Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2005
It's been 3 months since Betsy killed vampire nasty Nostro and reluctantly assumed her role as Queen of the Vampires (see Undead and Unwed)... in short it's time to get a job and earn some shoe money. By chance she lands her dream job selling designer shoes in Macys; despite the fact her new boss Mr Mason feels her sales technique a little unorthodox. Betsy views each pair of shoes as her own exquisitely stitched creation and is loathe to see any leave her protective sphere. Beware all shoppers in scuffed trainers!!!

As termites invade her home, Betsy finds herself moved into a huge mansion; a residence her non vamp friends Jessica and Marc feel suitably reflects her new royal status. Queen Betsy now has plenty of room to entertain large numbers of the undead, including the luscious Sinclair and his feisty sidekick Tina. Oh and let's not forget the resident ghost, a 5 year old cutie named Marie that initially only Betsy can see (another Queenly power foretold in The Book of the Dead - a power she can and does bestow on her friends to prove she isn't going mad). Betsy really needs to read this book!!

When helpless (??) vampires start getting staked in the streets, Betsy is informed that as their Queen it is her duty to investigate and put a stop to these murders. When she obliviously wanders into an ambush set up by a group of human vampire-hunters named The Blade Warriors, she doesn't have the common sense to be afraid. Instead she openly mocks their name before complaining when they shoot her - in fact Betsy spends much of her time in this book being shot at, doused in holy water or staked. Her week gets progressively worse when she realises that the individual killing her subjects must be another vampire. Now if she can just catch the traitor, stop the undead dying again, avoid Sinclair, solve Marie's mystery, read The Book of the Dead (without going mad hopefully) and avoid Detective Berry (after he learns that an attractive blonde woman righted an overturned cab using only 2 fingers), all whilst keeping her job at Macys (and therefore retaining her 60% staff discount) then her week will definitely improve.

Fans of Undead and Unwed will certainly enjoy MJD's humorous and lighthearted sequel. Betsy is marvellously oblivious to things she does not want to acknowledge or deal with (including her feelings for Sinclair) and her relationship with her human friends is hilarious. Jessica and Marc love having a Vampire Queen as a best friend - after all it's a great way to meet interesting and drop dead gorgeous people. I eagerly look forward to the next instalment in this excellent series - Undead and Unappreciated is due for publication in July 2005.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2005
I can't believe how addicted to the Berkley Sensation 'Undead and...' novels I have become. I literally put down the first novel then ran into my nearest bookshop demanding for the next copy. They're fantastic to read and Betsy Taylor is such an ass kicking girlie with such great comic attitude meets Buffy's 'taking myself oh so seriously - not'. I simply love it and I really want to read more. I am sucked in I didn't think I would be but I truly am. I generally saw myself as an avid Anne Rice and Tanith Lee gone vampire goth but oh no this novel is a breath of fresh air from the standard scary dark bone chilling but slightly weirdly romantic vampire novel. It's a laugh, a romantic and action packed laugh with teeth. Put me out of my misery and give me another story, please. Pretty please with icing and chewing gum flavoured lippy on top!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2004
Superficial and supernatural, Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's second book in the 'Undead' series. Still laugh-out-loud funny, my only criticism of this one is that is seemed rather rushed at the end, leaving several loose ends that were tied up in only a few sentences. Nonetheless, I still raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
Buffey she ain't. Alicia Silverstone should play Betsy Taylor in the film version of this hilarious chick lit novel. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel trying to hold down her dream job in the shoe department at Macys. Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind as last time interfere, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
I have to say that I found ‘UNDEAD AND UNEMPLOYED’ to be much more entertaining than it’s predecessor ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’. While I enjoyed ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’ I found the main character Betsy to be excessively irritating and the story, although funny at parts, to be a bit predictable. However, in Mary Janice Davidson’s second novel in this series, Betsy is still somewhat irritating but not excessively so and the story was much better thought out adding a bit more mystery to the story. Also new and interesting secondary characters were thrown in with the very charming vamps Sinclair and Tina (my favorite characters in both books) making for an even more interesting read.
While this series may not gotten to a roaring start for me it seems to be getting better with every novel and has the potential to be very good if Betsy tones down the sarcasm a little and Davidson turns up the romance between Betsy and Sinclair. This is an amusing and very likable series and I look forward to reading the next installment and in keeping with the theory of each one being better than the last, I am hoping ‘UNDEAD AND UNAPPRECIATED’ will garner a 4 star rating but for now this one gets 3 ½ stars!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This entertaining vampire romance is the second of a series which incongruously combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller. Think "Sex in the City" meets "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," from the viewpoint of a new vampire.

The book begins with a police record of an interview with a taxi-driver, who describes how he witnessed a supernatural attack, and how a mysterious, tall, very pale, and very beautiful girl had driven off a vampire. Those who have not read the first book will have no idea what is going on, but those who previously read "Undead and Unwed" will recognise Betsy Taylor from the description.

It continues the "Queen Betsy" comic vampire series, in which the initial group of stories consists of the following six books:

1) "Undead and Unwed"
2) this book, "Undead and Unemployed"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy."

There is also a "Queen Betsy" novella, set at about the same time as book six, in Davidson's collection "Dead Over Heels," one of the three paranormal romance stories in that volume, and another in the similar collection "Undead and Underwater."

There is also a follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels".

The follow-up "Queen Betsy" series consists as at December 2013 of

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)".
10) "Undead and Undermined"
11) "Undead and Unstable"
12) "Undead and Unsure"

"Undead and Unemployed" is mostly told in the first person by Elizabeth Taylor, who prefers to be called Betsy for obvious reasons and is a most unusual vampire. Unlike other vampires, Betsy can say the name of God, and touch the bible or holy water without being burned or hurt.

At the end of the previous book, Betsy was proclaimed as Queen of the Vampires, but she doesn't want the position. Instead she goes looking for her dream job: as death has not changed her fascination with expensive shoes, Betsy tries to wangle herself a job working on the night shift selling designer shoes at top store Macy's.

But although Betsy would prefer to turn her back on her title as Queen of the Vampires, the other undead are not ready to turn their backs on her. A gang is murdering vampires, and the others want Betsy to do something about it. This kicks off a chain of events which soon becomes hysterical - that is, hysterically funny ...

Mary Davidson has great fun with the incongruity of mixing up the vampire genre with chick-lit romantic comedy. An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this series gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza write two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("McLendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes the "Queen Betsy" series is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed one of those books you may well enjoy this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature but if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is pretty good fun. I can recommend both "Undead and Unwed" and "Undead and Unemployed," and enjoyed reading the rest of the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2004
BETSY TAYLOR IS STILL "UNDEAD" AND STILL UNEMPLOYED.
SHE DECIDES TO GET ANOTHER JOB - AT THE "RE-EMPLOYMENT" CENTRE.
WHILE SHE WORRIES ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO AFFORD TO GET HER BELOVED SHOES, VAMPIRES ARE BEING KILLED AND HER "SUBJECTS", INFORM HER THAT AS SHE IS THE QUEEN OF THE UNDEAD - WHICH SHE STILL CAN'T GET HER HEAD AROUND - IT IS UP TO HER TO FIND OUT WHO IS KILLING VAMPIRES AND WHY? - THAT UNFORTUNATELY MEANS,SHE HAS TO HAVE THE HELP OF THE DELICIOUS AND VERY SEXY VAMP - SINCLAIR(yum,yum) .
THERE IS A LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL!!! - BETSY LANDS A DREAM JOB WORKING IN THE SHOE DEPARTMENT AT NONE OTHER THAN MACY'S.
THIS IS ANOTHER FABULOUS BOOK FROM 'MJD'. THERES PLENTY HERE TO GET YOUR TEETH INTO (sorry!!). TERMITES,A NEW HOUSE,A GHOST,A DERANGED AND JEALOUS VAMPIRE AND THE DREADED STEPMOTHER - WHO IS PREGNANT.
THIS IS JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST, IT'S FULL OF LAUGHS AND VERY ENTERTAINING.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Superficial and supernatural, hilarious chick lit novel. Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's book in the 'Undead' series. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel.

Betsy is a former model and is still a fashion fanatic. At the start of the series, on the morning of her disastrous 30th birthday, she is working as a secretary. Her main interests are designer shoes, designer clothes, and her cat. In quick succession she gets fired, loses her cat, and is killed in a car accident. It is a great surprise to her when she rises again as a most unusual vampire. It is even more of a surprise when, through a sequence of bizarre events, she becomes queen of the vampires.

Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind interfere with her life, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.

Still laugh-out-loud funny. I raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.

For those who are not aware of the series, here the list of Queen Betsy stories I read to date:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"
7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)"
9) "Undead and Unfinished"
10) "Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there. Know there are more recent book but have not read them yet.

It is not a great literature and it does not pretend to be (I think that was clearly established from the first book) so I find the negative reviews a bit petulant to be honest, you can't start moaning about short chapters, bad writing and unlike-able characters after 9 books into a 10 book series.

If you want an easy read novel a decent story and have some laugh then go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
The second book in a series and we find Betsy pretty much as we left her in the first book. Selfish, self involved, shoe obsessed and foul mouthed. She is still quite naive bordering on dumb and has a lot of pent up rage (really lust and even love) for Sinclair.

Betsy wants to get back to normal and that means paying bills and getting a job, with her rich friend taking over her big bills and Sinclair demanding she takes his side Betsy is more determined to get a job and do things her way.

Betsy drives me mad, her character is very unlikeable, some of it your reading and thinking oh my God this is just silly yet I am compelled to read and already starting the 3rd installment. I don't believe the author meant for it to be taken seriously, it is filled with silliness and nonsense but as much as it annoys me I also enjoy it (total contradiction I know).

Whilst this is the second in a series you don't have to have read the first one to read this as the first book is summed up along the way with explanations and condensed versions of the first book so you can follow it fine. Easy to read as before, enjoyable if it is irritable so a 3/5 for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2007
I totally love the undead series. This is my second book and so far I absolutely love them! Betsy is an extremely witty character and the sexual tension between her and Eric Sinclair is fantastic! I really enjoy reading MJD books and am becoming a very enthusiastic fan.

One thing though, some of the phrases to describe situations and characters in the books are a tad bit repetitive. That's the only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars. Also in the previous book I found a few typos HOWEVER, this hasn't put me off the book because the characters are so lovable and you really get to build a relationship with them and get engrossed in the story. I absolutely enjoy reading MJD's books! FANTASTIC!

A MUST-READ for those looking for a giggle and sauciness at the same time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse