Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talking About Lupus, 16 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
I found this book very informative, and positive. The language adopted is clear and friendly, particularly when medical tests are explained in layman's terms. As a lupus sufferer myself it was comforting to read some of the personal accounts which I could well identify with.
A must-read for people confronting lupus for the first time.
One shortcoming with this book, as I have found with most lupus-themed books, is that it fails to address or advise on practical issues such as insurance or mortgage issues. Lupus being the debilitating condition that it is, many sufferers are unable to work like normal people even if they desire to. However, sufferers are still confronted with the same financial pressures, mortgage aspirations and insurance needs. I would have loved to see in this book information on how to overcome difficulties in these areas as well as advice on disability benefits or equal opportunities in employment. And also ways to maximise support from the NHS without abusing it - for example, knowledge such as that some alternative treatments such as acupuncture can in fact be requested under the NHS via GPs could well save some lupus sufferers grief and prevent a sense of helplessness.
Perhaps Miss Holden can consider a chapter on the above practical issues in the next edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for a friend who suffers from lupus. She told me it's the best book on lupus she's ever read with the right mix of medical terminology to help understand hospital appointments and things she can do to help herself. It's helped her to feel more in control of her symptoms and has lots of ideas that she'd never heard of before. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read this., 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend who who diagnosed 7 years ago and they said they learnt things from this book and wondered why their specialists hadn't talked about some of the things mentioned in here. Very informative and should be given to everyone who is diagnosed with this illness. If you suffer from Lupus get your loved ones to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking about Lupus, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
My sister has just been diagnosed with Lupus and I got this book for her. It talks about the illness in an easy to read and understand way and has helped us both to understand Lupus and what steps/questions to ask with regard to treatment and controlling the symptoms. Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
Excellent condition and very informative. Found out things I didn't already know. Bargain price and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Mrs. Ds Lester (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
Was brilliant easy to read and gives a great understanding of the complaint certainly made me feel a lot better. Also good for the family as it gives them a great insight at what you are going through and the symptoms ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and well written., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope (Paperback)
Brought this for my friend who recently has been diagnosed. She's found it very helpful. Glad it has helped her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope
Talking About Lupus: What to do and how to cope by Graham Hughes (Paperback - 27 May 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews