Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read on the subject of getting assignments as a freelance writer.
There's no padding or 'fluff' in here -- Mr Crofts' gets straight down to the nitty gritty of how to get work.
This isn't a book for people who want to learn how to write. It's a book for writers who want to make a decent living from their...
Published on 19 Sept. 2003 by Mr. M. P. Lewin

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacked depth of knoweldge
I bought this book after reading the reviews and felt compelled to write a review myself. I was expecting an all meat and no fluff guide, but unfortunately, the reverse is true. While there were some good tips scattered throughout, in general the book was more like an overview of the world of freelancing than an in-depth guide on how to excel in this area. In particular,...
Published on 21 July 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog-eared with use?, 15 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
I read so slowly that most books are dog-eared by the time I finish them, but my copy of the Handbook still looks new.

This is my first guide on freelance writing and I can't imagine a better introduction on how to make money from it. Andrew Crofts has published so much that he must know what he is talking about. It all sounds right, and everything seems useful.

I like his style - lots of advice in easy prose. He isn't lecturing; he's is offering information, challenging you and coaching. It's so readable it really is difficult to put the book down.

For a beginner like me, I think Crofts has covered everything I need at the moment. Look at the Contents page - it's a pretty thorough list from: `you' (the reader/new writer) and your `ideas'; to `writing' in the real world of editors and taxes.

I think this is a good book - inspiring, enjoyable and practical. In time, I anticipate my copy will be dog-eared with re-use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In fact it's packed with so much useful information, don't miss this book anyway, 26 July 2014
By 
Suzi (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
A gem of a book. If you think this is the direction you want to go in with your writing, don't miss this book. In fact it's packed with so much useful information, don't miss this book anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly I think i was sent an older version than ..., 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
Sadly I think i was sent an older version than what I thought I had purchased. A lot of the information is out of date but there are a few rid bits that can port over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
Very usefull book for the up and coming author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
A gift, but we'll received, by all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freelance Writers Handbook., 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
I have not had time to read it all yet, but what I have read so far is excellent. Thank you. I do not need to compare it to anything
else as every thing I have had has been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended..., 31 May 2009
By 
Angela C "Angela" (Fowey, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business (Paperback)
There are lots of books about writing for a living, but this one has got to be one of the better ones. An essential reference book to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the above, but still useful, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Jamie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as indispensable as the WAAYB but still useful. Proablem with all these things is, you can basically get all the info online anyhow. Still, nice to have an actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Freelance Writer's Handbook: How to turn your writing skills into a successful business
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews