Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book
Wonderful little book that I first heard Oprah Winfrey speak about when she interviewed Jon Kabat-Zinn on her Soul Series. She said that she keeps a copy on her bedside and also puts one on each of her guests bedside tables when they stay over. I dip into at least a page of this or Letting Everything Become Your Teacher, each day for an insightful doze of Mindfulness. I...
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by Mr. Clifford M. Carder

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False packaging
Please be aware that this is being sold as a Jon Kabat-Zinn book, as excerpts from Coming To Our Senses. It IS NOT Jon Kabat-Zinn who has compiled this book, but Hor Tuck Loon, "a Dharma friend, [Jon Kabat-Zinn] has yet to meet" and who is thanked "for the concept, design and execution of this book."

Another thing is the "Buddhist Light" implications, with Hor...
Published on 12 Jun. 2012 by Zoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 15 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
Wonderful little book that I first heard Oprah Winfrey speak about when she interviewed Jon Kabat-Zinn on her Soul Series. She said that she keeps a copy on her bedside and also puts one on each of her guests bedside tables when they stay over. I dip into at least a page of this or Letting Everything Become Your Teacher, each day for an insightful doze of Mindfulness. I would love to see this available for the UK Kindle market too! Would also recommend buying the audio version of Coming to our Senses for a slightly condensed version of the main book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 24 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
JKZ is so very gifted at expressing simple truths about our levels of awareness, from moment to moment. I use this little book almost daily, to pick out a page and ponder on the wisdom expressed, and carry that with me throughout the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False packaging, 12 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
Please be aware that this is being sold as a Jon Kabat-Zinn book, as excerpts from Coming To Our Senses. It IS NOT Jon Kabat-Zinn who has compiled this book, but Hor Tuck Loon, "a Dharma friend, [Jon Kabat-Zinn] has yet to meet" and who is thanked "for the concept, design and execution of this book."

Another thing is the "Buddhist Light" implications, with Hor Tuck Loon being a Dharma friend and the choice of "108" lessons. Not in accordance with the Eightfold Path, my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
original, informative - although it doesn't help you to find the meaning of life, it does help you to cope with what you encounter in life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good sound bites, 13 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
A shot of mindfulness every day sets me up nicely for the challenges that lie ahead. Kabat Zinn is a real poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arriving At Your Own Door, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
Very good - simple, short chapters to read when you can snatch the time in a busy day.I've already ready it 3 times. I'm buying a copy for my Mum (a young 82) who lives alone. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
Actually got me rather confused about mindfulness. I love mindfulness but some of the extracts have contradicted what I know to be true about mindfulness especially lesson 6 about non-attachment. To me mindfulness and non-attachment is about knowing who you are deep in your soul and not letting external factors take you away from knowing your soul. And not let external factors be a reflection of who you are, like how you look for example. Well this book seems to contradict that and has left me confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than a positive affirmation calendar, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
this book is for dipping into to see just what you can do to be mindful and self compassionate.
easy to read snippets make it a perfect every day book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
W. Aisthorpe "wendy" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness (Paperback)
A lovely book on Mindfulness, I bought this as a gift for someone, I read it first (to make sure it was 'worthy' enough as a gift, and it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness made simple, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book for the ones who are starting to take the path of mindfulness. 108 daily lessons! very strong and wise words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness
Arriving At Your Own Door: 108 lessons in mindfulness by Jon Kabat-Zinn (Paperback - 24 Jan. 2008)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews