last you see a quite softer side of Eve and Roarke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Once again I am riveted by JD Robb's Born in Death series, her books are thoroughly entertaining especially the characters, I love Eve Dallas and her earthy attitude towards life - all her characters are so well described that they are brought to life and one gets to know them intimately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
another "can't put down" book . the series gradually has provided backgrounds to its characters and it all fits very comfortably together. I feel I know the area, the people and the whole thing. It is a bit like following the local news with updates and background .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2006
Seems like ages since the last 'Death' book came out but I know it was probably only a few months. As usual, this book picks up right where the last one left off (namely the short Christmas story in this case) and follows Lt. Eve Dallas and her gorgeous husband Rourke as Eve solves another murder case.

The book offers the standard amusing relationship between Eve and her partner Peabody as well as the usual crew of McNab, Feeney, Mavis & Leonardo... But although I loved this latest installmentm my main comment would be that this book is 90% JD Robb and 10% Nora Roberts.

The ending is far more cutesy and rom-com than Nora's previous JD Robb books. That is no bad thing and brings some light relief to the ending but I do prefer it when she is less cheesy.

I also sometimes wonder - what did Rourke do with his life before he spent so much time helping Eve?

All in all, another great book from Nora Roberts (writing as JD Robb) and a worthy addition to the series. Long may it continue.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This book was purchased for a present so I would not have any idea what or how good the book was but have returned to purchase more by the same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Although I love all of the in death books I have read so far the wit and humour in this one really rings the characters to life. Well written Nora.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Eve Dallas, Roarke and the rest of her team solve yet another tangled and twisted case. Excellent read - keep up the good work Ms. Robb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.