Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but I am not buying another one.
The whole series of these books is very very good and Mary Janice Davidson is and extreamly talented writer. She has the talent of turning nothing into witty and funny, which is really what this book is about. Its a 'feeder' book, the one that opens plots for other future books, so nothing really happends however it is still a good book.

Why am I not going to...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by igorthehunchback

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but disappointingly half-assed.
I WANT to like this book, I really do. I loved the first two books in the Queen Betsy series but the last two offerings have been at best only vaguely amusing.

The problem is the quality of the writing and length of the book. It starts off promisingly with the development of Sinclair and Betsy's wedding, the relationship with Laura (Betsy's hellspawn...
Published on 9 Aug 2006 by Ms. B. M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but disappointingly half-assed., 9 Aug 2006
By 
Ms. B. M. Jones "granny_beth" (Seaford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
I WANT to like this book, I really do. I loved the first two books in the Queen Betsy series but the last two offerings have been at best only vaguely amusing.

The problem is the quality of the writing and length of the book. It starts off promisingly with the development of Sinclair and Betsy's wedding, the relationship with Laura (Betsy's hellspawn half-sister) and Betsy's popularity (or lack thereof)as Queen, but frustratingly, once again rushes to the disappointing climax with half the storylines hanging in mid air. For example, Betsy and Sinclair have a massive fight brought about by her revelation that she can hear his thoughts. He storms out,frightened and questioning whether he is right for her after all, as he cannot hear his Queen's thoughts as predicted in the Book of the Dead. However, all this is forgotton in a trice, when Betsy has a brush with Death and it's never mentioned again. Similarly, it is discovered that there is a leak, resulting in Betsy's vampire agony aunt column printed in the mainstream papers. No-one is ever blamed for this and it is again, forgotton. At one point, Laura has a massive spasm and attacks one of Betsy's feral vampires but again the change of character is only briefly explained and in no depth.

I'm also getting a little annoyed with the way Betsy talks, practically every sentence prefaced by "Dude". She sounds more like a stroppy teen than a woman of 30. The character hasn't matured at all. I think if I was a centuries-old vampire, I'd want to off her too. Perhaps I'm expecting too much from such a light-hearted, cheesy series but the rushed story, lame ending and 2D characters detract from the pleasure of reading this book. It feels like the writer got bored half-way through and couldn't wait to end it, which is pretty much how I felt too. Still, if you just want a bit of a laugh, it's worth reading. Just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but make them longer, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
I enjoyed the storyline of this undead book. There was plenty going on- the build up to the wedding, problems between Sinclair and Betsy, Laura showing some worrying character changes etc. However, I agree with a previous reviewer that a lot of it is left hanging in the air, unexplained at the end of the book.

I suspect that it will all be explained in the next book, but when this one is so short, I think it's a bit of a cheek! I wish Davidson would condense some of the books into one rather than churning out such short ones. I have ended up reading two at a time because it feels more like a satisfying read (expensive business though!).

So, I love the series, find it amusing and compelling enough, I care about what happens to the characters and I will continue to read the books. I just think that, for the price of the book, there ought to be more content in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but I am not buying another one., 1 Aug 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
The whole series of these books is very very good and Mary Janice Davidson is and extreamly talented writer. She has the talent of turning nothing into witty and funny, which is really what this book is about. Its a 'feeder' book, the one that opens plots for other future books, so nothing really happends however it is still a good book.

Why am I not going to buy another one ?

It comes down to words written. The book itself is 221 pages, quite large font, with half line spaces consequently there are very few words here.

I am sure you can actually get more words in a short story than what is in here.

I agree that quality does not have a price however it does have a comparison, and comparing it to others of the same quality, you have to say its much too thin for a full priced book.

In summery then I would love to buy more, but not until more words are written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love these books, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant put these books down, each one so far are all great, on the 7th book in 3 weeks really enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars undead, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New reader of Ms Davidson, find them amusing and facetious, hopefully just as the author intended, look forward to reading more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like the previous one, you will love that one, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
Superficial and supernatural, hilarious chick lit novel. Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's book in the 'Undead' series. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel.

Betsy is a former model and is still a fashion fanatic. At the start of the series, on the morning of her disastrous 30th birthday, she is working as a secretary. Her main interests are designer shoes, designer clothes, and her cat. In quick succession she gets fired, loses her cat, and is killed in a car accident. It is a great surprise to her when she rises again as a most unusual vampire. It is even more of a surprise when, through a sequence of bizarre events, she becomes queen of the vampires.

Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind interfere with her life, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.

Still laugh-out-loud funny. I raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.

For those who are not aware of the series, here the list of Queen Betsy stories I read to date:

1) "Undead and Unwed (Undead Series)"
2) "Undead and Unemployed (Undead Series)"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated (Undead Series)"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy"
7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)"
9) "Undead and Unfinished"
10) "Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)"

In my opinion you will get most out of these books if you read them in order. I would start with "Undead and Unwed" and work on from there. Know there are more recent book but have not read them yet.

It is not a great literature and it does not pretend to be (I think that was clearly established from the first book) so I find the negative reviews a bit petulant to be honest, you can't start moaning about short chapters, bad writing and unlike-able characters after 9 books into a 10 book series.

If you want an easy read novel a decent story and have some laugh then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars undead and unreturnable, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Riley "jackie riley keenreader" (s yorks england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
this is one of the undead series which are very enjoyable.the main charecter is the vampire queen and the trouble she gets into funny but she always gets ir right in the end the way all likeable books end. will carry on readind the books .the delivery was on time book good cause it was new thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOOK 4 ~ The one thing that I've noticed with these books is that they are fast paced and that the action never really lulls. Consequently, it is hard to resist reading them for longer than I really have time for! The writing style is simplistic and easy to read, even when one is really tired. The humour is uplifting and the characters are fun. Eric Sinclair (The King) is almost Darcy (Pride & Prejudice) like with his pride, quiet reserve, sincerity, misplaced protectiveness and passionate nature.

The one drawback I have recently found is the increasing inclusion of the devil in these stories. I am a bible~based Christian and believe that the devil is a real entity (unlike vampires & werewolves) and so usually try to avoid books where he is mentioned as they make me uncomfortable.

This book follows Betsy's increasing involvement with her newly discovered half sister, Laura ~ who just happens to be the daughter of the devil. Betsy finds herself torn, as although she enjoys being with her sister, Laura is increasingly showing a dark side that had hitherto been hidden behind a goody~goody facade. Betsy still finds herself subject to rebellion from her older subjects, who reject her idea of treating humans kindly and with compassion. Eric, who has hitherto been completely confident about the their intertwined destiny, is suddenly plagued with doubts when Betsy accidentally reveals a secret. There is a serial killer roaming their locality and his latest victim decides to start harassing Betsy (who, in addition to being a vampire, is also the Queen of The Dead) . . . . . . just another quiet week in Endina!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Betsy IV: Buffy meets SITC meets "Ghost Town", 22 July 2011
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
In which our fashionista Vampire Queen sees dead people, and they annoy her ...

This vampire romance is the fourth of a series which incongruously combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller. Think "Sex in the City" meets "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," from the viewpoint of a new vampire. And in this volume, a bit like Ricky Gervais' character in "Ghost Town" she is also pestered by ghosts seeking favours ...

The initial "Queen Betsy/Undead" series consists of the following six books, which are best enjoyed in this order:

1) "Undead and Unwed"
2) "Undead and Unemployed"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated"
4) This book,"Undead and Unreturnable"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy."

There is a "Queen Betsy" story in "Dead over Heels" which is a collection of three paranormal romance novellas. There is also a follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels".

This second series could be described as a "marmite" storyline which some of those who enjoy the first series like and others hate. To date (July 2011) four books in the follow-up "Queen Betsy" series have been published, which are

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)"
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)"
10) "Undead and Undermined."

"Undead and Unreturnable" is mostly told in the first person by Elizabeth Taylor, who prefers to be called Betsy for obvious reasons and is a most unusual vampire. Unlike other vampires, Betsy can say the name of God, and touch the bible or holy water without being burned or hurt.

By the beginning of this fourth book, Betsy is partially reconciled to her new position as Queen of the Vampires, but some of the centuries-old ones are not at all happy to see a newcomer in this position.

Betsy is trying to organise a big wedding to her partner Sinclair but has a number of problems to worry about. Apart from the irritating ghosts, her half-sister Laura is showing signs of having inherited her mother's temper - and when your mother is the devil that could be a real problem ...

This is one of the shortest books in a series not known for length and is to some extent a "bridge" novel between events earlier and later in the series.

Mary Davidson has great fun with the incongruity of mixing up the vampire genre with chick-lit romantic comedy. An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this series gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza write two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("McLendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes the "Queen Betsy" series is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed one of those books you may well enjoy this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature but if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is pretty good fun. I can recommend both "Undead and Unwed" and "Undead and Unreturnable" and enjoyed reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 9 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) (Paperback)
i have to admit i bought the first book for something to read when ill. I became quite hooked with betsy and her adventures. A funny book which is very light reading. Cant wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy)
Undead And Unreturnable: Number 4 in series (Undead/Queen Betsy) by MaryJanice Davidson (Paperback - 8 Jun 2006)
5.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews