Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and sensible advice
I have just finished reading this book and wish I had been able to read it two years ago when I was going through a nasty divorce. My children suffered horribly all through the process because I was an emotional wreck and was obsessed with getting my own back on their dad. Two years on and I can look back and see what I did wrong - if I had had this book then I would...
Published on 25 Aug. 2007 by Sue Pollock

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too extreme
Some parents have difficulties considering children at all during the process of divorce and become self centered, this book proposes to parent to forget about themselves and live for their children only. I found the approach too extreme and generally not helpful for a realistic upbringing a parent happiness is paramount to children balance. here is another book that I...
Published on 17 Mar. 2011 by M. Bongrand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and sensible advice, 25 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and wish I had been able to read it two years ago when I was going through a nasty divorce. My children suffered horribly all through the process because I was an emotional wreck and was obsessed with getting my own back on their dad. Two years on and I can look back and see what I did wrong - if I had had this book then I would have known that what I was feeling was normal but that I didn't need to react as I did. Their dad was to blame for the end of our relationship not them and he did want to keep seeing them and spending time with them but I couldn't let them as I was so angry. Now they see him rarely and I know that they miss him. If you are going through divorce, read this and get your ex to read it. Children don't deserve to be caught up in their parents mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic help in my situation., 28 July 2007
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
I have just split up from my partner and she has got my two daughters living with her. We have argued and argued. This book has helped me to negotiate with her and I now see my girls more often and they are happier. I was gutted when my relationship split up but the book also has lots of advice for dealing with that. The book is written in a clear, direct way that is easy to follow.It explains things from a child's point of view and shows you ways to improve communication. I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for separating parents, 21 April 2010
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
I work professionally with families and children. This is, in my opinion, the best book for separating parents that is on the market. It focuses absolutely on the needs of the children and it REALLY understands both the positions of mothers and fathers, which are quite different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something for everyone, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
I am forty seven and recently got divorced from my wife of 23 years by mutual consent. We were really worried about how this would affect our kids so we bought as many books as possible on the subject and read them from cover to cover. I am relieved to find that what we thought we were doing right was actually right! We always wanted to provide the kids with a new way of life that included both of us and our kids go from my home to thier mom's and back several times a week to suit themselves. We live close by so its easy for them to do that but I thought they might think we were weird or wonder why we split up in the first place it was so easy. This book made me realise that we are very lucky in being able to still respect each other and our children and that so many other people don't get to this place very easily. Putting Children First gave me lots of new ideas too, for things to do with the kids and for ways of working out what to do in the future if one of us meets another person, which is bound to happen sooner or later. Anyway just wanted to say that not everyone finds it impossible but even those who find it easy need reassurance that they are getting it right and this book does just that in a very straightforward way. Its got something for everyone and I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book to give to your kids dad!, 26 July 2007
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
Easy to read, deals with all of the difficult bits about bringing up kids after divorce. Gives straightforward advice and ideas to sort out the things that cause hassle between parents. Particularly liked the bits about surviving after breaking up and the bits about what kids feel and what to do about it. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I work with a lot of separated or separating parents. We have to acknowledge that the vast majority of parents want to protect their children from the effects of divorce but find the advice of well meaning emotive friends confusing and the demands of the legal system and financial considerations damaging. This book enables parents to priortise the needs of their children and consider their own health and well being during extremely stressful times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
Holly (Auchendinny, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
An excellent support for all parents, not just separated ones. Even in the most amicable of situations this highlights the need for parents, grandparents and all other extended family members to remember that children are innocent and will always love both parents regardless of personality or actions. Also good tips on how to keep communicating even in the most painful of situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read for those going through a seperation, 21 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents (Paperback)
I found this book really helpful and not just with the children in mind, it also helped with emotions/feeling the parents go through. At first I skimmed the book all the way through and know that I will refer to it again and again when specific issues arise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for a very tricky area, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great advice for a very tricky area. The book helped me gain a reasoned, pragmatic perspective and to rise above the selfishness and petty resentments that can get in the way of dealing with issues relating to children while hurting from a breakup. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone separating (to get an appreciation and 'heads up') or for those already separated to keep an even keel. Those in the counselling profession could probably pick up a tip or two also. It definitely helped my perspective a huge amount and gave me clear suggestions on what works and to 'putting the children first'. Quite invaluable. Thank you to the Woodall's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of insights, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant book which helped me through a difficult time - not least helping me understand how my ex felt, and have sympathy for her, despite all the awful things she had done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents
Putting Children First: A Handbook for Separated Parents by Nick Woodall (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews