Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hero 2 Die For
This is the forth Dark Hunter novel and is the most explosive yet. It is the story of Wulf(who u may remember from Night Embrace) and Cassandra who is a very unlikley heroine as she also happens to be part Apollite.
Cassandra expects like the rest of her people that she will die on her twenty seventh birthday. But she really knows very little about her mothers people...
Published on 20 May 2004 by Ms. C. M. Winton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was looking forward to this...
So Wulf is a Viking, I'll remember to tell that to my Swedish friend (she likes to tell everyone that her ancestors are Vikings), anyway back to the book in hand..
I love the interactions between Ash and Artie! they are awesome, and I also love this mysterious Katra, however the romance between Wulf and Cass was slightly missing something.
Prehaps it was because...
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by Ms. Sneha Pednekar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hero 2 Die For, 20 May 2004
By 
Ms. C. M. Winton "katzw82" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the forth Dark Hunter novel and is the most explosive yet. It is the story of Wulf(who u may remember from Night Embrace) and Cassandra who is a very unlikley heroine as she also happens to be part Apollite.
Cassandra expects like the rest of her people that she will die on her twenty seventh birthday. But she really knows very little about her mothers people except they seem to think killing her will make their problems go away. One night when their decided to attack her Wulf steps in.
Simple enough for him save the lady and leave. No one ever remembers him five minutes after he leaves anyway except this was one lady he could not get out of his mind. She isnt forgetting like the rest and when he learns tthat when she dies so too do the sun and life. Well now things get interesting as he has got to protect the daughter of a race he is sworn to kill.
This book has to be SK best yet full of the unexpected plot twists and secrets slowly being revealed this is one book you wont want to miss. SK has just put a whole new turn on vampire romance. All your favorite characters from the other dark hunter books make a return and you learn a few new things about Ash.
If you have not read the others in the Dark Hunter set do so or this book wont really make much sense. SKs characters are so vivid and alive in every book that she can take any secondary chracter and give them a whole story of their own with out ever leaving the one before.
Thank you SK for another keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any romance fans library!!!, 18 April 2004
By A Customer
Wulf is an enigmatic Viking warrior who only has one problem, any body he meets apart from his own family and other Dark hunters forgets him after they meet him. A useful but isolating power! Enter Cass the Apolite princess whose death daimons think will end the apolite curse ( but may end the world!). In this book Sherrilyn Kenyon expands on her series taking a more in depth look at the mechanics of the apolite world. Intertwining tradgedy, comedy and romance to make this a must read!! Again reacquainting us with characters from earlier in the seies, and introducing new characters, in particular Nick who adds much of the comedy to the book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph from Kenyon, 20 Aug 2004
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CASSANDRA's life is definitely not that of a normal 26 year old college student. Being half Apollite she is destined to die a horrible and extremely painful death on her 27th birthday due in only 8 months time. It also transpires that she is the last surviving member of the line of APOLLO (the Sun God) - should she die childless the Sun literally dies with her. Unfortunately staying alive proves difficult as a race of Daimons believe their own curse will be lifted should she die. Hunted all her life CASS has witnessed the deaths of her mother, sisters and bodyguards at a young age and only her own formidable fighting skills and those of her latest bodyguard KAT have kept her alive. CASS is aware that her time is short and despairs of dying before finding true love and having children. Ignorant to her unusual heritage and aware that time is quickly running out she resolves not to bring a child into her world - a baby who will never know its mother and fated to be hunted by Daimons from birth.
WULF is a viking warrior tricked by the God LOKI to find himself an immortal Darkhunter in service to ARTEMIS, the Goddess who holds his soul. He is unfortunately the victim of a futher curse and discovers that no one but another DH or a direct descendant of his brother's bloodline will remember him 5 minutes after leaving his presence. This results in an overbearing protectiveness towards his only living relative CHRIS,a young man wrapped in cotton wool from birth and regularly urged by WULF to ..ahem .. sow his wild oats.
Manipulated by the Gods, WULF finds himself in a position where he must guard CASSANDRA, a member of the very race he has hunted and killed since becoming immortal. Seeking sanctuary in ELYSIA, an underground APOLLITE community, the reader is introduced fully to their society for the first time. We (and WULF) certainly have our eyes opened and it appears that not all Daimons are nasty soul sucking killers!
This book has an almost frenzied pace, red hot passion and loads of action, all skillfully entwined to create an exciting and imaginative read. We learn more of the Atlantean Destroyer and at last meet members of the elite Daimon squad, the SPATHI. ASH and SIMI crop up (their conversations always raise a smile) and of course we have the usual bucket load of vengeful Gods, Demi-Gods and evil Daimons battling for dominance over an oblivious human race. SK certainly answers questions in this book but raises even more interesting ones ... what is KAT's history and her ties to both ARTEMIS and APOLLYMI and who/what exactly is ASH, also referred to as the ELEKTI in this book and regarded as a formidable opponent by the Destroyer herself? I have my own theories but SK does keep the reader dangling (my only complaint). The DARKHUNTER series raised a wonderfully high standard from the start with JULIAN in FANTASY LOVER (though of course fans will know he is a Demi-God rather than a DH) and all the ensuing stories have been fantastic. KISS OF THE NIGHT certainly equals its predecessors and will definitely captivate lovers of true romance and fantasy. Yes there is a lot of action in this book but it in no way overshadows the blossoming relationship between WULF and CASS. I finally finish with a plea to SK - I am definitely available for Squire service .... any vacancies please please please give me a call!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was looking forward to this..., 29 Jan 2009
By 
Ms. Sneha Pednekar (LDN, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss of the Night (Dark Hunter 7) (Paperback)
So Wulf is a Viking, I'll remember to tell that to my Swedish friend (she likes to tell everyone that her ancestors are Vikings), anyway back to the book in hand..
I love the interactions between Ash and Artie! they are awesome, and I also love this mysterious Katra, however the romance between Wulf and Cass was slightly missing something.
Prehaps it was because of how amazing Dance with the Devil was, but whatever! I still wanted more of what Kenyon normally gives in heaps!
I loved the interactions between Wulf and Chris! and the last part of the book was funny and lovely. and of course the story between Urian and his father Stryker, it quenched my thrist for the dark-hunter world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start, poor finish, 12 Oct 2005
By 
Voracious for Books "Voraciousforbooks" (South London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss of the Night (Dark Hunter 7) (Paperback)
Sherrilyn Kenyon is an amazingly talented writer. I love her Dark Hunter universe, and can't get enough of the books. This book has a great start, with half Appolite Cassandra Peters, getting trapped in a bar with the souless Daimons about to dine on human souls and then Dark Hunter Wulf the Viking saves the day and gives the heroine a very hot kiss before disappearing off. But the character development is sacrificed because this particular books gives us so much information on the accursed Appolite race. So their relationship becomes the classic tale of forbidden love, and Cassandra Peters is just another 'damsel in distress' which is very disappointing for us readers who prefer more independent 'take charge' heroines. To be honest Sherrilyn Kenyon is too good a writer to write a bad book, but this isn't on par with the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another lifetime., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another great book in the series. Suppose to some these books will seem more than a little far fetched but it's nice to read something totally different and different they are. Not read any of her books until recently but really enjoyed. Refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy this series and this was the best yet I really liked that it showed things in shades of grey rather than simple good guys and bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark-Hunter book 5, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Kiss of the Night is the fifth book in the Dark-Hunters series and another fabulous book by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I have been absolutely devouring these books since I started them and the only reason I'm happy to be so late joining the DH bandwagon is that I've got so many books to work my way through before I'll have to start waiting between instalments like everyone else! I was a little confused when I first started reading this one because the time line for the story starts at around the same time as events in book 3, Night Embrace. I was worried that I'd somehow ended up reading the books in the wrong order but it doesn't take long for events to catch up and overtake the previous books.

We hadn't seen a great deal of Wulf in the previous books but I found myself quickly coming to like him. Thanks to a curse placed on him Wulf has a very unusual effect on anyone he meets, apart from members of his family any human he comes across forgets everything about him within 5 minutes of their meeting. As soon as Wulf walks away he is wiped from their memory which makes it incredibly difficult to form any kind of lasting friendships or even interact with members of his staff. Other than his fellow Dark-Hunters the only person who remembers him is his distant nephew Chris. Wulf drives Chris insane with his overprotective ways and thanks to the pressure he puts on him to produce an heir but the two of them have a strong bond and there is a lot of love between them. It was actually really nice to see one of the Dark-Hunters who still has a connection to his family centuries after he became immortal but you can imagine how hard it must be for Wulf to watch his family members continually age and die while he always remains the same. The grief of losing so many people has changed him and Wulf finds it hard to let people get too close.

When he first meets Cassandra he has no idea who she is or that she is an Apollite and therefore one of his greatest enemies. He saves her life almost by accident and never expects to see her again but when their paths next cross he is shocked to discover that she remembers him. That is something that has never happened before and instantly draws him to her, until he finds out about her heritage that is. Cassandra knows very little about the Apollites other than the fact that they killed her mother and her sisters and that they have spent years hunting her too. She doesn't understand why they are after her but she wants to make the most of the time she has left before hitting her 27th birthday kills her. Wulf is torn by his protective feelings towards Cassandra when who she is makes her automatically his enemy. She makes him question everything he has ever been told about the Apollites and he doesn't know what to do with the new information. I have to say I loved the way Cassandra stood up for herself and her people, she makes it very hard for readers not to sympathise with the Apollites and even to a certain extent the Daimons which is something I wasn't expecting.

I don't want to say too much more about the story other than the fact that I loved it. Wulf and Cassandra have a very difficult journey to face and it seems almost impossible for them to have any kind of happy ever after but thankfully Sherrilyn Kenyon is able to masterfully turn things around for them both. It was also great to catch up with some of the characters we already know and love and see how they're getting on. I'm falling more and more in love with Acheron every time he steps onto the page and I absolutely can't wait for his book! Kiss of the Night is a fantastic instalment to the series, a really emotional read that tugs at your heartstrings and will completely change your opinion of certain characters by the end. I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Sherrilyn Kenyon books!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It doesn't matter which order you read them in as you will catch up but I have to read in order and the list is on her website! Any of the dark hunter books are worth a read and have read them all at least twice now! If you like fantasy and lots of gushy love then give them a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story. loved the book. sherrilyn kenyon is a fantastic writer, I cant wait to read more from this author., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story. loved the book. sherrilyn kenyon is a fantastic writer, I cant wait to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Kiss of the Night (Dark Hunter 7)
Kiss of the Night (Dark Hunter 7) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Paperback - 6 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews