Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2011
Though this is an excellent read it would have been doubly interesting if there'd been at least some info about all Sun's failures so this book is not as complete as the 70s one.
So Jimmy Isle and Wanda Ballman are just 2 of the artists who made records for Sun yet time passed them by.I always reckoned that Jimmy Isle's Diamond Ring could have been a big one-Sun paddled in the waters of high school pop for this and many which followed like Tracey Pendarvis-and after all no less than Adam Faith covered the song on his first album
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
I recently visited Sun Studios in Memphis, and found the visit to be excellant and well informed. The guide was just fabulous and to see the birth of rock n roll just great.
This book fills in some blank spaces and is well worth the read.
It gives you a different aspect of Sam Phillips in places, but assures you that he was in fact the SUN KING of Rock n Roll
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
A must-have for any fan of rock'n'roll and how it all began.This book covers every aspect of "Sam the Man's" contribution & I cannot recommend it highly enough-just buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
having been to sun studios earlier this year i found this book to be a good read i would recommend it to anyone
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Read this before visiting Sun Studio's earlier this year, love everything about this studio in Memphis and the great Sam Philips. This man found a lot of talent, he may not have kept hold of it, but he discovered it and without him the 50's would not have been the same!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
I met Sam Phillips twice, late on in his life - about 12/13 years ago. By then he was very much into his 'myth' and it was quite hard (and at times despairing) to get real sense out of his fascinating but rambling answers to questions. That said he was the dog's and had many interesting tales to tell.

This book does a good, workman-like job of putting his story into a sensible, chronological order. I would've like some more about his later life, especially having met him when he was probably past his best.

It's not deathless prose but it does the job.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
NICE BOOK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)