Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant book, 4 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
I recieved this book thismorning and have finished it in a day, I have literally laughed and cried. Would recomend this book to anyone who has suffered from any sort of eating disorder, ocd or even depression as it really gives you insight into what a parent must go through. beautifully and honestly written by both mother and daughter, skillfully avoiding too much triggering information such as exact weights so could be read by those in recovery. would recomend it to all parents so they can be equipped to recognise the signs of eating disorders and ocd and realise how differently mother and daughter can experience the same situation. I wish my mum had read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look at life with a E.D., 16 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book as it was written from two different perspectives. Initially you read the mothers perspective, and see the true effects a E.D. have on family. This is interesting as people often think the problem only effects the individual. This is followed by the daughters story, which gives you a the experience through the eyes of the sufferer. I think the importance of having the two stories is that through reading both you probably get a closer representation of the truth.
Would recomend book to anyoe seeking to gain an initial perspective into anorexia. Though it follows the usal paths of most books on the subject, it is quite an easy book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 14 Mar 2006
By 
D Murrell (Wakefield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book to anybody, couldnt put it down, a very sad but realistic account of a young girls struggle to make both herself and her family happy. Although I dont have an eating disorder I am addicted to excercise and and can totaly relate to Alice in many of her 'wierd ways'. This book is a real eye-opener and definatley well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book!., 9 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
This is a very good book to read. Reading this book you really get to understand what it is like dealing with a eating problem from both side of the family. It gave me a very good understanding how love ones deal with there family members eating problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A true life account from two perspectives, 15 Jan 2008
By 
nuttychick (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is very true to life, written from two different points of views, Alice's and her mothers tells the story of Alice's fight with anorexia. It is very honest and moving and i would recommend it to people who either suffer from an Eating Disorder, recovering, are friends or family or anyone who was just interested in learning more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring & Emotional, 13 Oct 2005
By 
Anna Cobb (Norwich, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
I found this book to be moving and inspiring. Being a sufferer of both OCD and Anorexia I found this book helpful to understand what my own mother felt.
I completely sympathised with Alice and everything she went through I too have experienced.
The book is well written and very honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving and useful book, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book moved me to tears. I had it finished in just a few hours. It is a very hopeful story of a family who has gone through this illness, hit rock bottom and come out the other side. Excellent writing and quite enough detail about Alice's own illness - any more is not necessary and the only reason I could think that anyone wanted to know more details would be because of the morbid curiosity sufferers seem to have with each others' weight, like its a competition (this is mentioned in the book).
There are plenty of areas for learning for both sufferers and parents in this book. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
A brilliant insight into a young girls torment. I loved the fact you get two sides to the story. Alice and her mum wrote with sensitivity to themselves, their family and friends and also the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars honest account, well-written, 9 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. Jj Eastman "JJE" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book in 4 days straight (usually it can take me a year to finish a book!) - a truthful, honest account, which really does make you laugh and cry, all within a chapter. Very interesting insight into a life of anorexia, and the mindset behind it - having a dual-account really does help gain a better view of the illness. A recommended read if you are interested in, or suffering from, this illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 Mar 2007
This review is from: Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia (Hardcover)
This book details the story of Alice's struggle with anorexia. The first half is written by her mother and the second by Alice herself, therefore giving both sides to the story.

I did enjoy reading this, and the only issue I had with it is that at times I felt that it did not go into enough detail, although I am aware that as a very personal story, the authors probably did not feel comfortable doing this.

I would recommend this to anyone, it would be useful for anyone interested in the subject of eating disorders, whether they have personal experience of them or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice in the Looking Glass: A Mother and Daughter's Experience of Anorexia
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews