Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has changed the way I eat
A brilliant book which had me quickly ordering the recipe book. It explains well how to control your blood sugar levels and keep hunger away. I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking for an easy way of learning about Low GI foods (GL is glycemic load, which is a more realistic approach to GI foods.. in serving sizes as opposed to per 100g).
Published on 10 April 2006 by Tracey Henderson

versus
116 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pants
This book is very disappointing, I bought it thinking it would tell me the GL scores for more foods than the ones listed in the Holford diet, therefore making life easier when buying/eating food. However the lists are no more detailed they are the same as in the other books instead they are listed in categories of which meal they are suitable for. The only real use I can...
Published on 20 Feb 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pants, 20 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
This book is very disappointing, I bought it thinking it would tell me the GL scores for more foods than the ones listed in the Holford diet, therefore making life easier when buying/eating food. However the lists are no more detailed they are the same as in the other books instead they are listed in categories of which meal they are suitable for. The only real use I can see of this book is that it’s small and light to carry around ie. to the supermarket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Holford GL Counter Review, 28 April 2010
By 
Ms. C. S. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
I didn't find this booklet to be user friendly at all. I had hoped for a full alphabetical listing of all foods and their GL value. This book is arranged with listings under various headings (categories of food, type of meal etc). Organising the information in this way made it time consuming to find the information I was looking for. Also I found the food listings were limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiny and repetitive, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
No problem with the author whose diet I follow with great success. I wanted this guide to give me GL's for foods not in the LOW GL RECIPE BOOK. From the pic you think it's larger, it's tiny. Also it repeats the tables several times and gives very few GL's for other foods. If you have the recipe book you do not need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Holford Diet GL Counter, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
Book is OK, requires a lot of concentration to navigate around, some discrepencies in information. Rapid delivery from Amazon as usual and free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has changed the way I eat, 10 April 2006
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
A brilliant book which had me quickly ordering the recipe book. It explains well how to control your blood sugar levels and keep hunger away. I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking for an easy way of learning about Low GI foods (GL is glycemic load, which is a more realistic approach to GI foods.. in serving sizes as opposed to per 100g).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
The package arrived promptly, got it for a good price and item itself is great so i am very pleased, exactly what i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent small and handy reference book, 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
Taking on the GL diet is simple enough but getting used to the right food, amounts and frequency are more difficult but this handy little GL counter is a great help and gives good ideas for meals and helps you calculate the GL number
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars small quick guild book, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
this is something i can carry with me as a quick reference book on GL foods to eat for healthier life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good to have GL counts all in one little book, 24 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
i found this good to have in the beginning. easy to look things up, but you get to know the gl counts quickly so you could do without it really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing content, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods (Paperback)
The first part was interesting and instructive if a little repetitive. The first 11 pages of Part 2 repeated the required intake for breakfast followed by a values chart of a variety of foods. Unfortunately this table was repeated for every meal and snacks with only a few additions and a two page explanation of the allowance for that meal. It would seem far more sensible to have one main value list with more items included and that would leave space for some of the recipes he promotes throughout the listings. However that would not sell his recipe book would it? Very disappointed as I expected more from a renowned author. Also only 93 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods
The Low-GL Diet Counter: Discover the GL count of hundreds of foods by Patrick Holford BSc DipION FBANT NTCRP (Paperback - 5 Jan 2006)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews