Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2007
I recently purchased this book after deciding I wanted to have a go at writing for children (I have dabbled in writing in writing informally before)

After buying this book I was pleasantly surprised, as it is compelling and easy to read.
It is crammed full of vital information for budding children's writers (whether for leisure or for money), but is not over detailed.

It has really inspired me to have a go, so I am off to start developing an idea now!

I would highly recommend purchasing this as a readable reference book for your bookshelf.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
This is an okay book if you know absolutely nothing about writing for children. It's in 3 sections: Know Your Market (a breakdown of all the different areas of children's publishing from picture books to YA, non-fiction to poetry - c77pages), Get Writing (on writing style eg characterisation, plotting - c44 pages) and Being Published (eg manuscript presentation, publishing process, courses - c30 pages).

I found the book to be written in a very simplistic style. For example, on proofs - which are the pages when they have been typeset but before the pages are sent to the printer - Louise Jordan advises "If you spot any mistakes, then speak up." The author is sent the proofs for the sole purpose of checking the work for mistakes such as mis-spellings or typos. It's not a question of 'speaking up', it's part of the author's job to mark the text if there are mistakes. Another example: "Indeed, if a manuscript is good enough, it is not unusual to have several publishers all pitching for the same title." Well, durr.

Overall, if you have any knowledge of the children's book market at all, this is not going to add to it. If you don't know anything about writing for children, you'd probably be better off buying the Children's Writers and Artists Yearbook which contains exactly the same information plus details of all the publishers, agents, packagers etc.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Concise and informative. Getting published today is extremely difficult. Louise Jordan takes the hopeful writer through every step, from plotting, researching etc to editing your manuscript. She covers all genres from young children's picture books to teenage novels and gives useful advice on presentation and approach. We all dread having to write a letter to a publisher - what should we say, how formal/humorous/revealing should we be? Louise Jordan has a chapter towards the end entitled 'Help' which gives useful ideas for training, societies to join, other books to read, online resources, etc.

Amazing amount of info in such a small book, and it is enjoyable reading.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
A useful book if you are starting out with lots of realistic advice. The only problem I had with this book was that the section concerning competitions for children's writers was out of date. The book was first published in 1998 and my copy said it was reprinted in 2010,2011. It still includes the Ottaker's Children's Book Prize (the chain was taken over some years ago and the prize no longer exists under this name) and it doesn't include the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition for unpublished writers (a pretty big one).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
Having recently purchased this book, before using amazon for the first time, from my local bookstore I was very interested in using it to learn more about writing and publishing books for children.
The book contains invaluable advice on the many stages which prospective authors must pass through to find their works in print or on bookshelves. The book answered many of my questions regarding the different age ranges which you can write for, as well as issues regarding illustrations, plotting, characterisation, subject matter and marketing.
I found the book to be an invaluable reference tool and one to which I constantly referred.
I hope to begin using the knowledge gained from this book in the near future and would recommend that anone wanting to write, either for pleasure in their spare time, or as something more than a hobby, to buy the book.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
This I have to say is one of the best "how to write books" I have purchased. Well done to the author. Very informative and helpful with lots of encouraging tips.

After stopping for a few years I have start to write again after reading this book 'twice' it was so good to get an honest and open minded view on how to get going again and what 'not' to write about too! Very encouraging for a new writer.

Thank you Louise Jordan
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
A very thorough and useful guide. Well written - you really trust the author - and worth it for the tips on how to send off a manuscript and approach a publisher alone!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Bought this book and could not put it down.
Very easy to read and very informative. If you are just starting off or starting to think about a career in illustrating and writing childrens books then this should be in your collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
A great book with lots of helpful advise. A real 'must have' for anyone who wants to write for children of all ages
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
This book tells you exactly what the UK children's book market requires from a writer and precisely how to go about delivering it. I found it enormously helpful and I'm very,very happy I bought it. Worth every penny!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse