Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny and extremely helpful!
This is a great book when you are starting to get dragged down by the seriousness of magazines, other books and relatives! It covers first hand experiences of all aspects of planning a wedding, giving you great ideas and pointing out potential pitfalls. On top, it is written in such a way that I have found myself laughing out loud. A very helpful and light hearted book.
Published on 12 Jan 2003

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars far from complete
Having read this book, which appears to be the top bestseller for wedding planning guides, I actually feel quite sorry for brides. There is so little guidance for them on how to get this important day right. This book is helpful but really only says about a third of what you need to know to plan a good wedding. It's a good guide to the emotional side of getting married,...
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by Raphael


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny and extremely helpful!, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
This is a great book when you are starting to get dragged down by the seriousness of magazines, other books and relatives! It covers first hand experiences of all aspects of planning a wedding, giving you great ideas and pointing out potential pitfalls. On top, it is written in such a way that I have found myself laughing out loud. A very helpful and light hearted book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wedding book to help you through the stressful times, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
Many magazines like to talk of the glamour, the fun and the excitment of weddings - but what I loved about A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched was that it told you the whole truth! It explained my paranoia attacks, the arguments with my mother, my nightmares about picking the wrong man - and the weird rash that I couldn't get rid of. Jam-packed with handy hints and tips for the modern bride, I found the author's style east to read and amusing. Many of the ideas were so original and fun that I've used them in planning my big day.Basically, this book is a must-have for any girl in her 20s or 30s who wants to keep her sanity and her identity despite getting married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighten your mood & keep things in prespective., 2 May 2003
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
My chief bridesmaid has bought me this book. I found it to be more useful than I originally thought. This book is a good guide for the busy bride. If you find that you are virtually organising your wedding on your own, and that at times it gets a bit too stressful, this book will help lighten your mood and give you a realistic but amusing perspective on your situation. With great references to all aspects of planning a wedding, and all people involved, you will often find yourself confirming out loud and sympathetically -'I know! I Know!
With so many myths and changes between the traditional and modern ettiquet, this book will help you feel as though you're planning your perfect day after all and not the worst social event of the century.
Even my fiance was caught leafing through it for pointers!!
In summary- this book will definitely answer a few questions for you, and give you a realistic scope of expectations whilst planning your big day. Post wedding advice is also included, reminding you that planning your wedding day shouldn't be hard work- it's all about having fun and that life still goes on afterwards.
Reviewer: Miss Sarit Levi, Nottingham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds you to enjoy the wedding planning process., 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
As well as being an entertaining read, this book empowers you to do it your way, and to enjoy the process. No matter how many wedding etiquette guides you have read, and how many wedding planner pull-outs you have saved, this book will still have something to offer. It will have the same effect as a cup of tea and a long chat with a very encouraging friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you're a bride-to-be!, 31 Oct 2002
By 
Sally (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
If like me you are a giddy bride-to-be, but don't want to bore your friends with non-stop wedding talk, this is definitely the book for you! If you've already spent weeks (or months!) reading wedding books and magazines, this book will tell you nothing new. But it will put a smile on your face, and make you even more excited about the prospect of being a bride for a day!
Buy it, read it, then pass it on to all of your bridesmaids, best man, groom (!), mum and dad, and anyone else who's involved in your wedding, to make sure they know what you expect from them! Fab!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest wedding book you will probably ever read!, 13 May 2002
By 
L. Wood "L Wood" (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
From the moment I picked this book up I couldnt put it down. As well as being very practical it made me laugh out loud too.
This book is easy to read being brief but detailed unlike other books which I have bought that go into so much detail that it eventually bores you.
It has comments from other brides and the author herself which are very funny and true to life and make the book very entertaining. It gives simple advice on every stage of planning a wedding and advice on how to cope without being single anymore to enjoying you big day to what to talk about on your honeymoon.
It is a must buy for any bride, especially if you want a laugh planning your wedding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and a really good read, 29 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
My friend bought this book for me from Amazon as a present for my hen night - I haven't put it down since. Its brilliant, lots of advice about things I hadn't even thought about. I really like the 'real-life' anecodotes from other brides that have walked down the aisle already. I will be buying this for any friends who decide to take the big leap into the unknown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A witty, irreverent guide to the modern wedding, 28 Mar 2002
By 
Ms. E. L. Whayman (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
This book is a must for any modern girl planning her wedding. Ms Ivens has written the book like the actual planning process itself so that you are just as eager to get to the end of the book as you would be to get to the actual wedding.
The chapters on parents, speeches and bridemaids are so true to life and the quotes from ex-brides added to the realism, especially when they came from the author herself.
The secrets of success were a great way of summarising the chapters & will make a quick reference guide for future times when you don't have time to read this great book again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars far from complete, 5 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
Having read this book, which appears to be the top bestseller for wedding planning guides, I actually feel quite sorry for brides. There is so little guidance for them on how to get this important day right. This book is helpful but really only says about a third of what you need to know to plan a good wedding. It's a good guide to the emotional side of getting married, but the advice on wedding planning is actually quite incomplete. It has some good tips, but I was expecting a much more thorough book. In particular, it has about a paragraph on choosing your photographer. Given that the vast majority of brides book a photographer for the day, and given that the photography / videography is the one thing that you will have forever from your wedding day, I think it's pretty irresponsible of them to merely say 'book a photographer for one hour'. Everyone I have spoken to deeply regrets skimping on the photography. And spending a lot on your photographs is no guarantee that you will get some that you are happy with. It is quite a skill to find a good photographer, and really they should be advising brides on how to spot the best ones / get the best for their money. Guests generally don't make an effort to take masses of photographs, especially with disposable cameras, whereas good professional photographers know what brides and grooms will want to remember of their wedding. Buy it, but bear in mind that it's not the whole story and you will probably need to buy another book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding (Paperback)
Brought this as a light read whilst planning my wedding. It was easy to read and had some good tips but I wouldn't rely on it to meet all of your planning needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched: How to plan, survive and enjoy your wedding
8.79
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews